top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

SHISEIDO | SYNCHRO SKIN SELF-REFRESHING TINT | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Do you remember the Shideido self-refreshing foundation? That stuff used to be my holly grail. Well, my makeup style has changed and my fave is not really my fave anymore so I hope that this new Shiseido skin tint will really bring it on.


The Shiseido Synchro Skin Self-Refreshing Tint is one of the newest additions to their complexion line of products. It is a lightweight skin tint with SPF 20 and hyaluronic acid which has the same self-refreshing technology as some of their other products and it's supposed to adapt to your skin's needs. It provides light coverage, 24h hydration and natural skin-like longlasting finish. It retails for $43 and it comes in 12 shades across the skintone spectrum. I have the shade 125 Fair.


It comes in a plastic squeezy tube with a seethrough stripe so can actually see the product inside. The tube it very thin and precise so you can squeeze out as much as you need. The packaging is overall very sleek and very thin so it's quite convenient for travelling. You get 30ml of products.


The product itself is very similar to a water-cream type consistency. It is quite thick once you squeeze it out but then as you start to blend it in it just leaves your skin with a veil of light coverage and melt into tinted water. The finish is very fresh and healty and also very skin-like and almost undetectable. It does not cover much but it evens out the skintone very well. It also feels very hydrating and the SPF in the formula does not irritate my eyes at all which is a plus.


The shade match is actually quite decent but I could easily go one shade darker too. The undertone is neutral and the coverage is quite sheer but even to proper shade match is not that impotrant.











 

Wear test

I wore the skin tint for a proper whole day at work including all kinds of shenigans in a mask and travelling for an hour into my office and back. And then I went shoe shopping a little so things got sweaty.


I applied the skin tint with my IT Cosmetics foundation brush and it went on just beautifully. It's almost like a water cream because it really melts into the skin and doesn't feel like anything. It has light and very natural luminous coverage. It blended like a dream and I really liked the finish.


I applied a cream bronzer on top and there were no problems with that. The powder also applied fine and it wasn't messing with the texture at all.


List of used products

  • Catrice Clean ID Pore Perfecting Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • Shiseido Synchro Skin Self-refreshing Tint, shade 125 Fair

  • Fenty Beauty Bright Fix Eye Brightener, shade 04 Crepe

  • Colourpop No Filter Finishing Powder, shade Fair

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Powder, shade Rose

  • XX Revolution Cream Bronzer, shade Inspire

  • Milani Weekend Brow Eyebrow Tint, shade 120 Soft Brown

  • Benefit 24HR Brow Setter

  • Nars Tinted Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • Made By Mitchell Head in the Clouds Palette

  • Morphe x Avani Palette

  • Colourpop Creme Gel Liner, shade Exit

  • Essence Electric Vibes Liner, shade #sorrynotsorry

  • Rare Beauty Perfect Strokes Mascara

  • Ilia Nightlite Bronzing Powder, shade Drawn In

  • Catrice Pure Simplicity Baked Blush, shade Moody Plum

  • Sephora Glossed, shade Witty

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

Wear time 11.5 hours

I am very pleased with this skin tint. The application looked very promising but that's very often the case. After travelling to work in a mask I had no complaints, there were no missing patches or separation from the humidity under the mask. Throught the day I didn't notice any problems, I was just talking a lot so the tint started slightly budging between my eyebrows...damn you expressive face.


Once I came back home I gave my face a proper analysis. There was a little bit of smudging where my mask touches my face under the eyes and the concealer didn't look the best. But we're not really evaluating the concealer. The tint was really intact and everything looked really smooth and nice. It also didn't feel like anything through the whole day. It just felt like a water-cream going on and then it stayed that way and it really felt just like a light dusting of powder the whole day.

 

Final thoughts

Since I got this product it became quite the stample in my routine. It is very fast, easy and mess-free so I like to use it on the daily when I just need a little "everyday coverage" that's going to even out the skintone and make me look more healthy and glowy.


The price is steep for sure but I do like the product very much and even though I don't really see the self-refreshing technology...I still like the product and it's a great skin tint. If you feel like splurging this is a good option but otherwise I would highly recommend going for a more affordable option because you do not need to spend $43 on a skin tint. My personal choice would be the L'Oreal Skin Paradise Tinted Water-Cream as I find its consistency and finish very similar to this Shiseido tint. They both also last very well.


So yeah, I would say it's a great product with nice properties, weartime, texture and overall feel. I can also see this working for different skin types because it's not too glowy or too hydrating and slippery. The shade range it also very decent considering this is a light coverage tint. If all these things outweight the price is up to you.


Have you tried any new skin tints you really like? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


2,632 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page