top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RIVAL LOVES ME | SKIN OPTIMIZER UNDER EYE CONCEALER | WEAR TEST

Who doesn't love a good affordable concealer? Recently I stumbled across this new thick looking concealer at Rossmann and I couldn't let it escape.


The Rival Loves Me Skin Optimizer Under Eye Concealer is a new concealer from this very affordable brand. It's supposed to work best with the Skin Optimizer Foundation from the same brand and it's brightening formula that sinks into the skin and covers any imprefections and dark circles. The formula is vegan and it comes in 4 shades that are fairly similar to each other. I have the lightest shade 01 Light Natural. It retails for 2.49 Euros.


It comes in a chunky tube with a large doefoot and you get 5ml of product. It is slightly scented but nothing too irritating under my eyes which can be quite sensitive. The coverage is not full for sure, even when you swatch is you can see that it's not full coverage. But it is a decent medium coverage which seems to be very lightweight in texture.



The undertone on majority of the shades seemed pretty neutral which suits my skintone really well but I don't think it's universaly suitable to anyone. Some people need more yellow or more pink undertone so beware if you want to get this concealer that the shade range is a little more neutral-toned and check the shades under some reasonable light.







 

Wear test

I did a cheeky double wear-test for this one The concealer went well with the serum because they are both around medium coverage. It applied really nice and I really like the neural undertone it has. I blended it out with my concealer brush to maintain as much coverage as possible and it was not bad at all. The initial application was nice and it set well with powder without looking heavy. Maybe if my sleeping schedule was a little better it would be covering up even more.


List of used products

  • Bell Cosmetics Pore Correcting Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • L'Oreal True Match Nude Plumping Tinted Serum, shade 0.5-2 Very Light

  • Rival Loves Me Skin Optimizer Under Eye Concealer, shade 01 Light Natural

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Luminous Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • H&M Pure Radiance Powder Blusher, shade Brown Sugar

  • Steph Toms x Ofra Highlighter, shade Milk & Cookies

  • Lime Crime Bushy Brow Precision Pen, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Nudestix Brow Boost & Set Gel XL

  • Catrice Waterproof Eyeshadow Primer Mattifying

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop So Jaded Palette

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • Essence Double Trouble Mascara Ultra Black

  • e.l.f. No Budge Eyeshadow, shade Ice Cream

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

  • Wonder Woman x Kiko Milano Flash of Light Lip Gloss, shade 03 Epic Peach

Wear time 11 hours

I tested this concealer together with the new L'Oreal foundation so I was curious to see how they're going to pair. The coverage is fitting with a tinted serum foundation because it's more medium-light with a nice hydrating natural finish. I've been through a lot today and my eyes were leaking the whole day due to the strong wind in Europe. The concealer lasted pretty well and looks...a little dry but certainly no the worst. It's somewhere around the middle where it's probably caused more by the weartime and dry cold weather than the formula itself.


One thing that kinda bothers me is the loss of coverage. My undereye bags were quite well covered in the morning when I finished my makeup and now I can see them pretty clearly. I did set them with a luminous powder so there's the light catching effect that diffuses them pretty well but I can see the coverage doesn't last the whole day for sure.

 

Final thoughts

This concealer is absolutelly not a full coverage, hide it all kinda thing. It's not in my top concealers at the moment for that flawless look but it's been very helpfull for my "I have 5 minutes before I have to leave" looks. The fact that is has medium coverage is great when I wear lighter makeup or no foundation at all. It has amazing undertone so it looks really good on its own just with powder.


Also I find that when my undereye bags aren't that bad it works way better than it did in the wear test. But I kind of opted to just use it for shorter amounts of time and when I'm going light with the products or when I'm in a hurry.


In terms of drugstore, I would say it's one of the better concealers and I like the texture of it a lot. It pretty lightweight and quite hydrating, it doesn't crease too bad and it works nice with different powders. So I would recommend it if you don't mind medium coverage and you can find your shade. As usual, Rival Loves Me did not deliver much in terms of shade range.


But if you can find your shade and you're not into super heavy full coverage concealers...this one is probably going to be perfect for you. And the price is just unbeatable.


Have you tried any new great drugstore concealers? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!



2,255 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page