top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

TREND IT UP | WONDERSKIN 2 IN 1 CREAM-TO-POWDER FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Weird foundation hybrids were always my favorite because mixing textures can have great results. Let's see how that looks in practise with a very affordable foundation.

The Trend It Up Wonderskin 2 in 1 Cream-to-Powder Foundation is a little compact with cream foundation that changes into powder once you apply it. That provides you with the coverage of a cream but comfortable finish of a powder. There's not a whole lot about it on the website but it should give you a soft matte finish and even out your skin tone. It comes in 4 very similar shades, I have the shade 010. You get 10g of product and it retails for about 5.45 Euros.


First thing I noticed about this foundation was the compact. It is so sleak it can fit everywhere and I was really hoping it will be good so I can take it on every vacation this year. Second thing I noticed was the texture. I used to be quite a fan of cream foundations waaaaaay back and this brought back memories of my first Avon foundation.


As usual, the shade range is very disappointing and the shades don't even go light enough so really you just have shades for light/medium skin. No surprises here, Trend It Up just needs to do better! Because history says that their base products are kinda great.


There's nothing about the coverage online but I would call it high-medium. Not quite full but very decent and you could probably build it a bit even though the foundation is not super lightweight. I feel like maybe it was supposed to be a dupe of the Good Apple Cream Foundation by KVD. But it doesn't really fit the description that well.







 

West test

One great advantage of this foundation is the compact, it is really nice to travel with and very convinient to use. I applied it with a foundation brush dipped into the compact but not too agressively. It gave very nice medium coverage upon application with a powdery finish. It's a very matte foundation once you apply it and the powder finish is no joke. I applied cream contour and blush and it worked just fine. It felt a little sticky after I was done with the creamy part of my base so I decided to use a setting powder and lightly set the face to get rid of that stickiness. Powder cheek products also applied very well and evenly on top of the set foundation. The final finish was quite matte and a little powder but still looking like skin and very smooth as well.


List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional Hydrate Primer

  • Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base

  • Trend It Up Winder Skin 2 in 1 Cream-to-powder Foundation, shade 010

  • Maybelline SuperStay Active Wear Concealer, shade 10

  • Revlon Photoready Candid Anti-pollution Setting Powder, shade 001 Translucent

  • Milk Makeup Bionic Blush, shade Fly

  • Fenty Beauty Match Stix Matte Skin Stick, shade Amber

  • Huda Beauty #BOMBBROWS Full 'N Fluffy, shade 5 Medium Brown

  • Nars Smudge Proof Tinted Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Blood Sugar Pallete

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadow, shade Ritz

  • Essence Longlasting Eye Pencil, shade 33 Snow Queen

  • Rimmel Thrill Seeker Mascara

  • Krash Kosmetics Blow Blush + Glow Blush, shade 100grados

  • Kiko Milano Blue Me Silky Bronzer, shade 01 Honey

  • Essence Cookies for Santa Baked Highlighter

  • Wet n Wild Megalast Lip Color, shade Mochalicious

  • NYX This Is Juice Gloss, shade Passion Fruit Snatch

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

Wear time 12 hours

I am quite surprised by the result, the foundation looks a lot better than when I wore it before and I think it's because of the moisturizing primer that is a little heavier than primers I tend to use on the daily basis. The finish of the foundation was matte and quite powdery when I left the house in the morning but now it kinda of warmed up to my skin and it looks a lot better. It feels pretty much like there's no foundation on my skin at all which is very rare at the end of such a long day. I cannot really see any patches missing, separation or dryness. All complextion products look very decent even the very heavy blush I used today is still intact and looks great. I really didn't expect a weartime this good after the initial application that seemed a little too matte for my liking but now, I am very impressed and cannot wait to wear it more to see its full potential.

 

Final thoughts

I was quite surprised by the performance of this foundation but I must admit that it didn't fully win me over. There were many times when the foundation performed just as it did in the wear test and lasted perfectly fine for hours and hours.


But there were also times when it didn't really sit well on my skin and started separating and fading after couple hours. I think the priming is the trickiest with this foundation because if you go too hydrating, it can slide around. But if you don't go hydrating enought, you can look really dry and separated. However, that is the case for my skin that can get very dry in the winter and very oily in the summer.


When everything clicks well and this foundation lasts its best it's really awesome. I still have to powder it a little because I am paranoid but it gives very nice even finish and it's surprisingly lightweight in texture. For the price it's a very unique reliable formula (if you prep well) and I find it very convinient for transport and also touch ups (when you don't powder it).


The greatest downside is, of course, the shade range. I wish they did at least larger gaps between the released shades. Trend It Up base products have some winners and it's such a shame that they cannot reach a wider customer base.


So overall, I would recommend this product if it could fit your skin type or if you need just something quick to put on and carry around. And also if you fit the narrow shade range. I appreciate the qualities of this product but I still have other foundations that I love more and reach for more.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page