top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

WHAT DO I KEEP AT MY DESK AT WORK?

This is a super random thing to write about, but I'm at my office alone today and I thought that it may be a good idea to write about what I have here, because I have a bunch of beauty related things on my desk at all times. And maybe you want to keep more stuff at your desk, but you don't really know what. Maybe this can help someone...maybe not, but it's a nice procrastination for me.


It's currently summer so there may be a little difference in what I keep at my desk in the winter. However, majority of these I've been buying on and off and keeping them here with me all the time. I basicly moved all my lipcare rituals to work, because I have time to do them here. If you didn't know, I am a programmer and a researcher, so I spend my whole day at my desk usually. So I like to make the day as nice and enjoyable as possible. Let's see what makes my day better, aside from snacks, there's a lot of snacks on my desk as well.

 

Balea Wasser Spray Aqua

As I mentioned, it's summer and nothing makes me more mad than when I cannot refresh myself in any way. I like to keep this redicilous water spray on my desk because when it's too hot I can just spray it everywhere and if the AC is going too strong and it makes my throat sore, I can humidify the air with one spray of this. It's water in a can, I know, but it's really convinient sometimes, especially when your climate is hot and dry. You could also take a bottle similar to a setting spray and just mist the water instead of using this type of a thing. I will probably do that when I'm done with my current bottle.


Either way, it's a nice addition to refreshing rituals in the summer, if you have to be stuck in an office like I do.

 

treaclemoon my coconut island hand & nail balm

I was never big on hand creams and nail creams. I oil my nail every night and every morning, but since I spend all my work day with a computer, I cannot really afford to use anything that makes my keyboard sticky or oily and dirty. That's why I love this stuff.


This balm is full of great things like macadamia oil and cherry extract and it's meant to be used as a great nourishing treatment for your dry hands and also nails. It smells amazing, just like coconut with a slight undertone of cherry, but it's really nice and what's the most important thing, it soaks in really fast. And it doesn't stain your computer keayboard even before it sunk in completely. I don't really know how it works, but I really like it and I use it at least once a day. I've never liked a hand cream in my life, this is just a next level product for me.


I bought it at DM on sale for like 40 Crowns, but I'm pretty sure it's a bit more pricey. However, I also think that if you want a good hand care, that won't be slippery all day and will actually work well, this is the way to go.

 

EOS lipbalm

My obsession with EOS lip balms goes all the way back to when I started going to UNI. One of my friends sent a random blogpost to me about these and I just needed one. They are pretty pricey for a lip balm but they also have natural ingredients, smells, they are not that artificial lipbalm that makes your lips even more dry. It just works so well, I don't really use many other balms at all.


A few years back, it was impossible to get on of those even online, today, they are in the stores EVERYWHERE. And there are so many versions of these, like a tinted one, crystal clear one and the oldschool ones, that I love so much. The price is somewhere between 160 and 200 Crowns, depending on which one you want. I currently have coconut milk, which is probably my favourite. It lasts good-smelling for a very long time. I also enjoyed the mint one a lot, but that one just went a little weird after a few months and started smelling different and wasn't tingly anymore and I just gave up on it. The fruity and milky ones tend to last better, in my opinion but I recommend trying them in general.

 

Body Shop Coconut Cleanse Gel

Anti-bacterial hand gels were also not a thing for me for a very long time. Then I moved to Prague, and using public transport and eating outside a lot teaches you, that you actually want something which can desinfect your hands with you all the time.


This one is from Body Shop, I got in on sale, of course, and it's a really nice hand gel. It smells a bit like coconut and not at all like alcohol, which I hated about my other hand gels and it really makes your hands feel really nice and clean. I usually appreciate it when it eat something sticky or messy and I need to clean my hands in a hurry, this bad boy and a few wipes are your best bet.

 

Balea Pflege Peeling Cocos

This is a coconut lip peeling from Balea that I got at DM drugstore for some redicilous price. I have a few lip scrubs at home, but they're quite messy and oily and I thought that peeling in a stick may be very nice to have. And I was right. I believe it has coconut oil which nourishes your lips and coconut-like bits are slightly exfoiliating them. These bits are larger than your regular lip scrub but they do the job well, when you have dry lips and it also smells of coconut, which I love.






 

Trend It Up Pure Perfection Lip Oil

Recently, I started my obsession with lip oils and I've been trying to find the best one. This is my third bottle of this one and it's been a limited edition, so the hunt will probably continue.


I love lip oils because they look pretty much the same as a really nice gloss and they are way more nourishing than just a balm. I had problems with super dry lips the whole winter this year and lip oils were the only thing that was working for me. So when my lips aren't really liking the matte lip anymore, this little oil comes in handy. I also use it as a gloss sometimes, because it has really fine gold glitters in it and it's really flattering.


I don't remember how much it was, but there's 5ml of product, which doesn't sound like a lot but actually is quite a lot. I've had this one for a few months and I use it pretty much daily. Sometimes more than once a day. So it lasts pretty well and combined with other products, like my EOS balm, it lasts a really long time.

 

Body Shop Coco Calming Face Mist

This is a miracle in a bottle. I went to Body Shop the other week and they had these tiny face mists on sale and I just fell in love. I picked up the coconut one, which is soothing, hydrating and makeup friendly, which is all that I need at work and it works really well.


I usually use it when I'm too hot, when I feel like my face is melting or when I touch up with powder and need to melt it in my skin better. Also when I just feel like it, because I love face mists. It really doesn't mess up your makeup, the mist is very fine and light so it doesn't feel like someone's spitting on you and it smells a little bit like coconut but it's not overpowering.


I got it on sale for 139 Crowns, which is not the cheapest, but you get 60ml of product and it will probably last me a good few months. Also it is 100% vegan, there are no mineral oils, waxes, petrolatum or silikones in the formula. And it's enriched with aloe vera. I like to have my face mists as clean and non-harmful as possible, because I don't want my pores clogged with any of these things and I really like this one. I know they also had a mattifying one and many others and I should probably go try more of these, because I really enjoy this one.

 

Revolution Matte Base Powder

I already wrote about this powder and about how much I like it for touchups. That's why I have one at my desk as well, because I'm at work all day and sometimes, my face needs a touchup. I also keep a little Lottie London Powder brush here so I can apply it somehow. I've made quite a den in the powder, I use it almost daily and it's really useful to have it at hand at all times.


If you want to know more about it, here is a full post about the powder, but I highly recommend it.

https://mesearcher.wixsite.com/madeupmesearch/post/revolution-matte-base-powder-review

 

So, of course that I have multiple different boring things here as well, such as emergency hair brush and mouth wash and wet wipes, but these were things, that I feel, could give you an idea of what is nice to have at your desk at work. You spend there majority of the day anyway, so why not make it nice!


Is there anything else you keep on your desk as well? If you have any good tips, let me know in the comments and have a nice work day!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page