top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION x RACHEL LEARY | GODDESS-ON-THE-GO PALLETE | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Revolution is one of those brands who won't stop giving us epic collaborations. Recently, I ordered some Revolution and other goodies from xobeauty.cz and I found out that their reward system actually includes many of these collaborations, for example this pallete.


The Revolution x Rachel Leary Goddess-on-the-go Face and Shadow Pallete is one of two palletes, which Rachel created with Revolution. This one is more of a travel version, it's smaller than the other one and it has 9 eyeshadows, 2 highlighters, shimmery blush and a contour/bronzer powder. It retails for 349,90 Crowns.



The packaging is a neon coral matte plastic with gold foiled writing. I absolutelly love the aesthetic of the packaging. The pans on the inside surprised me, because the eyeshadows are larger than I thought to be honest. The 4 face product pans are also nice and large. Sometimes in these palletes, I feel like the pans are too small and you cannot really get a big facebrush in the product, but in this case, there's no problem.



The eyeshadows are more warm-toned, which I don't mind. There are 4 shimmers and 5 mattes in total, a good ballance. The shimmers feel very buttery and soft and especially Coconut Latte looks absolutelly stunning and foiled when swatched. The bottom three shimmers all loot very nice as well, but a little too dark for me to put them all over the lid, but we'll see how it goes. The mattes feel very nice and smooth. The shades Peach Please and Straight Fire looks very similar though, maybe on the eye they will differ more. Red Velvet is also a little underwhelming when swatched, the pigmentation is lacking a little bit in that one, but that doesn't mean it won't perform well on the eyes.


The face powders look very nice. The bronzer/contour powder is a very interesting color, it looks like a perfect ballance between cool and warm. The blush is very pink and very shimmery, the first glance tells me I'm not gonna like it, but never judge a blush before you put it on. When you swatch is, you can actually see that it's a duochrome which looks a lot more peachy when swatched. And the two highlighters look stunning, the lighter one is going to work for me well, because I am pretty pale and the darker one would probably work well on the body or if I get a little tan.



 

Look 1

The first look I did with this pallete was fairly simple, I just needed a base for a very shimmery shadow, so I grabbed this pallete. I used the shade Peach Please to create a nice orange warm transition and Sweet like... to create more depth in the outer corner. Then I used a little bit of a brown eye pencil and smoked it out with the same two shades. I applied the Hourglass Scattered Lights eyeshadow all over the lid and the look was pretty much done. I just finished it off with a little bit of black gel liner on the top.


Look 2

This post is probably going to consist of quick looks mostly. I was in a rush today, wanted to look cute so I grabbed the pallete. This is such a simple look and it looks so nice and flattering because of the warm tones.


I used Straight Fire as my base transition on the crease and I deepend it up a little bit with Pucker Up. I didn't expect it to show up as much as it did, together they make such a nice fire base. Then I just packed Chi-chi on the lid and that's it. I added a wing, little cooper pencil on the lower lashline which I blended out with Straight Fire. This look is super quick and simple and the shimmer gives it so much life with the reflects in it. I love this combination of tones.


I also used the bronzing powder Caramel Slice as my bronzer today, it blended fine, but I have to test it over a proper base and not just my powdered skin. I really like the tone of it. And as my highlighter I used the Get It Poppin' highlighter in the pallete and I really like how it looks. It's very smooth and glowy, not glittery at all and it doesn't highlight the texture too much.


Look 3

Today I had a little more time, so I went for a halo eye look. I like that there are enough deep shades in the pallete to actually create a gradient and a halo without needing to dip into another pallete.


I started with Pucker Up, which I blended all over my crease. I then diffused the edges with Peach, Please to add a little warmth. After this outer gradient was complete, I took Sweet Like... on a small flat brush and layed out the halo shape on the lid. I didn't care too much about the blend, the shadow placement was the main concern in this step. After the depth on the lid was good enough, I blended the edges of the created halo with more Pucker Up. I then went back and forth between the brown and the red-ish shade to build the gradiend. I kept a little space free in the middle of the eyelid to create as bright halo as possible. I took Obsessed first to place it on the sides of the halo very carefully. On the very center of the lid I took a very small shader brush and applied Coconut Latte. I decided to use subtle lashes, which don't cover the whole eyelook and a nude eyeliner in the waterline. On the lower lashline I just recreated the three matte shades on the top. I took Sweet Like... right bellow that nude liner, Pucker Up below that and finally smoked it out even lower with Peach, Please.


