top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION | LAMINATE BROW | REVIEW

It's 2021 and the brow lamination cannot be stopped even in this year. I am personally quite a fan of the fluffy brows and the more I wear them the more I struggle to find good products to create them with.

The Revolution Laminate Brow is a 2 in 1 product where you get a brow pencil on one side and brow gel on the other side. I first got the shade Medium Brown because that one seemed the closest to my hair color. But it's actually pretty warm. Another shade I got some time later is the Ash Brown. The Laminate Brow retails for around 230 Crowns. Which is quite fair since you get two products in one.


The pencil is a very thin rectangle, I can almost imagine doing hair-like strokes with it as it's pretty thin. The gel is clear and it has a very small spooley which I really like. You get 0.1g of the pencil and 2ml of the gel. Let me tell you, it looks like a lot more. It comes in 5 shades, but it seems to me that they usually have just 4 and the Ash Brown is missing. It's also cruelty-free and vegan.


I like the sleek packaging a lot, it's very travel friendly as you have two products in one and it doesn't take up much space. According to Revolution website you're supposed to first go in with the pencil and use fine strokes to fill the brows in sparse areas. Then you take the gel and brush up the hairs. If you want more hold and lamination go in with the gel again until it feels right to you.


I am quite sceptical about brow gels at this point because nothing really beats the Nudestix brow gel. I really need a strong hold brow gel and none of the other ones I have are quite enough for me so I'm curious about this one.

 

Application

The pencils are quite thin and it's possible to make nice and thin strokes but it's not as precise as a brow pen for example. The formula is great, you don't need to put much pressure on the pencil and it's nicely pigmented.


One thing I don't get are the shades. I ordered Ash Brown in hopes of getting a more cool-toned pencil because Medium Brown was too warm. Well, plot twist! Ash Brown is pretty much red. Now I can see why noone sells it because that's not ash brown. In the first image, Medium Brown is on the top, Ash Brown on the bottom. In the second image, I applied the Medium Brown on the left side and the Ash Brown is on the right.


The gel is quite thin and the applicator picks up less product than larger spooleys. I think that's why the hold just isn't there after the first gel layer. The layers are pretty thin so if you want more hold to the brow hair you will have to build it. It dries quite fast though and I like that it doesn't dry too fast and too crusty so you can apply multiple layers and still comb through the eyebrows.


Overall, it's very easy to work with and the pencil feels like a good one for a total beginner. It doesn't come out too strong and you have a nice control with it. Even the shape is pretty good as it's not a triangle but rather a rectangle. The gel is nice and I really like how thin it is. I would say the hold is comparable to my favorite NYX Control Freak brow gel. It's very similar but less gulpy and more lightweight.

 

Wear test 21.1.

I just had to put these brows to the test to see how the gel holds up. I applied them after I did my base makeup and used only these two products and an additional spooley for the first comb through. I ended up applying 3 layers of the gel. They seem to be holding up quite fine so we'll see how they last. I went for the shade Medium Brown.


Wear time 10.5 hours

My brow are still in place and they haven't really moved through the day. I can feel the gel on the hairs pretty much the same as in the morning so it's not falling of or fading. I feel like I could've applied a little more brow gel in the tail section because the hairs there are moving a little too much. But overall the brows are still nice and fluffy and the hairs are nicely separated and they look very natural. It's not the most hardcore brow gel in terms of glueing your brows into place but it absolutelly works and I would say it's in the best third of the brow gels I own. The pencil lasted as well, I don't see any oxidation or change of color which is nice.

 

Final thoughts

The Laminate Brow is a great product in my opinion, I am just still a little bummed about the Ash Brown shade. If I look past that, the pencil is nice and I like the shape a lot. It's evenly pigmented, you don't have to press too hard to draw with it and it's possible to get very thin strokes.


The gel has a great spooley applicator, I love that one, and it has very decent hold. You have to apply quite a couple coats to cover all the brows and give them the right fixation. But I usually apply more then one coat of brow gel so I don't mind that at all.


It's affordable and you get 2 good quality products in one which is very handy and I like them both enough to recommend them to anyone who likes that fluffy brow look. You won't really get the feathery soap brows with this but the result is pretty decent and looks a little more natural and less like an animal. The gel isn't strong enough to keep the brows straight up all day for sure. Sadly, because I would love a gel like that for such price. Overall though, I would absolutelly recommend this product.


Have you tried the brow lamination effect? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

259 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page