top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RIMMEL | LASTING FINISH 25HR BREATHABLE FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

How often did it happen to you, that you walk into DM and there's a foundation you never tried for 1 Crown! You probably understand that a foundation hoarder like me just couldn't resist, even though the match isn't perfect.


I believe they don't sell the foundation in many places, because it felt like they're selling it out. But when you check out the Rimmel website, it's there pretty much like a new thing on the first page, so I'm a little confused. There also isn't much information about it anywhere. It's the Rimmel Lasting Finish 25HR Breathable Foundation and on the website it says perfect coverage, ultra lightweight and lets your skin breathe. Nothing about the finish or the application or anything else really. I guess we'll have to figure it all out.


On the bottle it says medium coverage and SPF 20, which I do like. You get 30ml and supposedly it retailed for 144 Crowns originally according to my bottle. I got the shade 010 light porcelain, which is the only one they had and it looks a little pink, but I think I can pull it off. It looks like they have 6 shades in total which is a terrible range to be honest.


It comes in a glass bottle with a giant doefoot, which is oddly flat. I don't really know why, but well, maybe it should help the application. Also it seems very liquidy and quite sheer when swatched. According to the reviews online I think it should be a little more on the matte side, but I'm not sure yet. It also smells rather odd. I would say it smells like something that's going to make your kitchen stainless and clean. Not a good sign in my opinion.

 

Wear test

I'm doing the wear test in the usual manner, three days with different types of base products. This way I can really test the foundation with cream base and powder base and see how it really wears.


Day 1

So I applied the foundation for the first time today and it's very liquidy. The match isn't the greatest, but because it's quite sheer, I can get away with it. It blends well and looks very natural, it mostly evened my skintone and covered some redness. The coverage got a bit better when I powdered it. It looks quite matte but it feels like nothing on skin at all. I really like it so far.

I went in for a powder base today and went a little heavy with the contour so I might look a little silly, but at least we'll see how it holds up at the end of the day.


Star of day 1
Star of day 1

List of used products

  • Bell Cosmetics Hypoallergenic Pore Correcting Primer

  • Catrice Fresh It Up Primer

  • Rimmel Lasting Finish 25HR Breathable Foundation, shade 010 light porcelain

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • 183days Loose Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Maybelline Brow Ultra Slim Pencil, shade Blonde

  • Barry M Take a Brow Gel

  • H&M Brow Perfector, shade Caramel

  • P.Louise Base, shade Rumour 02

  • I <3 Revolution Cranberry Chocolate Pallete

  • Zoeva Soft Sun Pallete

  • Bell Cosmetics Hypoallergenic Long Wear Eye Pencil, shade 03

  • Essence Metal Art Lip & Eye Liner, shade 03 coppy right

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • L'Oreal Life's a Peach Blush

  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, shade C-POP

  • L'Oreal Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick Les Macarons, shade 824 Guava Gush

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 12 hours

I am not sure how longlasting this foundation is to be honest, but I came home looking a bit rough to be honest. Majority of the foundation on my cheeks was gone, it's a place where glasses sometimes touch my face, but rarely any foundation comes of by that. I went pretty light with the powder, because I saw a few reviews saying that the foundation is very matte, which I don't think is really true. At least on me, it seemed more like a natural finish. It still felt very good whole day, even when I looked at myself when I got home, it still didn't feel gross and ready to take off, so at least that's a plus. Also, my overdone contour and all the powders were looking very nice and not separated or patchy at all, which is pretty neat.

I'm a little nervous because my face started looking a little irritated and a few blemishes appeared after today, so I may take a few day break before I wear it again. Hopefully it won't break me out because I quite like it and I want to give it a fair shot.

 

Day 2

I decided to go for a cream base today. I applied the foundation with a sponge over a more smoothing and perfecting primer, which isn't too slippery. It went on really nice and had qutie good coverage. Everything applied on top very well, nothing is patchy or budging and even the cream highlighter on top of powders is looking very well and not textured. Let's hope I won't break out again!