I also decided to use every face product I could today. Caramel Slice as a bronzer is very nice, but also a little patchy a very pigmented. I prefer a buildable bronzer, but I made it work. Sunkissed blush just isn't my vibe to be honest, it's too shimmery. Maybe in the summer I could see a usecase for it, but to be honest, I'm not feeling it now. Get It Poppin' however is a very nice and blinding highlighter. It's a little icey, so it doesn't match my very warm deep look that well, but I like the look of it.


Look 4

I decided to give the darker colors a little more attention and go for a more vampy and smokey look. Dark shadow sometimes perform worse and don't go on as pigmented, to I wanted to test them out as well.


I started by packing Sweet Like... all over my lid to create the right smokeyness. Even though I used wet sticky base, it didn't go on as dark as I wanted it to. I blended it out with Red Velver, which again, didn't have as much pigment as I hoped and I kept building it up with no results really. After trying for a couple minutes with both of these shades to make them a bit deeper, I gave up. I added a black wing, mascara and a deep wine liner to my lower lashline. I smoked out the bottom with Sweet Like... and then with Red Velvet and used Coconut Latte as my highlighter everywhere. I used Caramel Slice as my bronzer again and on bare skin it goes on a little less patchy but still doesn't blend that well.


To be honest I am not a great fan of this look. The dark shades could've been a lot deeper and more pigmented to really create a nice smokey eye. However, if you're a beginner or if you just don't desire to pack deep purple all over your eye, this might be an advantage for you. It's more difficult to work with very pigmented dark mattes.



Look 5

To give this pallete another shot, I wanted to do something super glam for the last look. I decided to do the classic "rainbow cut-crease" situation. There aren't really rainbow colors in this pallete but it's enough to make a nice gradient.


I am actually quite happy with this sunset gradient I made. I started with Peach, Please in the inner crease, continued with Straight Fire, Pucker Up and Red Velvet until I reached the outer V portion of the eye. I created the final line going from the lid upwards, meeting the colorful crease with Sweet Like... and blended the outer V and lid with Red Velvet and Sweet Like.... The I took a little bit of a very light concealer and cut 2/3 crease. I set the concealer with Coconut Latte and blended the edge between the concealer and the outer corner with Sweet Like.... I then finished off with some mascara, burgundy liner in the waterline and glitter liner in the inner corners on the bottom. Then I smoked out the burgundy liner with Sweet Like... and Red Velvet.

 

Final thoughts

From my perspective I think this pallete is mostly for beginners and people who don't expect miracles from their eyeshadows. The shadows perform fine but the middle row just lacks pigment in my opinion and I get that with different Revolution palletes I have too. The darker shades just go on too light and then you have to re-do the look and it looks messy and muddy instead of smokey and deep...I just don't like that. The rest of the shades worked really well, I really love Peach, Please because it's just the perfect peach eyeshadow. So if you love Revolution shadows from like the Reloaded palletes, you might like these as well. But don't expect Soph Extra Spice quality level.


The face powder are fine. I like the tone of the bronzer, but it just goes on patchy on me and takes more time to blend out and work into the skin. And maybe when travelling I wouldn't mind that so much and I really like the tone of it. The blush is pretty but I don't really see myself using it with the peach tones in the pallete because it translates very pink on me. Maybe if you have a more medium skintone it looks better, I'm not sure. The highlighters are pretty but they don't last well on me. The Get It Poppin' is a beautiful shade and it looks so pretty, but it just fades away in a couple hours every time I wear it.


Overall, I would say it's worth its price and if you don't mind less pigmented dark eyeshadows, less longlasting highlighter and a shimmery blush, it would be a nice pallete for you because it has all in one. But if you need the pigment, like a quick bronzer that goes on by itself and need a higlighter to stay on 15 hours, this might not be it. But the price is very good for how many products you get and I think I might travel with this pallete because it's very nice and sleek and has majority of what I need in my everyday simple makeup.


What are your thoughts on this pallete? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page