top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION | SOAP BROW | REVIEW

Brow lamination and soap brows...a trend which we all hate or love depending on the thickness of our brows and fluffiness of our dreams. Everyone has seen it? Good, now I'm here to test it out.


I was too lazy to get my brows laminated and also...it costs pretty much a fortune. Putting perm near my eyes and near to my skin also doesn't feel exactly safe and I've had reactions before on brow dye, so I'm a little scared. For people like me, there's soap to the rescue.


Soap brows have been a thing for quite some time now, but I feel like now they are becoming everyone's thing. In case you're new to this let me explain. Soap brows literally mean that you brush soap through your brow hairs, which makes them put in place and very very fluffy. You can somewhat manage the level of fluff you want, but they will be fluffy.


I personally kind of like this trend, depending on the wearer of it. It looks the best on super thick and bushy brows or just less sparse ones. I always thought I have bushy brows but this trend taught me otherwise. I have very mediocore brows to be honest.


Many brands have been releasing their own spin on the soap brow trend and Revolution couldn't stay behind! So here we are with Soap Brow from Revolution, which is basically just a soap in a tin. It has a very nice rose gold packaging to be fair and it comes with a mirror and a brush, which reminds me of a brush I used to clean my shoes with just very tiny. It's quite a thick brush which looks and feels like a very stiff toothbrush a little bit.


The packaging is quite sleek and nice considering there's a mirror, brush and a soap. You get 5g of product, which doesn't seem like a lot. However, after you use it once you'll know that you probably cannot even get throught the whole soap. You really need just a tiny amount. It was 199 Crowns, which is not really the cheapest, but the packaging feels nice and it's not like you need ten brow soaps, so I took it as an investment.



The instructions say to wet the brush, scrape the soap with it and then brush through your brows. There's a second pair of instructions from everyone on Instagram, which is wetting the soap with any setting spray and then going in with the brush. The second one makes a lot more sense to me, because the brush is very dense and it's hard to wet it enough to pick up the soap and not just white flakes of the soap. That's one problem I see people having with brow soaps, white flakes everywhere. I feel like you can really prevent that if you wet the soap enough. Anyway, let's look at the application.


 

Demo

I thought I might give you a little before and after with the application description, as I feel like this is a product many people struggle with. I will be using the technique which I know thanks to grwrady, who is a great MUA on Instagram and uses soap brows quite often. She made a little stories about how to use the soap brow and her technique works the best for me.


So the first picture is me without anything on my face. My brows need a little shave and care, but whatever, not we need them fluffy. I don't have sparse brows but they have a couple gaps in them and I do fill them in everyday.


Side by side comparison of the final result
Side by side comparison of the final result

I went in with a Mario Badescu Facial Spray, because I had it on hand and I sprayed the soap once. Then I glazed the brush on the soap a couple times and started brushing my hairs in both directions. If you do it like that, it gives a very intense results. It looks a little bit crazy to be honest. But if you press the hairs onto your skin, it holds incredibly. In the middle picture you can see that the brows are very fluffy and spiky and stand right up.


If you feel like a little less could work better, just brush them in one direction and press, or brush them on both and then take a spooley and tone them down a little bit. There are many ways to go and trial and error is probably the best one to go here.


I tried taming them a little bit and applying a brow pencil to add a bit of color and definition to show you a brow I could walk out the door with. Of course, I would do something more to the face, since I think this brow needs a whole look to not seem crazy. That's the look in the most right picture.

 

The struggle

I usually do my brows after I do my base and powder my whole face. With this product it's very complicated to do my brows in this stage, because there's foundation too close to my brows and I usually brush it away around the brows. One option would be doing my brows first, which I don't get either, because how do I draw close enough to the brows? I'm just having a very hard time figuring this out.


Another problem I had is with more products. I have almost blonde brows so I like them fluffy, but I also like them visible and more dark. Applying products after I apply the soap seems to be mixing weird into the formula, the only thing I could make work is a pencil. Applying the soap after brow products makes the products usually smudge and budge in the brow. What do I do?

 

Final thoughts

I feel like this is absolutelly just my fault and I cannot wrap my head around this product. But I really really love this product and the effect it gives me. My brows look so much bushier and fluffier but not too much in weird way. I really enjoy it, but I only wear it on no makeup makeup days, because I just cannot figure out how to incorporate this soap into my routine.


If you have any tips for me, a very struggling individual, please leave them in the comments and let me know how you feel about this trend. Thanks for reading!


588 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page