top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOX B77 | JAPANESE RITUAL TONER AND SERUM | REVIEW

Revox B77 is a very affordable skincare brand that's carried by xobeauty.cz. Recenty they launched their Japanese Ritual collection.


The Revox B77 is a very affordable skincare brand that focuses on many different types of products and creates a lot of one ingredient products. That reminds me a lot of The Ordinary or The Inkey List but Revox takes it even further and gives us even more affordable products. They are keeping up with the trends and give great affordable options for trying out new ingredients and actives like different acids, retinoids etc.. I own a lot of their products and today I want to look at their newest launch.


The Revox B77 Japanese Ritual collection contains two products, a serum and an essence tonic. Products are inspired by the japanese skincare so they contain rice milk and cherry blossom. As I mentioned, I got them both at xobeauty.cz, the toner retails for 188 Crowns and the serum retails for 175 Crowns.


The Revox B77 Japanese Ritual Tonic Moisturizing Essence reminds me of many products I've tried that were on the edge between a toner and an essence. It's a moisturizing mist that soaks into the skin fast, doesn't leave a residue and contains rice milk, cherry blossom, pomegranate extract and hyaluronic acid. Pomegranate extract helps to reduce sebum production and the other ingredients have mostly moisturizing and anti-aging properties. The tonic comes in a white spray bottle with a very fine mist and you get 120ml of product.


The Revox B77 Japanese Ritual Smoothing Facial Serum is a facial serum that hydrates the skin, contains anti-aging ingredients and smooths and lifts the skin. It contains cherry blossom, hyaluronic acid, allantoin and rice oil. It's designed to keep your skin's optimal moisture level and slow down aging process of the skin. It comes in a glass bottle with a pipette and you get 20ml of product.


Both products smell very nice, they have that typical cherry blossom soft scent to them and I really like it. It really gives me great vibes to just smell the products. In terms of the pricing, the tonic essence seems to be great because you get a lot of product for a very fair price but the serum comes in quite a small bottle so it becomes slightly more expensive that many other serums Revox offers. However, none of them has the same ingredients as this smoothing one so I suppose you pay for the exclusive japanese collection. And even then, it's not that expensive.

 

First impressions

I am a great fan of hydrating toners and essences and I've been using them daily for the past couple months. Now that it's winter and it's very cold outside, my skin is getting very dehydrated and it's hard to keep it somewhat on its normal moisture levels. That's why I like to add more moisture during my skincare routine with spraying products on my face to help add even more moisture.


The Tonic Moisturizing Essence is my step 2 in the morning skincare routine. I don't wash my face in the morning because I don't like stripping it in the morning and because I usually don't have the time. I usually go in with an exfoliating toner or a micelar water and then with a moisturizing toner / essence.


The mist on the essence tonic is fine but also a little aggresive so there's quite a lot of product being sprayed out. You really don't need to push the spray too many times. Just 2-3 sprays are enough to well coat your whole face for sure. The product feels very nice and hydrating on the skin.


The Smoothing Facial Serum fits my daily serum profile perfectly. It's hydrating, contains hyaluronic acid, some nice ingredients as a bonus and it feels great on the skin. It sinks in fast and works well with all other products I put on top. I really like how smooth it makes my skin feel. It almost has a texture you would expect to mattify your skin but it's just smoothing it out with a little veil and hydrates. It has a very natural finish, it's not dewy or shiny on the skin at all.

 

Month of using

After a month of using I am quite confident about my opinions on these products. I've been using the Tonic Moisturizing Essence almost daily. In the morning, it's a great alternative to my other essence when I just want something fast and moisturizing to tone and hydrate the skin. This one is a perfect product for that. Sometimes I use it in my evening routine as well because some products apply really well on damp skin. In that case I will use this in the toning phase to wet the skin and prep it for serums.


The serum is very nice and it's been in the rotation of my morning serums. As I said it's that perfect type of serum that has everything I need in the morning so I just add niacinamide and moisturizer + SPF on top and I'm ready to go. When I feel extra dry this serum isn't quite enough because I prefer serums that are really thick and leave you looking almost glossy. But this one is much better for when I just need a good dose of moisture without drenching my face in a very dewy serum. It's also great before makeup application because it soaks in easily and doesn't fight with primer formulas.

 

Final thoughts

Overall, I wouldn't say that these product changed my skin or made a big difference in my routine but they've been a good addition to my routine and were able to replace a couple products very reliably. I like how affordable and simple they are and I believe these two products are a step up to everyone's routine. If you're not using a toner or any serums, I think these would be a great addition to your routine that won't break the bank. At the same time, these product work really well and have nice ingredients if you want to hydrate the skin and add a little bit of something more into your routine.


The Tonic Essence is a wonderful product, as other spray toners I love to use it in the morning after cleansing/first toning and it feels very nice on and hydrating on the skin. Other products act even better on top of damp skin so I would absolutelly give this one a go, it will fit into any routine.


The Smoothing Facial Serum is a great simple serum. It will hydrate the skin and it does give you a smoother feeling skin, similar to when you apply a nice smoothing primer. I mean one without the silicone feel. That being said I think this would be a very nice serum if you have normal to oily skin as it doesn't leave you looking too dewy or greasy. If you have very dry skin it might not be hydrating enough. For me it was fine in combination with a hydrating toner and a good moisturizer.


Overall, I would recommend both products and I'm really happy that I'm finding so many good affordable products from less known brands. I feel like nobody talks about these.


Do you have any favorite products from Revox? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

4,543 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page