top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION SKINCARE | REVIEW


I feel like the older I am, the more I get excited by skincare more than by makeup. Maybe it's because I've got so much makeup, there's not much more I want to buy at the moment, but I think we've all, at some point, realized that skincare is important if you want your makeup game to be on point and your skin to be healthy and happy.


I got very VERY excited at the time Revolution announced their skincare line coming. It took me some time to place my first order, because I didn't even know what I wanted. In a sense, it's very similar to The Ordinary skincare, because you have a bunch of serums and glass bottles with familiar ingredients on them and each one is somehow targeted and you don't even realize how many problems you have until you read all the targets. Am I the only one? I don't think so.


Anyway, over the past year (I believe), I collected several products from their skincare range and I've been using all of them for at least 6 months and I even went through more than one bottle of some. So I believe, I can actually give a good review on the products I've tried, because I've been using them in my regular skincare routine for months now.

 

Superfruit Extract

This was the one very instagrammy looking product they launched amongst their first products. Superfruit extract sounded just right and the holographic packaging was just calling my name. You get 30ml of product for 349 Crowns, which is one of the more expensive prices in their skincare in general.


First I was very surprised by the smell, it doesn't smell like fruit AT ALL. My boyfriend called it apple pie and it's a pretty accurate description. It smells very sweet and pastry-like. The color is slightly reflective purple, it doesn't show on the skin. It's also said to be a good makeup primer. I tried it as a primer once and wasn't really into it, but it's probably my favourite serum to this day. I'm finishing my second bottle now and it has changed my skin. I feel like everyone needs to find the right combination of products to have perfect skin and whenever I was using this for a week or more, it was absolutelly visible and noticible. At least for me it was. It was leaving my skin very nourished and hydrated, but it wasn't thick and it soaked right in. I really recommend this, if you struggle to find a good serum and you don't really know what are your skin problems. You probably don't have that serious ones and this will make your skin beautiful.

 

Plumping and Hydrating Solution - 2% Hyaluronic Acid

I always heard about how hyaluronic acid is good for you and brings moisture to your skin from the environment. So I just wanted to try this product to see if it makes any difference. You get 30ml for 199 Crowns, which makes it one of the cheaper products from the skincare range.


It's nice on the skin, it feels hydrated and plumped after using it, but I feel like using a serum with the acid already in it would probably be a little easier, than having an extra bottle of it. If you already use plenty of serums or other products and you want to incorporate hyaluronic acid into your routine, this is probably a good way to go. But if you don't use too much already, I would probably go with a serum that has it in as an ingredient. It sinks in really fast and doesn't smell of anything, so the application is without any trouble, but I don't think I'll be buying it again anytime soon. The ingredient itself I highly recommend and I love having hyaluronic acid in my routine. I currently have it in another serum of mine, maybe when that one runs out and I will be constructing my serum game again, I will consider getting it.

 

Mild Skin Exfoliator - 5% Lactic Acid + Hyaluronic Acid

I've always loved classical peeling with a nice exfoiliator, but this was very new to me and also sounds very scary. Chemical peeling to put on your face? Sounds like a horror movie.


This one is the mildest of all the chemical peelings Revolution has and I was a little scared using it at first. It wasn't irritating my skin, but I had to get used to it a little bit, because my skin just felt a little different, when I used it. Everytime I use it now, I mix it in with a thick anti-ageing serum from Feel Good, which I don't really use on its own, and it works great. They even recommend mixing it in with something, so your skin gets used to it. I started using it more frequently and it really makes a difference. I always use it overnight, just to be clear. The difference is visible mostly in the morning, when I use toner, I can see that there's more dirt and dry skin coming off on the cotton pad and also my skin feels a bit lighter and brighter. It's a nice feeling. I also use it when I have more texture or blemishes and it helps really well.


This one retails for 199 Crowns and you get 30ml of product, which I plenty. I believe you can use it everyday, but I tend to exfoliate about twice a week. I really recommend trying one of the peelings out, even if they seem scary, there's plenty information on the Revolution website, to help you pick the one with right intensity for you.

 

Pink Clay Detoxifying Mask

This mask quickly became one of those I use, when I need something extra. I'm almost out of it and I purchased it sometimes this spring. I own many facemasks, so go through one full mask is a big deal for me. On the website, it says that it's got pink clay and witch hazel, which makes it look like a dupe for the Sand & Sky Pink Clay mask, that was very popular. This one is, of course, much cheaper and I cannot compare them, but this one works really well. There's 50ml, which is good amount, for 279 Crowns. It's supposed to cleanse your pores, calm the skin and hydrate it. Also absorb your oils and leave your skin looking more healthy.


I totally agree with all these statements. It's a very well working mask, I use it when I really want to clean my skin throughoutly. It doesn't dry your skin out as much as other clay masks do, I really like that, but I wouldn't really say I feel too hydrated after using it. I still do a lot of skincare, even after I put on a mask, so it's not a big deal, if it leaves my skin hydrated or not, I will put on my serums and creams and stuff anyway.


I would say that all of the masks in their skincare range are well designed and they describe all of them very well, so you can pick one specifically for your needs. They also have gel masks and peeling masks, which are not as common on the market. I really recommend these, because they're one of my favorite masks.

 

Caffeine Essence Spray

I never used to be too much into face sprays, but recently, I just can't get enough. I think, I'll have to write a post on all the sprays I use and how do I use them, because I think, they're not having enough time in spotlight. Everybody need a facial spray of some kind. This one is also skincare, which I love. There's 100ml for 199 Crowns, which is a good deal, because it will last you for a very long time.


I smells divine, very citrus like and it's supposed to be energizing. It's not an energy drink, but it wakes you up and makes your skin less tired, I agree with that. I usually use this one as a part of my routine, when I want to loosen my face cream or apply SPF and it would ball up on my skin with all the other products I use. I also use it when I come home, remove my makeup, but it's not time for nighttime routine yet. I will just spray this on my face, let it dry a bit, press it in a bit and I feel amazing.


It's not absolutelly necessary to have one of these, but I like it and it gives me a nice feeling of having something extra. There are many brands and many different types of these, but Revolution's facial sprays have more of skincare properties and that's why I like putting them into my skincare routine.

 

Final thoughts

I think that coming out with this skincare range was actually very revolutionary (pun intended). Not many brand offer affordable skincare with this much clear information about ingredients, usage of the products and this many specifically targeted products. If you feel like trying anything from them, I say go for it. I never had a bad skincare product from Revolution. In fact, I buy a lot more skincare than makeup from them. I really wish they put it out in drugstores, so I can just go and get what I want without buying it online.


Have you tried anything from Revolution skincare? Let me know how you liked it in the comments and thanks for reading!

345 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page