top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RIVAL LOVES ME | TRIPLE FILTER MAKEUP | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Do you also get really excited when you see a fresh, new, untouches makeup display in a drugstore? I get like a sugarrush when I do. Yesterday I walked into a Rossmann...and here we go.


There's a new brand in Rossmann called Rival Loves Me, which is their resident brand with makeup that wasn't in Czech Republic before. We had RL de Young, which has been canceled now and now we have a new brand, new line with new products. Very exciting. You know me, I am on a constant hunt for the best foundation ever and there was one bottle on the display which was calling my name.


The Rival Loves Me Triple Filter Make-up was attracting me very much. Apparently it's a 3 in 1, primer, concealer and foundation, which I absolutelly don't believe in. They had three shades, which is just awful and since there were no testers in the store, I took shade 02 warm desert. Let me tell you, I wasn't looking very well because the color of the sticker on the bottle is exactly the color of the foundation. So I could've gone for the lightest one and be just fine. I got myself a liquid orange shade.


Other than that, it's supposed to give you a perfect skin without mask effect. It's a lightweight blurring foundation, which should hydrate the skin and has a soft matte finish. And you're supposed to shake it before you use it.


I would say that it does have a semi-matte finish for sure and it feels like a very lightweight texture. It feels nice on the skin and the coverage is great in my opinion. It's about high medium but it looks very nice and skin-like.


It comes in a bottle with a dropper that feels like glass or ceramic. The packaging feels really nice. And you get 30ml inside. I assume that since it's a dropper you won't use a lot at once, that's usually the case with these thin liquidy foundations. And it also retails for 109 Crowns, which is just so cheap it's funny.


When we get over the fact that the shade doesn't match me at all, it's a pretty nice looking foundation. It does have a demi-matte finish but it's also quite easy to overapply. It feels very lightweight on the skin. It looks very smooth and flawless in certain areas and it seems like it doesn't emphasise texture too much.


I actually went and bought the lightest shade, which is 01 light rose. I was scared that it's gonna be too pink, but at this point anything will be better than the shade I have. I haven't found many swatches onine, so hopefully this might help you if you're trying to buy the foundation.

 

Wear test

Today I filmed a little video with the Rival Loves Me Products I got recently and this foundation is in it as well. I was struggling a little bit when applying it. I tried mixing in white drops, but it was still too dark, so I took the lightest foundation I have a tried to help it that way. It still looks too dark though. I look very, very tan. Other than that, I used a cream blush on top of it and this is probably the first foundation that hasn't gone crazy after applying a cushion blush on top.


Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

List of used products

  • Rival Loves Me Blur Primer Drops

  • Rival Loves Me Triple-Filter Make-Up, shade 02 warm desert

  • Catrice Liquid Camouflage Concealer, shade 010 Porcelain

  • elf Under-eye Setting Powder, shade Sheer

  • Rival Loves Me Marshmallow HD Compact Powder

  • RL de Young Rouge Cushion

  • Revolution Soap Brow

  • Maybellie Brow Ultra Slim Pencil, shade Blonde

  • Rival Loves Me Brow Mascara Tinted Eyebrow Gel, shade 01 ash blond

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Rival Loves Me Candy Pastels Pallete

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Liner

  • Rival Loves Me Long Lasting Eyeliner, shade 07 aquamarine

  • Riva Loves Me Never Seen Before Mascara, shade 01 black

  • RL de Young Superfruits Bronzer with Coconut Oil

  • Essence Choose Your Glow Pallete, shade Candlelit Glow

  • Maybeline Lasting Fix Makeup Setting Spray

  • Lottie London Slay All Day Lip Pencil, shade Werk It

  • Rival Loves Me KISSable Lipgloss, shade 07 never stop


End of the wear test
End of the wear test

Wear time 15 hours

Well this was a long one. I wasn't feeling good enough to exercise today so I wanted to at least extend the wear time and that went pretty well. The foundation didn't feel heavy or gross after the 15 hours, but it wasn't looking the best. I feel like it's still blurring slightly and still looking very smooth but it's budging a little bit in the usual areas. It does look a little shiny and oily, especially in the T-zone, but nothing a translucent powder wouldn't fix. Since this is a very lightweight consistency, I think that a touch up would make sense with this foundation and it would make it look better.


 

Final thoughts

I am still a little on the fence with this one. I really like the texture and the coverage and I feel like I could go without setting it at all. It feels like nothing on the skin, it doesn't irritate my skin and it looks really pretty and I think it does blur my imperfections. Also the price is really good.


However, the shade range is just bad. The fact that there are three shades is awful by itself and these shades aren't even trying to cover any part of the population really. The lightest shade is still really dark. I can barely pull it off and it would be more of a summer shade for me for sure if even that.


I like how it looks and how it wear, so if you think that the shades would be right for you, I could recommend it because it looks very nice, it wear well for the price and it has a beautiful finish. But if those shades aren't for you, I wouldn't even bother trying to make them work.


Have you tried any of the new Rival Loves Me Products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

971 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page