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick, shade Sheer

  • Dermacol White Magic Primer

  • Rimmel Lasting Finish 25HR Breathable Foundation, shade 010 light porcelain

  • 183days All-over Concealer, shade 020 All Natural

  • 183days Bake to Perfect Face Baking Powder

  • Lottie London Ready SET! Go Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Milk Makeup Glow Oil Lip + Cheek, shade Glimmer

  • NYX Sculpt and Highlight Brow Contour, shade Soft Brown / Rose

  • NYX Control Freak Eyebrow Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Conspiracy Pallete

  • Lottie London AM to PM Eye Pencil, shade Velvet

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Essence Metal Shock Lip & Eye Liner, shade 04 pink glam

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • NYX 3 Steps to Sculpt Pallete, shade Fair

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 cool medium

  • Lottie London Strobe Stix Creme Highlighter, shade Starstruck

  • RL de Young Strobing Pallete

  • Bershka #hotmatte Liquid Lipstick, shade Rose Meringue

  • Revolution PRO Supreme Hold Finishing Spray


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 9 hours

It wasn't the longest day ever, but I really couldn't stand having makeup on any longer. I think that this primer was a great choice. The foundation does turn a little oily and slippery on me after about 6 hours, but it looked way better today and I also feel like it had a lot better coverage than the first time I wore it. Everything looked really nice when I got home, even the cream blush still looked like it's there and nothing separated or budged. I could use a little powder and my concealer doesn't look the greatest with some blue hue peeking through, but that's not the foundation's fault for sure.




 

Day 3

I am a little pale right now, because I went on a vacation. However, that won't stop me from finishing this wear test! I went in with a little combo of everything. I did a cream contour, many powder products, etc. I applied the foundation with a sponge and I really liked the finish today. I went in a with a little more matte primer (even though the name says illuminating...it's not) and hopefully it will hold well. I also really like this eyeshadow look.


So far everything looks very nice and smooth. The foundation is lighter coverage so I was a little scared to go in with the cream contour. However, it turned out really good. We'll see how it all lasts.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick, shade Sheer

  • Flormar Illuminating Makeup Primer Plus+

  • Rimmel Lasting Finish 25HR Breathable Foundation, shade 010 light porcelain

  • Catrice Instant Awake Concealer, shade 005 Neutral Light

  • e.l.f. Smooth and Set Eye Powder, shade Sheer

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Wand Contour, shade Light Medium

  • Catrice 5 in one Setting Powder, shade 010 Transparent

  • Essence myskin Perfector Loose Fixing Powder, shade 10 Light

  • NYX Build 'Em Up Powder Brow Filler, shade Taupe

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Revolution Cut-crease Canvas, shade Halo

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Conspiracy Pallete

  • Maybelline Masterdrama Lightliner, shade 15 Gold Ray

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • Colourpop Pressed Powder Blush, shade Lunar Has It

  • Fenty Beauty Diamond Bomb, shade How Many Karats?!

  • Revolution PRO Supreme Hold Finishing Spray

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Malice

  • Morphe x Jeffree Star Lip Gloss, shade Star Crown


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 8 hours

I haven't been exercising today, but I've been through a lot working and baking all day. The foundation is still in place and not disrupting, but it's not looking the best. A few hours ago it started feeling tacky to the touch. Maybe more powder would help that, but I'm not a fan of touchups.


Another thing is that the more I wear it the more every powder product shows up. My bronzer looks really intense right now. Also my pores look really nasty right now. Even though I used a porefilling product I use all the time and I love. Touching my face at this stage is a total no-no, everything feels like slipping and lifting if I touch it. I feel like 8 hours are the finish mark for this foundation's weartime.


Overall thought, it's absolutelly still a presentable look. If you slap some powder no top and revive the highlight and the inner corners a little bit, it's still a good look to go for a couple more hours. For a whole night of clubbing? I don't think so.

 

Final thoughts

I was a little on the fence when I first wore this foundation, but the more I wear it the more I like it. The lighter coverage and very lightweight texture is something I enjoy a lot for everyday wear. I am a little bummed about the color, because it doesn't fit me that well, but I can make it work with the right amount of bronzer. However, it blends very nice and everything applies very well on top of it.


If there's any trick with this foundation, it's not using hydrating primers. It's a little drying but also kinda slips around, so you have to find the ballance between the hydration and the longevity. I have a couple primers that are good at doing both of those things and from the wear tests I think you can tell which ones these are.


Overall, I would recommend this as a great everyday foundation, if it suits your skin type and you don't need your face to last an eternity. After about 6-7 hours it starts getting a little tacky and pores are showing up, but it still looks nice and even. More than 10 hours is a no-go, all powders start to look really intense and it's starting to disrupt a little bit. Overall, for a light coverage drugstore foundation it's still pretty good considering a nice 8 hour calm workday without touching your face too much.


Have you tried this foundation and liked it? Let me know in the comments below and thanks for reading!



48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page