top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

TREND IT UP | HYDRO STAY SILKY SERUM FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Hydrating foundations and hybrid products on the edge of makeup and skincare are more popular than even and drugstore doesn't want to stay behind. One great proof of that is the newest Trend It Up launch.


The Trend It Up Hydro Stay Silky Serum Foudation is the newest complexion addition to their range. It's a serum foundation with SPF 15, hyaluronic acid and vitamin complex which is supposed to give you natural blurred effect and waterproof longwearing finish. It retails for 5.25 Euros and it comes in 2 shades according to the DM website. I have the shade 010 which is the lightest.


The shade range is terrible as usual. Trend It Up is DM drugstore's own brand but honestly I feel like at this point they're popular enough to make more foundation shades than 2. For me the match is not terrible but I feel like it's more my summer shade.




The foundation comes in a glass bottle with a dropper. The bottle contains 30ml and it's a very runny foundation. It's more like water than a serum to me. The website doesn't state anything about its coverage, just that it's supposed to give natural luminous finish. Also it's supposed to be waterproof and promises 12 hours of wear. That's quite bold for a serum foundation.


The consistency is watery and very lightweight. The coverage is high-medium. It's more than I expected for sure. It applies OK with a brush but also with a sponge. And it has surprisingly pretty finish. I had many drugstore experiences with products like this one where they were just streaky water that didn't last an hour but I have high hopes for this one.












 

Wear test

I applied one pipette of the foundation with a brush covering my whole face. It did apply a little streaky and there was still a lot of foundation left on my palette, so a little goes a long way. It looked almost full coverage and the finish was very nice. I'm talking like non-standard nice. It's blurring really well and makes the skin look very smooth. I used a more luminous powder with it because I liked the look it gave me and honestly I thought it looks amazing once I was done applying my makeup.


List of used products

  • Catrice Clean ID Pore Perfecting Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Stay Serum Foundation, shade 010

  • Rare Beauty Liquid Touch Brightening Concealer, shade 130N

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Luminous Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Essence Tiny Tip Precise Brow Pen, shade 02 Medium Brown

  • Nudestix Brow Boost + Set Gel

  • By Beauty Bay Eye Base, shade Base 1

  • By Beauty Bay Youtopia Palette

  • NYX Shadow Jelly, shade A-Lister Silver

  • Kiko Milano Wonder Woman Wonder Look Lasting Eyemarker, shade 01

  • Flormar Satin Touch Stick Eye Shadow, shade Cashmere Dress

  • Essence Bye Bye Panda Eyes! Mascara

  • Missha Cotton Contour, shade Baked Bagel

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Matte & Glow Bronzer, shade 10 Cocoa-cool

  • Essence WANTED: Sunset Dreams Fading Blush, shade 01 Rise into Sunset

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Foil Freestyle Highlighter, shade Sand Castle

  • Catrice Clean ID Glow Prime & Fix Spray

  • Pat McGrath PermaGel Ultra Lip Pencil, shade Contour

  • Colourpop x Raw Beauty Kristi LUX Gloss, shade Glacier

Wear time 8 hours

I wanted to do a proper wear test so I took the foundation to work with me. It involved a lot of mask wearing as usual. So I was really worried that I won't be even able to publish it as a wear test because sometimes the mask just slaughters the complexion and there's nothing to report. Today was certainly different.

I wasn't really looking into the mirror through the day but when I came home I was pleasantly surprised. The foundation looked pretty great. There weren't even patches missing where I wore my mask which is usually pretty annoying and it happens on the daily with most of my foundations.

My face was nice and hydrated, the foundation didn't look cakey or separated. I was very surprised and impressed by this foundation overall. There are patches missing around my nose because as always...I have runny nose because it's Autumn already and my imunity sucks.

 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this foundation quite often recently and I must say that I am truly impressed. I really wish it had a decent shade range so more people could enjoy it. Trend It Up was always kind of a hit or miss for me personally and their complexion products weren't my favorite at all. This Hydro Stay line it exceeding my expectations and the foundation is actually becoming one of my favorites. I don't think I have a serum foundation I like this much. I would say that this is better and wears better than Rare Beauty foundation.


One big plus is the price and also the SPF 15 which is a nice bonus. I wear my SPF 50 every day but still, it's nice to have a little more on top as well. The texture is really nice and you don't even feel like you're wearing anything. But you have to keep it down and not apply too much otherwise it's going to act a little strange like when you apply too much moisturizer and then try to put makeup on top...it's gonna get weird. You really need just the tiniest amount and the high-medium coverage just will be there since the beginning.


I am not sure how would this foundation work on oily skin because my skin is more dry/combo but in my oily T-zone it was just fine so maybe that helps a little. If you have dry skin, it's going to be great for you. Overall, I am very impressed mostly by the weartime and the longevity of this product. Especially considering that I wore it under a mask for a long time and I kept taking it on and off so there was a lot of rubbing happening. Once again, I am impressed and I would absolutelly recommend it if you can fit the very narrow shade range.


Have you tried anything good from the drugstore lately? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

4,580 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page