top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

ZIAJA | JEJU YOUNG SKIN NO MAKE-UP FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

By now, we all know I'm here for any no-make-up makeup product, any tinted moisturizer, any sheer foundation, any foundation hybrid that will make me look perfect and natural and beautiful and glowy and gorgeous without needing to blend it for ages. So recently, I did a little haul on Ziaja e-shop and here we are.


Ziaja is a polish brand which I knew mostly because of their products from goat milk. They make skincare, bodycare, haircare and many other things and recently I was browsing their e-shop and just couldn't help it. Their products tend to be very affordable and from great natural ingredients. They have multiple product lines focused on different skintypes and problems and I stumbled upon this product. The Ziaja jeju young skin no make-up foundation is one of the very few "makeup" products on their website. And I'm all about that natural beauty so I decided that I'm still in the young skin category and I'm gonna give it a go.


On the website, the Ziaja jeju young skin no make-up foundation is described as a liquid concealer which comes in one "natural shade". That's a little odd to me, hopefully I won't be a walking orange when wearing this. It comes in a squeezy tube and you get 30ml of product which is a good amount. It costs just 149 Crowns, which I think is an excelent price.


It supposed to even out the skin and cover any imprefections. In the ingredients, there's extract from japanese camelia, which hydrates, sooths and regenerates the skin. There's also citrus extract which works well in skincare targeted for acne-prone skin. Other ingredients are supposed to moisturize the skin, calm it and protect it from irritation. It's been designed mostly for young skin in mind. According to the recommendations on the website, it's for people with combination to oily skin with acne.

Comparison swatches
Comparison swatches

I'm not sure if I'm teenager enough to use this in my 25 years of age, but I sometimes have combo skin, so let's give it a shot. First thing I'm noticing is the smell, it smells divine. It's fresh, natural, there's a hint of mint and you can tell there's a flower extract as well. It smells very pleasant and not too strong in my opinion. It's supposed to be a universal shade and let me tell you, this is not a universal shade. Mostly, because there's no such thing but even if you tried to target this at a group of customers, you probably wouldn't have much success. I would say it's a light/medium shade with very warm undertone. Basically something that will make me look totally orange. There are ways of making any product lighter but I prefer not to mix my products because I never get the match quite right.


I am quite surprised by the coverage though. I would say it's a high medium, I never saw a no-makeup product with this much of a coverage. I am also impressed by how well it blends. It goes on very smooth and flawless covering majority of my existence, to be honest. I really like it so far.


On the packaging, there's a word about the application and apparently you shouldn't use it around the eye area and you should apply it with your fingers. I think I'll try to apply it with fingers, brush and also a sponge to really see its potencial. It has quite high coverage so I would imagine it will apply well with regular makeup tools.

 

Application

I tried applying it first on one side with my fingers. In the side-by-side comparison image, you can't really tell I'm wearing something on my face. At least I think so. The fingers did the job, but I hate having my hands dirty when doing makeup and it was a little streaky to be honest. I tried the other half with a brush and that was much better. The finish wasn't streaky that much and the coverage was really good. I still went over everything with a sponge and the second picture has the final result.


It applied well, blended well and at first it didn't even look that dark. I used a very light concealer and a more white-ish powder to tune down the orange a little bit because the tone was a little off. But boy does this oxidize. When you look just at my face, it's fine. But when you look at my whole body!? OMG I'm an orange. It looks sooooo bad, it's just super dark, pink-toned mask which doesn't match my body at all.

Don't the me wrong, the finish is beautiful, the application is great and the blendability is also really nice. I love how it looks. But oh my god, the minute I saw my face in the mirror with a part of my body, I was shook. I really wish there was a better shade. I don't have any foundation lightening drops at the moment, so I cannot really try how that would work, but this...this is dark. For some reason, it doesn't really translate in pictures, but I really look like a floating head.

 

Wear test

I described the whole application process and oxidation process above, so let's not get into that again. I applied with fingers, brush, sponge and I like the look. I used cream contour just to see if it messes up the base at all. It didn't.


Overall, I really like this look as a whole and if it wasn't for the unnatural color, I would like this product a lot now. I look very smooth and perfected. The coverage is medium at least, I feel like a porcelain doll right now. An orange one, but flawless nevertheless. Let's see how long that lasts.


Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

List of used products

  • Maybelline FaceStudio Prime Protecting Primer SPF 30

  • Ziaja jeju Young Skin No-Makeup Foundation

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade 05

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Lottie London Ready. Set! Go. Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 2

  • Barry M Take a Brow Gel

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Rachel Leary x Revolution Goddess on the Go

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Longlasting Eye Pencil, shade 29 Berry Fantastic

  • Too Faced glitterPOP! Peel-off Eyeliner, shade Yes Way Rose

  • Fenty Beauty Makeup Refreshing Spray, shade What It Dew


End of the wear test
End of the wear test

Wear time 10 hours

Today I had a pretty rough day. I did quite a hard workout outside, I wore a mask for couple hours and honestly, I thought I might have to do this testing again. I wasn't sure the makeup is going to survive that. Well, it did and it's looking pretty great. The only flaws I see were caused by me, I wiped off some foundation around my nose by accident and there's a little budging around my brows.


Overall, I'm really impressed. I still look orange, but the color didn't oxidize even more, which is nice. It looks so smooth and flawless and not dry at all. At the same time, the makeup doesn't even call for powder. Usually my face would be very sticky after this amount of time with everything I've done today. I am very, VERY impressed.

 

Final thoughts

Ziaja, please, make more shades. I beg you, this is such a good product. I have no idea why nobody really talks about this, but the formulation of this is so good. I cannot believe it. It's the perfect ballance between longevity, controlling oils, skincare, hydration...it's just the best. I really love wearing this product. The only thing that bothers me is the shade. This is not universal and it's not probably even a human shade. It's just orange.


If you have more of a medium skintone and very warm undertone, this will suit you and go a grab it because it's fire. It's really working really well on my normal-combo skin that gets oily. Many foundations just break appart on me, because they're too oily or too dry, but this one is just so ballanced. I can't wrap my head around it. I really hope they will come up with a lighter version of this product, because if they do, I will wear this every single day.


Have you tried any Ziaja products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,156 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page