top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVLON | PHOTOREADY CANDID GLOW FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Oh man, how much I love testing new foundations. Revlon Photoready Candid Foundation has been a staple in my collection since I tried it for the first time. It's truly one of the foundations I trust the most when I want to look flawless. Today we're looking at her glowy counterpart so let's see how they compare.


The Revlon Photoready Candid Glow Foundation is the glowy sister of the infamous Candid foundation. This one offers light buildable coverage, anti-pollutants and ingredients that block blue light and also antioxidants. It should give you the best dewy skin and be longwearing. It's also formulated without parabens, phthalates, synthetic dyes, and harsh fragrances.


I bought this babe for 280 Crowns at lookfantastic.cz and I was very curious because it sounded like something I could get down with. You get 22ml of product just like in the original and it comes in the same plastic tube with a pump. Just the tube is shiny gold this time. You can see the foundation through the tube and I got the shade 120 Buff. It seems very similar to the original foundation where I have the exact same shade.


It's supposed to be the best foundation for dry skin and the coverage can be built up to medium. It's supposed to be super lightweight and not cakey at all. Also it's non-comedogenic and suitable for sensitive skin. It sounds very versatile.


From the first try I can see that it's light coverage for sure. But it also seems very glowy and more lightweight that you would imagine a glowy foundation to be. When something claims to be dewy it usually means a little oily or just too hydrating. This foundation has an interesting texture and I'm not sure how it's going to behave on my skin.



Now, I do love a good dewy skin moment but I hate the feeling of something wet or sticky on my face and I usually need the makeup to last a very long time so I powder no matter what. This might effect the foundation a little bit since it's a dewy formula that's probably not meant to be loaded with powder but we'll give it a shot anyway.









 

Wear test

As usual I decided to test some cream products as well as powders to see how they work with the foundation. I also wanted to use a more glowy powder to keep that nice natural look. That's hard to do with any powder but well...I've tried.


I applied the foundation with my fuzzy sponge and it's really sheer. It's hard to build it up because the texture just isn't cooperating. It's very nice and dewy and doesn't feel heavy on the skin but in my opinion it's not really meant to be layered. The rest of the products applied fine, it doesn't even look that heavy with powder on top.



List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Dermacol Coco Splash Primer

  • Revlon Photoready Candid Glow Foundation, shade 120 Buff

  • NYX Born To Glow Concealer, shade Vanilla

  • Catrice Glow Illusion Loose Powder

  • 183days Face Baking Powder Collection - Bake to Perfection

  • Essence Brighten Up! Banana Powder

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiato

  • Maybelline Brow Ultra Slim, shade Blonde

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original

  • Jeffree Star Cosmestics x Shane Dawson Conspiracy Pallete

  • KVD Vegan Beauty Creamfoil Longwear Eyeshadow, shade Silver Chrome

  • Catrice Brush Ink Tattoo Liner, shade 010 Black Waterproof

  • Revolution Curl Elevation Mascara

  • NYX Wonder Pencil, shade Medium

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop Pressed Powder Blush, shade Lunar Has It

  • Revolution Bronzer Reloaded, shade Holiday Romance

  • Catrice More Than Glow Highlighter, shade 010 Ultimate Platinum Glaze

  • Barry M All Night Long Makeup Setting Spray

  • Rival Loves Me Kissable Lipgloss, shade 07 never stop

Wear time 11 hours

I have quite mixed feelings about this one. It looked quite nice the whole day and it still feels nice after even more hours. I took the photo and then went for a dinner and came home a couple hours later. And the foundation still looked nice. But there are areas like around my brows and on my forehead where it just doesn't look great. It's caking up a bit and it's budging where I move my face a lot. That's quite unfortunate but also quite usual with hydrating foundations and my skin. Especially when I powder my face, that's where all the budging comes from. But there's not much I can do about it. Overall though it feels nice and doesn't feel like nothing on the skin. But the looks could be a little better.

 

Final thoughts

Overall, I don't think this foundation is truly for me and I don't think it's better than the original Candid foundation. That being said, I think it's still a good quality foundation and there is a place for it for sure. For example, if you have dry skin you might really love it. Or if you don't powder your skin and you love that dewy look.


I think it's well priced and it's worth the money if it's something you're specifically looking for. It's lighter coverage, doesn't build up great but looks nice and feels very lightweight and doesn't irritate my skin even after hours of wear. Also the ingredients are bomb and there are many nice properties this foundation has so if it's something you're looking at and thinking it could be the right one for you, go for it. I will stick with my regular Candid foundation.


Have you tried this foundation? Let me know your glowy thoughts in the comments and thanks for watching!

513 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page