top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

THE ORDINARY | SERUM FOUNDATION | WEAR TEST

I bought the serum foundation in hope to find something lightweight I could wear more often without looking cakey or heavy. It is advertised as such product, so I had my standards pretty high, since the reviews online are very good.

My skin is more normal, leaning towards oily sometimes on my forehead and around my nose and I usually touch my face a bit and I don't like touch-ups at all. So this si what we're working with.


I wrote about the bottle problems in my first impressions post so I won't get into that as much. You are supposed to shake the foundation well before using, so as you do that, you will probably notice, that it sounds very liquidy. Pretty much like straight up water. As liquidy as is it, you would not really expect a great coverage but the opposite is actualy true. The coverage is really good considering this is a more lightweight product.

I apply my foundations with a sponge but I feel like this one may not give you as much coverage with a brush. It sounds a little weird but very liquidy foundations tend to get trapped inside of the bristles and the brush blends very nicely but also into a very sheer layer. At least that's how it usually works for me with more watery products.

It goes on and blends amazing but it feels a little oily and dewy on the skin. It doesn't really seem like semi-matte finish they suggest on their website, but it does look very skin-like, glowy and healthy.

These are observations that I made everytime I applied it. Now let's get to the real testing.

 

Day 1


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

On the first day I decided to play it safe and just incorporate the foundation into my normal routine. I usually tend to use more powder products on my base and I like to powder my face a lot to make it last and not transfer.

A big plus of this foundation is, that despite the finish of it which I described above, it does play very nice with setting powder. I've had more glowy and dewy foundations before, which just didn't want to be set and acted weird with powder on top.

All the other products went on just as well, so far I really like the finish of the foundation.

Sorry for the picture quality, but my camera just acts a little funny in the morning.


List of used products:

Gabriella Salvere Pore Minimizer Skin Primer

NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

The Ordinary Serum Foundation, shade 1.0N

Revolution Conceal and Correct Color Corrector, shade Peach

Catrice Liquid Camouflage High Coverage Concealer, shade 005 Light Neutral

Lottie London Ready. Set! Go. Setting Powder, shade True Transparent

Maybelline Browdrama Sculpting Brow Mascara, shade transparent

Essence I love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

Makeup Obsession Dream with a Vision Pallete

Beetique Pulse Pallete

Lottie London eye foil, shade denied

Sephora Contour Eye Pencil, shade Baby Blues

Maybelline Tattoo Liner, shade 900 Deep Onyx

Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Wet Tshirt

Fenty Beauty Flyliner

NYX Worth the Hype Mascara

RL de Young Chocolate Bronzer

Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

RevolutionxSoph Higlighter Pallete

Rimmel Instafix Setting Spray

NYX luv out loud, shade Fearless


Wear time: 10 hours


End of day 1
End of day 1

The weather is starting to get a little summery but not quite, so I'm usually too hot half of the day and too cold the other half. I got quite sweaty as I was shopping for some clothes and it was a little hectic day. Also I started feeling not so good, a little sick, so I was blowing my nose the whole day.

I don't judge the foundation around my nose, nothing stays there when I'm sick. But because I got sweaty, it started separating on my forehear, between my brows and my bronzer started getting patchy which I don't like at all.

Overall it is a very comfortable foundation but I'm not that impressed by how it wears off.


 

Day 2

On day 2 I decided to go with my usual testing process and try the foundation with cream products. I go with cream contour, cream blush and cream highlighter. I use cream products in my routine probably more than a usual person, I like to experiment with the textures a little bit and I've always liked "weird textured" products.



Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products:

Maybelline Face Studio Prime Hydrating Primer

Lottie London Insta Filter Pore Eraser Stick

The Ordinary Serum Foundation

Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade 05

Fenty Beauty Match Stix, shade Amber

Maybelline Dream Matte Blush, shade coy coral

Revolution Ultra Cream Contour Pallete

Lottie London Ready. Set! Go. Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

183days Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain


Maybelline Tattoo Brow Brow Pomade, shade Ash Brown

Maybelline Browdrama, shade Transparent

Essence I love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

Revolution x Soph Extra Spice Pallete

Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Papaya Mama

Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

NYX Worth the hype Mascara, shade Black

Essence Electric Vibec Eye Pencil, shade #staywild

Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

Zoeva Opulence Blush Pallete, shade Impossible to Move

Fenty Beauty Killawatt Highlighter, shade Hu$tla Baby

Maybelline SuperStay Ink Crayon, shade 15 Lead the Way

NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


Again, the foundation blended very well, and I had no problem with blending the contour. However, the blush just took all the foundation from my face. I just had a bald patch on my cheek! I applied it with a finger and I don't think this ever happened to me. What a shame...

The rest of the products went on nicely and I had no further problems...I just had to take a powder blush to cover the spot without foundation a little. I have a long day in front of me so let's see how it goes!


Wear time: 12 hours

End of day 2
End of day 2

Again, I was still sick today so my nose is a tabu area. However the cream contour did not separate and the bronzer looks better than yesterday as well. Maybe this cream base will be a good idea. There's some separation between my brows and in the center of my forehead. About the same as yesterday. I mean 12 hours are a tough mark for many foundations to be honest.

It still feels lightweight and I don't feel the need to take it off immidiatelly. It does not get cakey throughout the day, so at least I can appreciate that.







 

Final thoughts

As I was testing this foundation I thought that there's probably no point in doing the third day of testing it. Of course I will be wearing it time to time, as I wear all my foundations, but I think it's time to conclude my thoughts.


I like this foundation because it feels light, blends amazing and looks like skin. I like the natural aspect of it and with summer approaching, it will probably be one of the frontrunners in my collection.

The things I don't like about it is that it does separate on me. I will probably try more primers with it but at the 7-8 hour mark, my forehead just doesn't look very good up close. Also, I will probably incorporate more cream products when using this foundation. At least with the contour it seemed to work very nicely.

I think that if you have more dry skin, this will be very good you. I don't know about the oily skin, but the reviews online make it seem like it's very good for more oily skin. For that verdict, I feel like you just need to find another blog post, I cannot speak for a skintype I don't have.


I would recommend buying it if you're looking for something light, hydrating and most importantly cheap. That's one of the factors that seemed the most interesting to me. And to be honest, compared to my other foundations in this price point, this one is not nearly as bad as some other ones I've tried.

So if you feel like buying it, it may be worth the try for a few bucks.


I'm sorry about the pictures in this wear test, I have to work on my camera and image transfering skills a little bit, because all the different platforms are messing with the quality a lot.


Thank a lot for reading, I hope you liked the wear test and if you have nothing to do, I mean, you can just read something else!

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page