top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RIMMEL | THE MULTI-TASKER CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

There was a time when Tarte Shape Tape was all the rage and everyone was trying to make a dupe of it. Some brands were fast and some were a little slower and it took them a while...and then there's Rimmel.


The Rimmel Multi-tasker Concealer is a 2 in 1 product which can be used as a concealer or a foundation. It promises full coverage and brightening effect and you can use it to cover up redness, darkness, blemishes or to brighten up the complexion. It comes in 10 shades and the shade range isn't that impressive but for a drugstore launch it's still quite well distributed. I have the shade 003 Light. It retails for 200 Crowns (cca $9).


It does have a jumbo wand for easier distribution and I don't mind these at all. It also promises 24 hour wear and transfer-proof, waterproof and crease-proof formula. Apparently it should also give you 24 hours of hydration. It has lightweight non-greasy formula that doesn't smudge or cake. I am very curious to see how this product performs.


The shade match is pretty spot on for me so it does go very pale but not that deep on the other end of the spectrum. The formula does seem to be very thin and lightweight and the coverage isn't very apparent from the swatch but once you apply it...you can tell it's full coverage.



The shade 003 Light is for light skintones with warm undertones but I would say it's more warm/neutral. It doesn't lean too yellow and it's actually a very nice shade. The shades seemed to be very similar in the drugstore so mostly watch out for the undertone if you decide to check it out yourself.


According to Rimmel website, you should apply it with your fingers or a concealer brush and then set it in place with a setting powder. I am happy to hear that because not every brand acknowledges that setting powders exist and that you should actually use them to set the concealer.


I took a look through the ingredients and there's glycerin and hyaluronic acid in the formula so it should have at least some hydrating properties. But both of these ingredients are pretty low on the list so there's a chance it's not going to be that impressive from the hydration standpoint.

 

Wear test

I decided to not use any creams today so I don't disrupt the concealer (which happens sometimes) and to give it the fairest shot. I applied just two dots - one in my inner and one in my outer corner, and blended them out with my Rare Beauty foundation brush. That brush is a magic for concealer blending. The shade match is very good, it blends really well and the coverage is way better than I expected. I also thought it's going to be more matte than it is. It actually has a very nice almost hydrating feel to it and it doesn't look matte or flat at all. My dry undereyes have hope once again.


Once I powdered it down there were no undereye bags in sight and also no blue undertone under my eyes...incredible. It also feels very lightweight which I appreciate but we'll see how it wears.


List of used products

  • Essence Prime+ Studio Poreless + Skin Blurring Putty Primer

  • Wet n Wild PrimeFocus Primer Serum

  • L'Oreal Infallible 24H Fresh Wear Foundation, shade 100 Linen

  • Rimmel The Multi-Tasker Concealer, shade 003 Light

  • Revolution Bright Eye Powder

  • Catrice True Skin Mineral Loose Powder, shade Transparent Matte

  • Kiko Milano Wonder Woman Power Last Duo Define & Fix Brows, shade 01

  • Milani Weekend Brow Eyebrow Tint, shade 120 Soft Brown

  • Nars Tinted Smudge Prood Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • Pat McGrath Mothership VIII: Divine Rose II Palette

  • NYX Slide On Glide On Stay On & Definitely a Turn On Waterproof Extreme Shine Eye Liner, shade Jewel

  • Rare Beauty Perfect Strokes Matte Liquid Liner

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • Essence Bye Bye Panda Eyes! Mascara

  • Marc Jacobs O!Mega Bronze, shade Tan-Tastic!

  • Essence Contouring Duo Palette, shade 10 Lighter Skin

  • By Beauty Bay Powder Blusher, shade Peachy

  • Milani Baked Powder Blush, shade Luminoso

  • Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter, shade Glow Up

  • Milani Make It Last Setting Spray

  • Huda Beauty Lip Contour, shade Flirt

  • Pat McGrath LUST: Gloss, shade Flesh Fantasy

Wear time 17 hours

I wasn't even sure if I should include this very horrific picture of me coming back home at 2 am. However! The concealer survived really well and even though I look like garbage, my undereyes don't so it's kinda a win. You can tell there's quite a lot of texture happening on the face overall and that's just because this face of makeup was looooong expired when I got home and the fact that you have to wear mask everywhere didn't help that at all. So mostly there are placed where the foundation is missing and the concealer as well but my undereyes look pretty good, still not as dry as they could be and the rest of the face looks tired and a little gross but really I can imagine way worse.

 

Final thoughts

I started writing this post right after I bought this concealer and did the wear test. Since then, it's been 2 months and I swear that it's my favorite drugstore concealer. It's probably not my fave ever but it's in top 3 ever for sure. Such a beautiful, high coverage, hydrating but not too much, smooth, natural looking concealer is truly a hard get especially in the drugstore. This is really in the tier of high-end concealers FOR SURE.

I used it as a foundation on multiple occasions and I love the finish of it so much.

I thing it's truly for any skin type because the hydration it provides is not too much and it doesn't seem to crease easily either. It worked well with any powder I put on top and even as a foundation is really works well and wears beautifully for a very decent period of time. I would say that 10 hours are a guarantee for this concealer when I wear it.

I cannot recommend it enough, it even took place in my September favorites video! If you want to see it in action, check it out.

Or in this one

I swear to you, there's no better concealer in the drugstore right now. The only downside is the shade range because this just won't do it. Rimmel, you did something great here so can you just please make this accessible to everyone? Thanks.


Have you tried the new Rimmel products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

5,148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page