top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

THE ORDINARY | CONCEALER | REVIEW

Sometimes skincare brand really come out of their comfort zone and surprise us with product we never expected to get. The Ordinary came out with two foundation formulas which were a great hit and now they added a concealer.


The Ordinary Concealer has a high spreadability high coverage formula with real skin finish. It comes in 36 shades, I have the shade 1.1N Fair Neutral. It has amazing shade range with encoded undertones. It should be perfect for covering up dark circles or blemishes and it's been formulated to be a little lighter than the foundation shades so you get you perfect highlighting concealer shade by just picking up your shade of any of the Ordinary foundations. You get 8ml of product and it retails for 5.8 Euros.


The concealer comes in a squeezy tube with a thin nozzle. It aims for precision and easy application and it promises to be crease-proof as well. The tube is very small but you really don't need much of this concealer so I can image this will last me a lifetime.


It's a little tricky to select your shade online if you have no idea what the shades look like. I've tried both of their foundations before so I kind of knew where to look. I decided to go for the 1.1N which is a neutral undertone in fair. I believe I could go darker and still get away with it easily. The formula is not only highly pigmented but also alcohol-free, oil-free, nut-free, vegan, gluten-free and cruelty-free.







 

Wear test

This concealer requires a little different style of work since in comes in a squeezy tube. I placed a little bit on my metal palette first and worked it in with a concealer brush. Then I blended it out with a sponge. That's how I usually like to apply thicker concealers. I set it with one of my favorite powders for the undereyes that's not too matte.


It blended out really well and the coverage is amazing. I am blown away mostly by that. It's easy to work with and even the colormatch is pretty decent for highlighting. It feels surprisingly lightweight.


List of used products

  • Catrice Energizing Prime & Care Spray

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Wet n Wild Photofocus Foundation, shade Soft Ivory

  • The Ordinary High Coverage Formula Concealer, shade 1.1N Fair Neutral

  • Marc Jasobc FInish Line Perfecting Coconut Powder, shade 34 Invisible

  • Zoeva Finishing Powder, shade Outstanding

  • XX Revolution Eye FiXX, shade Basic

  • Benefit Brow Microfilling Pen, shade Medium Brown

  • Benefit 24-HR Brow Setter

  • Nabla Soul Blooming Eyeshadow Palette

  • Maybelline Hyper Easy Brush Tip Liner, shade 800 Pitch Black

  • L'Oreal Telescopic False Lash, shade Magnetic Black

  • Essence Longlasting Eye Pencil, shade 29 Berry Fantastic

  • RL de Young Super Fruits Bronzer

  • Catrice Pure Simplicity Baked Blush, shade C03 Coral Crush

  • Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter, shade Glow Up

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Acid Setting Mist

  • Trent It Up Plump & Shine Lipgloss, shade 150

Wear time 15 hours

I just lost track of time to be honest to here we are after 15 hours of wearing this makeup. The Wet n Wild foundation I've used this morning is not the most hydrating so I look very dry and also quite separated which is all caused by many factors. Mostly it's the matte foundation, workout, no refreshing of the makeup and a wear time that's just too long. That being said my undereyes look pretty crusty as you would expect with any concealer on Earth by this point. Let's look at observations through the day.


The coverage of this concealer is really good and it covers just about anything. My blue undereyes started peeking through sometime around late afternoon which is pretty good. The concealer formula is quite matte and even with one of the least matte powders I have, it still dried out my undereyes. That's really not a criticism or a drawback, that's just how my undereyes work. But it wasn't really looking dry until, again, late afternoon. Based on these observations I would say that the true lasting power for me was great from 9 am when I started wearing the concealer to about 5 pm which makes it 8 hours of wear that I would consider very good, with above average coverage and not that much drying out.


On the rest of my face it all lasted well, I would say. Maybe I wouldn't use it on my nose the next time because I get runny nose all the time and this foundation doesn't make it too obvious when I wipe my nose a bit. With the concealer it looked a lot more obvious because it's so full coverage.

 

Final thoughts

First, I wasn't really sure about this concealer but I think the product itself is quite great. It's not a concealer I reach for every day but when I need extra coverage in places or when I really need to cover these undereye bags...this one has my back.


The price is really nice and you really need just the tiniest amount to make a full coverage veil over anything. The formula is very matte so I use the tiniest amount of powder with it but if you have dry skin it could be too matte for you or maybe it's going to be fine with no powder at all.


I usually don't use this concealer to do the regular highlighting on my forehead, nose and chin. Simply because it's a little too matte and I don't need that much coverage in these places. But if you need something to spot conceal or you have a lot of discoloration you want to cover up. This one is the concealer you're looking for. Plus it's super affordable.

276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page