top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

URBAN DECAY | STAY NAKED HYDROMANIAC TINTED GLOW HYDRATOR | REVIEW

Once in a while there's a new launch from a brand I don't shop anything from and I just have to have it. I'm not a major fan of Urban Decay to be honest but I just knew I need this foundation the minute I saw it.


The Urban Decay Stay Naked Hydromaniac Tinted Glow Hydrator is an intensive hydrator with medium buildable coverage that hydrates the skin up to 24 hours. It contains kombucha filtrate and marula oil that detoxify the skin and boost its hydration levels. It comes in 10 flexible shades that fit a wide variety of skintones (supposedly) and it can be applied however you like, even with fingers. I have the shade 20 Fair.


The foudation comes in a squeezy tube which I quite like. It's has beautiful packaging, the blue really speaks to me and the gold/rose gold details are really pretty. You get 45ml of product and it retails for 910 Crowns.


The tube is easy to manipulate but let me tell you that the coverage is no joke. The texture feels like a nice tinted moisturizer but the coverage is a medium for sure, maybe even high-medium. I don't know about that "flexible shades" claim. I don't think that one medium coverage product is going to fit many skintones. This product is waaaay too pigmented for that. But it seems to be quite lightweight in texture and it has a nice hydrating feel to it.


I've been wearing it for quite some time now and I feel like it applies really well no matter what tools you use. I don't like to use my fingers because then everything just gets dirty or I have to get up and go wash my hands in the meantime and waste more time of my already short morning. The finish is a glowy natural. It doesn't look greasy or oily but it does give you a nice skinlike glow for sure. The coverage is really nice, I rarely need to build it up at all but it still looks very natural.

 

Wear test


Day 1

I decided to wear this foundation quite far into the day. I am teaching today so I wanted to look a little decent and this foundation came in handy. I applied it with my fuzzy sponge over my favorite primers. It applied well, blended easily and it looks very natural and quite glowy. It doesn't feel like anything on the skin, I would compare the texture to the L'Oreal Tinted Water Cream but with a lot more coverage. The coverage is medium coverage for sure, I would say that it's buildable but I didn't really need to build it up too much.


I really like the colormatch too, it's a nice light shade and I think many skintones could get away with using this shade because I feel like it has adapted a little bit to my skintone over the time. Everything applied on top of the foundation really well and even the cream products applied really well. So far, I like the foundation a lot and my skin feels very hydrated and looks incredibly smooth and flawless but very natural.


List of used products

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional Primer

  • Urban Decay Stay Naked Hydromaniac Tinted Glow Hydrator, shade 20 Fair

  • e.l.f. Hydrating Camo Concealer Satin Finish, shade Light Sand

  • Essence Brighten Up! Banana Powder

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Powder, shade Rose

  • Catrice Glow Illusion Loose Powder, shade Translucent Radiance

  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit Palette - Sculpture, shades Diffused Light, Glistening Strobe Light

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush, shade Fuego Flush

  • Catrice Sungasm Luminizing Bronzer, shade C01 Golden Ecstasy

  • Sephora Colorful Shimmer Blush, shade So Euphoric! N°15

  • Rimmel Brow Pro Micro 24hr Precision-stroke Pen, shade 003 Soft Brown

  • Essence Make Me Brow Eyebrow Gel Mascara, shade 04 Ashy Brows

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Mini Jawbreaker Palette

  • e.l.f. No Budge Shadow Stick, shade Bronze Metal

  • Essence Easy Brush Liner

  • Maybelline Sky High Mascara, shade 01 Very Black

  • Trend It Up Ultra Wear Nude Pen Shine, shade 010 Shine


Wear time 7 hours

I didn't really leave the house today so I feel like the results from today aren't as impressive as they could be. However, everything looked so good before I removed the makeup that I was almost ready to sleep in it. I was impressed a LOT. No budging, no separation AT ALL. I'm talking no ever a little bit of movement around my brows. And I've been teaching, talking, laughing to my stupid lecture jokes...yeah I did a number with my face expressions today. The perimeters of my face are pretty much flawless. I have to do this one again to see if it changes in different setting because this foundation seems to be incredible so far. My face also felt really nice and hydrated. I feel like this much hydration after 7 hours isn't usual with my other tinted moisturizers.


