top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RUDE COSMETICS | THE ROARING 20'S RECKLESS PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

Have you ever wanted a pallete for literally years and then finally got it in a great sale and was the happiest person ever? Yeah, that's me and this pallete right here.


The Rude Cosmetics The Roaring 20's Reckless Pallete is one of the Roaring 20's palletes they came out with. There's a neon one, cool toned neutral one and than this beauty right here. There are 20 shades in the pallete and it retails for $22 at the official Rude Cosmetics website. I managed to get my hands on it for 370 Crowns (original price 528 Crowns) which was a steal to I couldn't resist.


The packaging is gorgeous, very retro and chic. I love the green and the style of the packaging, it remind me a lot of Great Gatsby...which makes sense because it's the same era. The pallete has a nice large mirror and the pans are a lot bigger than they appear online. There are mattes and shimmers in the pallete and I would say I see more than just one shimmer formula. You get a great variety of colors, it's a beautiful bright pallete but it's a litte different than the traditional "sunset brights" pallete everybody has done before.


You get a cream matte which always comes in handy and then many bright mattes and some more deep mattes. The variety of shimmers is great, there are some lighter ones and some deeper ones and also beautiful blue nad green ones which is quite rare. I honestly fell in love with this pallete the first time I saw it which was on SophDoesLife's Youtube channel a very long time ago.


I would say the pallete is very versatile and for me it would be great for travelling as well because I like to have options in a smaller package if possible. It's not really suitable for very neutral looks as there are no light and medium neutral colors but I still think I'll try to do a neutral look with this pallete as well.

 

Look 1

I was drawn to the shade Lindy Hop so I decided to go for a burgundy look with a litte twist.


I started with Lindy Hop at my outer corner and blended it outwards in a V-shape. I wanted to deepen the outer corner even more so I packed Chippy on there and blended it into Lindy Hop. I then blended out the outer edges with Swanky a little bit to give a little more cool toned vibe. Then I blended Swanky to the inner portion of my crease and started with the lid. All over the lid I packed Glitzy. I went on really well with a brush. I also put it in my inner corners. I took a baby blue metallic eyeliner and placed it on my waterline and buffed it out with Lindy Hop and Swanky. I added a black winged liner and that's the look.


Look 2

The greens in this pallete are just stunning so I had to give them a little space. I started out with Mojo in the inner crease and ended the outer crease with Charlston and Hot Dawg!. I packed the last two at the outer lid as well. It took a bit of blending but I got where I wanted with that color combo. Then I packed Cut a Rug on the inner 2/3 of the lid and crease a fake cut-crease shape. I smudged some brown gel liner on the lower lashline and buffed it out with Charlston and Hot Dawg! so it's not so harsh.


Look 3

The red and orange in the pallete look very vibrant and I really wanted to see how they perform so I did a little spin on a sunset look. I started with Buzz in the crease and continued with Big Shot more in the eye socket and slightly on the lid. Then I took Attagirl and used it as a baby winged liner. On the bottom I just used a pastel yellow gel liner and buffed it out with the smallest amount of Big Shot and then Buzz. I am obsessed with this look.


Look 4

I started with Moonshine all over my lid because I knew I want the look to be just about that shade. Then I buffed Charlston on the outer corner and into my crease creating a rounded edge. I put a green/gold gel pencil in my waterline and buffed it out with Charlston and then just buffed a black powder liner along my top lashes.


Look 5

This look is a slight variation on the look 1 where I used the blue and purple tones. I went in with Charlston once again in the crease and the outer corner. I used Swanky to blend it all out out and also on the lower lashline. I then took Razzle on a flat brush and packed it all over the lid. In my waterline I used a little bit of a pastel purple pencil and I added a very subtle liner and lashes.

 

Final thoughts

I would say that this is one of my current favorite palettes for sure. The quality of Rude Cosmetics eyeshadows is really high and I love the formulas a lot. The mattes are very nice, easy to blend, easy to work with. The shimmers have multiple formulas and some of them are really incredible like the shade On The Ritz or Flappers which are very foiled and smooth and glittery. But the classical shimmers like the blue ones or the gold are stunning and metallic as well.


Overall, I love the variety of shades and formulas you get. It's a very bright but wearable palette that has some great combinations inside of it. The greens and blues in this pallete are very nice and add a beautiful pop of color to any look. The color story of this palette is just stunning to me and I am very happy that I manages to get the palette because it truly is amazing. The price of it is fine in my opinion but if you don't mind waiting it goes on sale quite often at xobeauty.cz so you might want to wait for a bit if you want to save up some money. However, I would recommend picking it up.


Have you tried any Rude Cosmetics palettes? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

377 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page