top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION PRO | CC PERFECTING FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Revolution makes multiple foundations at this point and I always have a love-hate relationship with them. Some of them are my favorites, some of them don't work for me at all and some of them I wasn't even trying to purchase. However, this one caught my attention, because it's sending out some serious high-end dupe vibes.


The Revolution PRO CC Perfecting Foundation is probably the newest foundation from Revolution's pack of brands. It reminds me a lot of the Estee Lauder new foundation and the IT Cosmetics CC Cream, so I was curious to see what this product is like. It's supposed to be a moisture rich foundation with SFP 30. According to the packaging it's a full coverage foundation with hyaluronic acid, antioxidants and collagen.


On the Revolution website, it says that it's great for dry to combination skin, it's a multitasking product which protects and hydrates the skin. The antioxidants should help reduce any redness and the formula is designed to diffuse any wrinkles. It's also supposed to be lightweight.


This foundation comes in 20 shades, I got the shade F6.5 which is for light-medium skin tones with yellow undertone. I was mostly working with the swatches and the usual F1 I go for just looked too light, so I decided to grab F6.5 as it looked the closest to what I usually purchase in my other foundations.


It comes in a very lux looking packaging. The box is black and gold and also already in the trash, so I won't show you that. But the tube itself it really nice. It's gold with a little transparent stripe, so you can see the product. It's a tube with a pump, which is quite nice. I like that the cap really sits well on the pump so I wouldn't worry about the cap slipping off. You get 26ml of product for 12 Euros, which is not a bad deal.


Right of the bat, I really like the packaging and also the claims. I just hope it won't slip off my face like the Conceal & Hydrate Foundation which just wasn't for me. It was a little too hydrating so we will see if this one acts the same. I am very excited about the SPF in it and about the ingredients, because it looks like a well made skin loving foundation.

 

Wear test

Foundation and concealer applied
Foundation and concealer applied

I decided to apply the foundation with a sponge because it's quite a dewy formula and the sponge can take that down a little bit more than a brush. The coverage is very good, I would say it's full coverage for sure. It doesn't feel cakey on the skin but it does look a little cakey in my opinion. I tried not overapplying it too much, but I'm not sure that went well. I used a cream bronzer, which applied very well on top of it and everything else went on fine.


The foundation is still looking very dewy and a little bit heavy. The matte concealer wasn't probably the best choice of conceaer for this foundation and it's creasing pretty bad. That's also probably because the foundation was pretty much right up my eye, so that wasn't a great placement. Next time, I would try applying less product and maybe use a brush. I feel like brush could distribute the product better and since it's very full coverage it won't sheer out. The shade is pretty much a perfect match though.


Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

List of used products

  • L'Oreal Magical Essence Primer Drops

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • Revolution PRO CC Perfecting Foundation, shade F6.5

  • Jouer Essential High Coverage Concealer, shade Creme Cafe

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade Macchiato

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Bell Cosmetics Brow Modelling Stick, shade 01

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 2

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • JSC x Shane Dawson Conspiracy Pallete

  • P.Louise Base, shade Rumour 2

  • H&M Colour Essence Eye Pencil, shade Grand Cru

  • Magnetic Liner + Lashes from Amazon

  • Revolution Curl Elevation Mascara

  • Milani Silky Matte Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Sun Light

  • NYX Sweet Cheeks Matte Blush, shade Summer Breeze

  • Ofra Highlighter, shade Glazed Donut

  • Wet N Wild Bretman Rock Jungle Rock 3-in-1 Face Mist

  • Burjois Paris Rouge Edition Velvet, shade 04 Peach Club


End of the wear test
End of the wear test

Wear time 9 hours

This one was a challenge. I had a mask on for the majority of the afternoon and I was carrying a pretty heavy shopping spree. After that I had to get another workout, of course, so I was really ready to kiss this review goodbye and try again because I was convinced the foundation is not on my face anymore. Well, I was wrong.


I don't look perfectly intact and the same as I did in the morning, but maybe it looks a bit better. It looks less heavy, maybe it has rubbed off a little bit and it looks a lot less cakey now. I am dewy, but not too much considering how much I've been sweating. There are parts of the foundation gone, mostly around my nose and my mouth but that's partially caused by me having a runny nose all the time and the mask living on my face for a couple hours. It still doesn't feel heavy and cakey and my face feels very hydrated. It didn't even budge between my eyebrows and that's usually a standard when I workout with a more dewy foundation. Overall, I am pretty impressed with the longevity of this CC foundation.


Because it's such a good match you cannot really see the transition from the foundation to my bare skin. That also means that the texture is very thin and not too dry, because usually you can see every missing patch with the more matte foundations and foundations that are a poor match. So pick well, because it's worth it.

 

Final thoughts

I didn't have high hopes to be honest because it just felt too dewy at the start. But this foundation survived a shopping spree involving lifting heavy shopping bags and then on top of that a 45 minute workout. I am impressed.


It is a very hydrating foundation, so I would recommend it if you have more dry skin. I think my dry-skin friends would love it. It doesn't feel heavy on the skin, it's hydrating, it plays well with other products and it looks very natural if you don't apply too much. It can look a little cakey if you go too heavy because it's quite a dewy formula. But if you keep that in your mind, you'll be fine.


I was very impressed with the coverage as well, it's a very full coverage foundation and I think that appliying a little bit can give you a nice natural finish and going totally nuts with it will give you a full glam look. Everything is possible. And you'll always get the antioxidants and hyaluronic acid, which is great for your skin even if you want a full glam moment.


I didn't think I'll like this foundation as much as I do and if you have normal-dry skin I would give it a shot if you're looking for something more hydrating. I definetly prefer this one to the Conceal and Hydrate Foundation. This one is a lot less slippery and looks better on me for sure. Also the coverage is a lot better.


I hope this review helped you if you're looking into getting a new foundation and if you've tried it, let me know what you think about it. Thanks for reading!

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page