top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVOLUTION | CONCEAL AND HYDRATE RADIANCE FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Revolution just keeps slaying it in every department possible these days. They started with a rebranding, a concealer, couple incredible palletes, skincare...and now we have a gigantic offer of products that are both affordable and usually pretty amazing.


Their Conceal and Define foundation was a moment for sure. I used it up actually and I quite liked it. But it did become slightly dry on my face when I for it for a very long day. This new addition to the family should prevent that issue.


The Revolution Conceal and Hydrate Radiance Foundation with Hyaluronic Acid is a relatively new foundation from Revolution. I couldn't get myself to buy it, but I thought I might finally try it out. According to Revolution website, this foundation is more suitable for dry skin. It contains hyaluronic acid which makes the face smoother, hydrates and creates a satin finish. It's medium to full coverage and it comes in a glass bottle with a pump. I like how Revolution listenes to the customers and just delivers whatever is requested.


You get 23ml of product, which is less than a standard amount and it costs 315 Crowns. Not the cheapest if I'm being honest. The original Conceal and Define was the same in amount and price. I think they could at least give us the 30ml, I'm pretty sure even the bottle would handle it.


I comes in 50 shades, which is amazing. The shade range looks very well made and balanced. However, Czech eshop only offered 9, so shame on you makeuprevolution.cz you could've done better. I couldn't pick my right shade so I went for F1. It's super pale for me at the moment, but there were no neutral shades at all which were in fair-light category. Quite a shame.


There's also a concealer that goes together with this foundation, but I didn't pick that one up, just because I heard it's similar to the original one. However, I picked up the Conceal and Define Infinite, which is supposed to be super full coverage and blemish fighting formula. So I cannot wait to use that one. Now let's see how this foundation wears.

 

Wear test

Since we're all hopefully social distancing, I won't be doing a three day wear test like usual because I don't really go to work. I still try to do as much as I can to test the makeup properly, but it's more complicated when you're at home. So I'll do just one day and try to focus more on details.


List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Revolution Conceal and Hydrate Radiance Foundation, shade F1

  • Catrice Instant Awake Concealer, shade 005 Neutral Light

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Nudestix Eyebrow Stylus Pencil and Gel, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Morphe 25L Pallete

  • Essence Extreme Lasting Eye Pencil 16h Waterproof, shade 08 rather be a unicorn

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • NYX ombre Blush, shade Code Breaker

  • RL de Young Loose Shimmer Highlighter, shade Lavender

  • Revolution PRO Supreme Hold Finishing Spray

  • Essence Crystal Dreams Tinting Lip Oil, shade 02


I decided to use a primer I use beneath all my foundations, because I just love it and it doesn't disrupt the formula. Everything went on very nice, the cream bronzer especially. I didn't go overboard with the powder, so we'll see how the foundation looks in a couple hours. So far it does remind me of the original Conceal and Define quite a lot by the look of it.


It has very decent decent coverage even applied with a sponge and it blended very well. Just the shade is a little pale for me right now, but I feel like it works with enough bronzer. At least it's the right undertone.


2 hours in: It feels very lightweight and looks pretty smooth. It doesn't feel drying after a couple hours, which is a good sign. And even though I powdered my whole face, on my forehead I can still see a bit of sheen and healthy glow.


5 hours in: In general, large areas of my face look nice but my nose, around my mouth, my chin etc. don't look great. It's looking a little worn out, almost making me look older. It's also settling into my smilelines a little bit. I'll try to touch up a little bit on just one side. It looks less oily and more smooth now but still not great. It's also looking very disrupted around the apples of my cheeks, and pores over there look awful too, even though I used a porefilling primer which usually works well for me.


Wear time 7.5 hours

So I'm not looking the best. After the workout I just couldn't stand my face anymore so I took the makeup of and it wasn't looking great. It just vanished from part of my cheeks and my chin. Overall the area which moves the most while talking is just separated into oblivion. The side I did the touch up on is looking pretty much the same. My forehead feels very tacky and it's bunching up at the root of my nose. And also 7.5 hours is not that long to be honest. I still appreciate that my face doesn't look crusty and doesn't feel dry. I hate when foundations do that. This one just might be a little too slippery for me.


 

Final thoughts

Even though the application, coverage and shade range are great, I don't think this is a foundation for me personally. If you have dry skin, I think this would be just lovely for you. It's a very hydrating formula and it's also very lightweight and comfortable. But if you get oily a lot, it probably won't last long. I don't have a particularly oily skin and it wasn't looking great at the end of the day. So I would recommend it for dry skin people out there or people who really like a nice dewy look and don't really care about the longevity of their makeup.


Have you tried and liked this foundation? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page