Day 2

I actually went to the office today so I figured that this might be a good chance to test the foundation one more time. I applied it with my fuzzy sponge again and everything blended out just fine. I used a different concealer and combination of powders because the last one felt a little off on my skin. I went in with a cream contour just to see how it blends out on top of the base with a sponge and how it lasts through the day.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Urban Decay Stay Naked Hydromaniac Tinted Glow Hydrator, shade 20 Fair

  • Essence Stay Natural+ Concealer, shade 30 ashy nude

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Contour Wand, shade Light Medium

  • Marc Jacobs Finish Line Perfecting Coconut Powder, shade 34 Invisible

  • Zoeva Finishing Powder, shade Outstanding

  • Revolution Laminate Brows, shade Medium Brown

  • XX Revolution Eye FiXX, shade Basic

  • Raw Beauty Kristy x Colourpop At Forest Sight Palette

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Liner, shade Black

  • Essence Longlasting Eye Pencil, shade 30 Gold Bling

  • NYX On The Rise Lash Booster

  • L'Oreal Air Volume Mega Mascara, shade Black

  • Milani Silky Matte Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Sun Light

  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette - Diffused Edit, shade Diffused Light + Euphoric Fusion

  • Essence Choose Your Glow Highlighter Palette, shade Candlelit Glow

  • I Heart Revolution Green Tea Fixing Spray

  • NYX Lip Pencil, shade Nude Beige

  • Zoeva Melody Lip Gloss, shade Spread Your Wings


Wear test 10.5 hours

I am a lot happier with my wear test performance today than the last time I wore this foundation. I am truly impressed by it. It went through the whole day with me, it was quite warm and I had clother that was far too warm so there was a lot of sweating and walking involved through the day as well as a 45 minute workout. I got some sweat going for sure. Let's look at the complexion though.


I wouldn't mind wearing this makeup outside right after the workout. You can see there's a bit of glow to the skin and I like that because the texture looks a lot like skin even when you look up close. It didn't really separate or move anywhere and my face didn't start feeling dry the whole day. That's quite rare these days. Even in my problematic areas I can see barely any texture difference from the morning. Between my brows is mostly fine, just a little along the contour of my nose there's separation from facial expressions and other than that there's no disruption caused by oils or dryness breaking up the foundation.

 

Final thoughts

I was expecting me to like this foundation because it's very much up my alley but I didn't expect it to be this impressive. I wore it many, many times now and it doesn't stop to impress me with how natural and skin-like it looks and yet it has beautiful medium coverage that covers everything you need.


If you don't like that amount of coverage, you can take a smaller amount and really work it into the skin and get lighter coverage or you can build it up as well. For me it really worked to take a small blob of it and spread it out with a brush and sometimes I go over it with a sponge to smooth out the finish even more. I also found that every cream product I use with it works very well, blend well on top of it and the same goes for powder base product. Also setting powders seem to work with the foundation formula really well and that's not always the case with very hydrating products.


Even though the price tag is quite up there and I usually don't like to spend that much on a foundation I really like this one and I would recommend it if you have dry/normal/combo skin. I cannot vouch for oily skin because I'm very far from being oily but it did withstand my pretty hard exercise. Hydration is something every skintype needs so I believe it might work well on all skin types but maybe the lasting power will be slightly different. I don't know about the 24 hours but 10.5 happened with absolutelly great results. No matter what I do, this foundation always stays put, natural, beautiful, intact and hydrating. I really, really like it.


Have you tried this new foundation? Let me know your thoughts on it in the comments and thanks for reading!


824 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page