top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

SHISEIDO | SYNCHRO SKIN SELF-REFRESHING FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSION | WEAR TEST

What has to snap in your brain to think "oh, I think I need that expensive japanese foundation in my life"? In mine, it was just getting a paycheck and browsing Douglas eshop for a little too long.


I'm pretty sure this foundation has been re-launched and probably modified a bit in the formulation, because the claims on it are rather futuristic. It's an oil-free foundation with SPF 30, it has ActiveForceâ„¢ technology, which synchronizes with your skin a refreshes itself for 24 hours. It should make that "fresh-applied" look last all day long.

There are 30 shades, there could be more done in the dark-deep department, but the shade range isn't horrible. In fact, I feel like Shiseido was doing much worse in the past. I like the shade descriptions on Shiseido website and they also have a shade matching tool, which helps you pick your shade according to what shades are you using in different foundations. I put in my Fenty Beauty hydrating foundation in 150, because I really like it's undertone and the shade is just well fitting in my opinion, so I tried and it suggested shade 130 Opal. That is supposed to be balanced shade with slightly golden undertone for fair skin. I tend to go more warm than cool with my foundations, so I thought is sounded pretty well and I just took the risk. Turned out that it's actually one of the best matches I own at all.


The packaging feels really nice and heavy. It's frosted glass, so you can see the product inside, but there's always a little color modification when you look through frosted glass, so don't pick your shade just based on that. However, it's nice to have a hint of what's inside. It has a pump, the lid twists to lock, which I really like. I also like that the "original" position, which is the pump facing the front, is the locked state, not the opened state, so you just twist it when you want to pump and it can stand pretty on your vanity safe and locked.


You get 30ml of product, which is very standard and the price is varying from store to store. I purchased it from Douglas website because there was 20% off. Originally, it's 1390 Crowns, which is pretty pricey. I got it for 1112 Crowns, which is still pricey, but in the range in which I am able to justify buying a foundation if I think it's going to be a banger.


When swatched, it's a really nicely balanced shade which was also well described on the website. I immidiatelly knew it's going to look good when I swatched it. Here you can see it next to other foundations I use and yes, I can work a wide range of foundation shades. I don't really know if I look too stupid in any of those, but I don't have anyone to tell me really, so who knows. But I really like this shade.

 

Wear test

I couldn't wait to make a wear test on this foundation. When I finally got it on Thursday, I had only Friday to try it out, because these days, it's all weekends in. I did three days of wearing as usual, one day with only powder base, one day with mostly cream / liquid base and one day just kinda how I feel like. I think it's only fair to give my honest thoughts after at least three days.


Day 1

I did a pure powder base today to see how everything lasts. I usually have problems with patchy bronzer and blush at the end of the day. So let's see how it goes. I applied it with a sponge and may have over applied a little bit, because it felt a little too heavy. I can get carried away a little too much sometimes, especially when I use a sponge. I rely too much on the sponge to soak up the product.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up

  • Shiseido Synchro Skin Self-refreshing Foundation, shade 130 Opal

  • Tarte Shape Tape, shade 22N light neutral

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade 05

  • H&M Hi-Definition Setting Powder

  • 183days Ready to Brow Ink, shade 020 Ash

  • Barry M Take a Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • P. Louise Eyeshadow Base, shade 02

  • Makeup Obsession Dream with a Vision Pallete

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Sephora Contour Eye Pencil 12HR Wear, shade 28 Baby Blues

  • Essence Melted Chrome Eyeliner, shade 04 zinc my way

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • Essence x PACMAN Baked Highlighter, shade ready!

  • Fenty Beauty Diamond Bomb, shade How Many Carats?!

  • Dermacol Matte Mania Liquid Lipstick, shade 10


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 14 hours

I actually wore the foundation for couple more hours after taking the picture, but it hasn't changed at all. Anyway, I was quite surprised. I wanted it to be good, but after 14 hours I looked pretty much how I would look after 7. It was a little budged between my brows, but other than that, it wasn't separating anywhere, it wasn't patchy and weird anywhere. I was very happy with how my face looked.








 

Day 2

I overslept like crazy today, so I went in with cream contour to save some time and then spend half an hour on the eyes, so there was not much time saved afterall. Anyway, I applied the foundation in much smaller amount and with a NYX Multipurpose Buffing Brush. I love this brush for foundation and for blending any creams. I applied a lot less than the first time and still, I feel like a little goes a very long way and you don't need much at all.

Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • e.l.f Prep & Blur Stick, shade Sheer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Catrice Hydrating Primer and Care Spray

  • Shiseido Synchro Skin Self-refreshing Foundation, shade 130 Opal

  • e.l.f. 16HR Camo Concealer, shade Light Sand

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • 183days Loose Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Lottie London Arch Rival Volumizing Eyebrow Powder, shade Medium

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Mascara, shade 030

  • Barry M Take a Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • P. Louise Eyeshadow Base, shade 02

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Blood Sugar Pallete

  • NYX Glitter Glue

  • NYX Glitter Brillants, shade Gold

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed, shade C-POP

  • I <3 Revolution Green Tea Makeup Fixing Spray


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 12 hours

I am pleasantly surprised once again. I was a little sick today and the foundation looks a little disrupted around my nose, but overall, everything powder or cream, is looking pretty fresh and nice on my face. I like that it doesn't dry me out even after the whole day and also with a matte concealer. Even when I touch my face pretty often, I don't see any signs of my skin being patchy or uneven. I really like this foundation y'all.







 

Day 3

I didn't even realize it's my third day testing today! I applied the foundation with a sponge today and went in just with a bit of my Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer to have more natural effect. And then went over with a contour...natural indeed. Also I am wearing the Conspiracy pallete for the first time! I did the most boring look ever but well, my creativity was drained last night when I was playing with it.

I went in with just two pumps of the foundation. The pumps on this one are waaay smaller than on my other foundations, so it would be like a one pump of Maybelline SuperStay. The sponge made it look a lot nicer and less heavy than the first time I did sponge application. I think it's because there was a little less product and also I cleaned my sponge and let me tell you, it does a lot.

Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • RL de Young Dewy and Fresh Primer

  • Shiseido Synchro Skin Self-refreshing Foundation, shade 130 Opal

  • Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, shade 22N light neutral

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade 05

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Dark Walnut Brown

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • P. Louise Eyeshadow Base, shade 02

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Conspiracy Pallete

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Mini Controversy Pallete

  • Sephora Contour Eye Pencil 12HR Wear, shade 39 Don't Get Me Wrong

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Milk Makeup Kush Mascara

  • Bershka #nosunbuttanned Bronzer, shade 02 paradise hack

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin

  • Fenty Beauty Freestyle Killawatt Highlighter, shade Sand Castle

  • Revolution PRO Supreme Hold Finishing Spray

  • NYX Soft Matte Metallic Lip Cream, shade Marrakesh

  • NYX Soft Matte Metallic Lip Cream, shade Manhattan Beach


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 11 hours

My eyes are extremely watery lately, so ignore the fact that my eyeliner is literally missing from this planet. I love how my foundation lasted today. You can see, that there's a little missing around my nose, where I have my glasses, which is the case always. But considering I was touching my face quite a lot today and I did a fair share of sweating, I think I look pretty good. I also see that there's a patch of foundation missing around my jawline, so I suppose that's because I'm wearing a scarf or a high neck winter jacket everyday, it's probably not too much a fault of the foundation.




 

Final thoughts

I kind of expected, that this is going to be a nice foundation, just based on the reviews I saw and because I was so impressed by it even without trying it, that it just kind of had to work. And thankfully it did. I always have a favorite foundation in a time block, because no foundation stays my favorite for a very long time, because of my moody skin. This one is taking the lead these days, for sure.

Is it worth the money? That's up to you to decide. But speaking for my own wallet, if I bought just this one and didn't splurge on drugstore foundations that didn't work for me, I would be better off with more money. I recommend you go to Douglas or another store, which sells this foudation and get a sample. I love it, it works like a dream, it plays well with everything and it looks bomb. It's not completely crease-less, I still have a little creasing around my nose and it's not like I just applied it the whole day. But it does look significantly better than other foundations I have across the whole price spectrum. I love many foundations that I own, but this one is going to become that special one, I can wear when I need to look great.

I really like the shade, I feel like more pricey foundations just get the undertones and shade details better in general, so maybe if you're someone who's got trouble shade matching, this is a way to go to find your perfect shade.

I really like everything about this foundation, I'm not pushing anyone to buy it, but if you want to treat yourself and you're considering getting a more expensive foundation, I think this one is a nice way to go. I also really like the finish, because natural finish just always looks nice, even when my skin acts up at the moment.


Do you have any quilty pleasure expensive foundations you really like? Let me know in the comments bellow and thanks for reading!

495 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page