top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION | TONES FOR BLONDES | LIME ZEST | REVIEW

The day has finally come...I'm dyeing my hair lime green!


Revolution recently came out with their new haircare and also hair dyes and toners and I could not resist. I ordered multiple things and the reviews will come eventually but today we're focusing on the Revolution Tones for Blondes Non-Permanent Colour Conditioner and Gloss in the shade Lime Zest.


There are 10 shades, the lime green is probably the most exciting one but you get a nice selection of pinks, blues, peach, red and gray. The lime green just stood out to me so I had to give it a shot. You can get it for 297 Crowns and there's 150ml of product in one bottle so keep that in mind if you have very long or very thick hair.


If you practise CGM it might be useful for you to know that these are approved by isitcg.com with minor cautions about some mild cleansers and humectants. These don't contain alcohols or any silicones so they are perfectly fine to be used in your curly hair routine. For a normal non-CGM people, it's good to know that these non-permanent hair dyes won't damage or dry out your hair at all. They are actually pretty conditioning.

 

Application + first impressions

I used one bottle and it was about enough. I always work in sections and really work the color in and comb it through so it's evenly distributed. It's very easy to work with and to apply. The product smells nice and it stained my skin just a little bit. There were no stains on the bathtub or anywhere else, just the skin. I let it sit for 30 minutes as it said on the bottle and I applied it on almost dry hair. I washed my hair right before the dyeing session and just left it in my Aquis turban for 10 minutes which made it almost fully dry. I rinsed it out with just water as recommended and continued with my usual CGM routine. I applied a bunch of styling products and leave-in care and diffused my hair.


The results were pretty damn amazing. I didn't expect it to be this vibrant. I did apply it to "freshly" bleached hair so there was no semi-permanent color on the hairs since I last bleached it. The color is amazing, I love it so much. It looks way better than I expected. It's very even too. In real life it looks more green than in the photos but it looks great.


 

Washing out

One big test for these non-permanent hair dyes is how they wash out. This is the hair after one washing with low-poo shampoo. You can still see the color very much, there's barely any fading. The water was tinted green as I was washing my hair so I was a little worried how much pigment is going to stay but it's still looking very vibrant and green and I love it. Now I'm getting worried how many washes will it take to get it out of my hair. I have high porosity hair and it's been bleached recently so the color will probably stick with me for a little while.


 

Final thoughts

I cannot really speak for multiple shades from the Tones for Blondes range because I've tried just this one so far but I love the color and I love that Revolution brought us something different than just peaches and pinks. I am enjoying rocking this lime hair like I never enjoyed a hair color before and it's looking beautifully. It also barely faded after the first wash.


If you have long hair, I would recommend getting 2 bottles at least. If you have thick but short, one might be enough like it was for me. But you know...better safe than patchy! The application was very easy, the formula is nice and nourishing so your hair really feels well conditioned after you use this semi-permanent color and it's just really fun. I also love that they have a line for brunettes as well. Big thumbs up from me!


Have you tried any fun semi-permanent hair colors? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


407 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page