top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RIVAL LOVES ME | GOLDEN MELODY FACE PALETTE | REVIEW

I feel like the cheaper the drugstore brand the better their limited edition collections are. Essence always surprises me with their limited edition products and RL de Young used to as well. Rival Loves Me which is its upgraded version came out with a new limited edition range of products and I am excited.


The Rival Loves Me Golden Melody collection launched just recently and you can get it in Rossmann. It contains an eyeshadow palette, face palette, color-adapting lipstick, waterproof makeup transforming drops and a jelly highlighter. I picked up the Golden Melody Face Palette because it just really spoke to my heart the most out of these products. It retails for 2.5 Euros and you get 16g of product.


The palette is really nice, it's quite compact and slim which I like a lot. There's not mirror but I don't tend to use small mirrors so I don't really care. You get 2 highlighters and 2 blushes in the palette. One of the highlighters is a pink-toned and quite metallic one, the other one is more subtle pale gold highlighter. One of the blushes is fully matte light pink and the other one is a peach pink shimmery blush.


The formula feels really smooth and nice on all four products. The pink highlighter is a lot more metallic and reflective then the gold one. The gold highlighter is more like a subtle sheen. The matte pink blush is really pretty, it's a juicy matte formula that it's completely flat and still looks very lively and healthy on the cheeks. The shimmery blush is just at the right balance between shimmer and pigment. It has a golden sheen but still enough of that peachy pink pigment to look pigmented and not just like a highlighter. They really did great with the formula variety.


The palette comes only in one version and I feel like it would probably suit only fair to medium skintones. For me all four products are perfectly fine and that's why I wanted to get it but at the same time it's a shame that there aren't more versions of the pallete for a wider variety of skintones.

The swatches are as the products are ordered in the palette so from top to bottom we have the matte pink blush, pink-toned highlighter, gold highlighter, shimmery peachy pink blush.

 

Wear test

I don't really wear test blushes and highlighters that often but might as well when I'm wearing them for the whole day. I went for the golden highlighter and the shimmery warm toned blush.


The highlihgter is very subtle and gives more of a sheen than a strong metallic glow. I don't have many subtle highlighters and for a soft look like this one it's just a perfect highlighter intensity. It applied really smooth and didn't emphasise any texture at all.


The blush went on better than expected. It's not too pigmented but it does give you color as well as shine. Sometimes drugstore shimmery blushes are just packed with glitter and no pigment. This one has the perfect amount of pigmentation so can actually see the color when you apply it and it also gives you a beautiful not glittery glow. The pigmentation was smooth and even and it didn't go on too pigmented. I hate when blushes just make a big blob of color and you have to try and blend it out and sometimes fail. This one is very fool-proof and applied really well.


Wear time 11 hours

After 11 hours there's all kinds of things usually happening to my complexion products. Bronzers and blushes tend to go patchy a they show up more and highlighters tend to fade. Today we're looking at a highlighter which is going strong and my natural oils slightly emphasised the glow, I would say. The blush has faded a little but it wasn't so prominent to begin with. It's still there though and on the spot where I placed it the complexion looks perfectly fine. There's no separation happening and no pigment emphasising either.



 

Final thoughts

It's a real shame that the limited editions usually aren't inclusive at all. If you have fair/light skin tone, maybe even medium, you might be able to really enjoy this palette. For the price you get 4 great products that perform really well.


I love that you 2 different highlighter formular and 2 different blush formulas/finishes. I am able to use everything in the palette which is why I wanted to get it in the first place. The shades are all very flattering and perform really well. They also wear well, especially with blushes I appreciate that. Some blushes start to patch up and have weird pigmentation but there work just fine.


Overall I would recommend getting it because I feel like it's going to sell out very quick. I think I was lucky enough to grab the last piece. For the price you cannot really go wrong, these are some very nice highlighters and blushes.


Have you tried anything from the Golden Melody collection? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

364 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page