top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

CATRICE | NUDE DROP TINTED SERUM FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

In a world of hydrating skin tints we have another one that wants to take the lead.


The Catrice Nude Drop Tinted Serum Foundation is the newest face products from Catrice that is jumping on the hydrating skin tint wave. It promises lightweight feeling of a serum with a coverage of a foundation. It contains hyaluronic acid and vitamin E so your skin should stay hydrated for up to 24 hours. It should brighten up the complexion and provide a natural matte finish. It's suitable for sensitive skin and it should also be longwearing. It comes in 16 shades, I have the shade 004N. It retails for roughly $8 and you get 30ml of product.


As most hydrating foundations do these days, it comes in a glass bottle with a dropper just like a serum. It's very runny but seems lightweight when you swatch it.



According to what I found, it's supposed to be light to medium coverage. I agree with that but what really confuses me is the finish. How can something be matte and hydrating at the same time that is just beyond me. I know a few products that claim the same but it's always a little tricky.


The application is pretty simple and a little goes a long way. I wouldn't say it's very buildable as building it mostly resulted in many streaks and uneven coverage. It feels lightweight at first but I don't think it's as lightweight as a serum and I have different serum foundations that are way more lightweight on the skin for sure. The foundation is also fragrance-free, oil-free and vegan.

 

Wear test

The foundation applied pretty well. I chose primers that are fairly simple and work with all foundation I own so I didn't expect any issues with the application anyway. The foundation was looking pretty natural, covered well but the shade is a little light for me so it washed me out a bit too. The cream bronzer and blush went on fine, there were no problems with the application. Same with the powder, everything set nicely.


List of used products

  • Catrice The Perfector Poreless Blur Primer

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Glow Serum Primer

  • Catrice Nude Drop Tinted Serum Foundation, shade 004N

  • Juvia's Place I Am Magic Concealer, shade 23

  • No7 Airbrush Away Finishing Powder, shade Translucent

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Loose Setting Powder, shade Light

  • e.l.f. Putty Bronzer, shade Honey Drip

  • Milk Makeup Bionic Blush, shade Fly

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz, shade Medium Brown

  • r.e.m. Beauty Brow Gel

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Amplifying Eye Primer

  • Colourpop That's Taupe Pallete

  • e.l.f. Mintmelt No Budge Eyeshadow, shade Ice Creame

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • Maybelline the Falsies Surreal Mascara

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadow, shade Ritz

  • Tarte Tartelette Blush in Bloom Pallete, shade Tulip

  • Alamar Cosmetics Hydrating Complexion Trio, shade Pale Where?!

  • Stila Heaven's Hue Highighter, shade Kitten

  • Nimya Set It & Forget It Setting Spray

  • Colourpop Blotted Lip, shade Melty

Wear time 18 hours

This was a long day but let me tell you...I didn't pick the right foundation for it. By the time I got to work (1.5hours) the makeup was looking pretty bad around my mouth and my chin. It was noticible but still fine. Then after 4 hours it took a turn. As you can tell by the picture from the end of the wear test it got really out of hands. Normally I wouldn't wear foundation for so long but the day just went where it went and I got home super late and super tired. Also...with a super separated disgusting foundation. I have makeup that can hold this long but not this one. Somehow my skin was oily and dryed out at the same time and the foundation just didn't mesh well with my skin at all. I will have to try more prep routines to see if anything helps but my hopes are really low. I really looked way too similar after 6 hours to how I looked after 18 and that is not a good sign.

 

Final thoughts

I am all about hydrating foundations and skin tints but this one is just a big NO from me. I couldn't figure it out, it just wasn't sitting well on my skin no matter what I used. The foundation looks the best once you apply it and set it and it's just downhill really fast from there.


The worst thing is that I cannot even pinpoint what could be wrong about it. My skin just didn't mesh well with it and it never lasted on pretty much any parts of my face. I mean even on the cheeks that are usually the least problematic ones. The hydrating yet matte finish just doesn't work well with my skin.


I just have to say that this one is a hard pass for me and I think Catrice can do way better foundations as they've shown to us in the past. You'll be better off picking up some of their older foundations for sure.



129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page