top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

REVLON | PHOTOREADY CANDID FOUNDATION AND CONCEALER | REVIEW

Here I go again, another foundation and concealer set review. I love doing these. Also, I feel like those are the most helpful for people who want to buy both or just one of them, and I have heard only good things about this foundation and concealer to be honest.


Revlon is not a brand I gravitate towards a lot. It's hard to get your hands on Revlon makeup here in Czech Republic, so I never really tried much of their makeup. This foundation came to my attention thanks to Tati, who raved about it on her channel, as well as about the concealer. I looked it up online, if it's possible to purchase them and here we are now.


You can buy both of these products online, I ordered them from elnino.cz which is a well known eshop. The concealer was 120 Crowns and the foundation was 186 Crowns. It's possible to get them online even cheaper, but I prefer retailers I know and trust, so I paid a little more.


PhotoReady Candid Natural Finish Anti-pollution Foundation

That's a long name for a foundation. Anyway, this foundation is promises weightless feel and a natural flawless finish. It comes in 31 shades having a nice range. You get 22ml which is less than a standard amount, so I would appreciate if there was a little more product. It's a medium coverage moisturizing foundation, which is supposed to be longlasting as well. It's formulated without oils, parabens, phthalates, synthetic dyes, and harsh fragrances, which is great. It also contains ingredients which should help your skin against air pollution, blue light and it has antioxidants in it.


It does feel very nice and creamy and medium coverage is a good description in my opinion. I really like natural finish foundations and this one feels very nice on the skin for sure.


I purchased the shade 120 Buff, which has a beautiful neutral undertone, so it's pretty much my perfect match. It comes in a tube with a pump, which seems to be a trend these days for some reason. It's quite a thick formula, so it's a little tricky to get it from the tube once you've used a bit of it. I like that there's a transparent stripe on the packaging so you can actually see the product. If I was to buy it in the store, that would've helped me for sure.


I feel like from all the swatched foundations, this one matches me the most. Considering I ordered it online, that's quite a success.



PhotoReady Candid Antioxidant Concealer

This concealer is supposed to work magic as well as the foundation according to the reviews. It comes in 18 shades and the lightest shades that were available to me were just very off, so I went for the shade 015 Light, even though it's very yellow and very not pale enough. The other shade I could've bought was 005 Fair, but that looked just straight up pink, and I don't enjoy pink concealers.


You get 10ml and the packaging is pretty standard, it's a tube with a classic concealer wand. The shape of the wand is a little unique, but nothing too impressive, it works well. It's supposed to have medium coverage and contains coffeine to depuff undereye area and disguise dark circles. It also contains anti-pollution and anti blue light ingredients and antioxidants to help the skin. It's also recommended for sensitive skin, because it's formulated without oils, parabens, phthalates, synthetic dyes, or harsh fragrances.


Swatched next to my other concealers, it's very yellow and a little darker than I go to. But it really covers the undereye bags nicely and the shade isn't even that dark once it's blended out.

 

Wear test

Since I'm still at home working and not being able to fully go outside (thanks Covid-19...) I will do a one day wear test, trying to cover as many details as possible. I usually do 3 days, but I know this product well because I wear it very often, so I don't think it's going to surprise me that much. I will test the concealer and the foundation at the same time together.


This foundation is just beautiful right as you start applying it. It has a very natural skin-like finish and it looks very smooth. It has high-medium coverage which covers what's necessary but doesn't look like a mask. You can see that on the side-by-side comparison photo (left). I applied about three pumps all over my face with a sponge. I just had a sponge on hand, but this foundation applies well with any applicator pretty much. The pumps on this bottle are way smaller than on my other foundations, so three pumps here mean like a pump and a half on an average foundation.

The concealer is very yellow, blended together with the foundation, you can tell that it doesn't create a yellow cast and it doesn't look too off but I wish they had more shades I could choose from. Still I think it does cover the darkness under my eyes very well. The unpowdered foundation with concealer blended out is in the right photo.


I used a cream bronzer/contour, it blended very well, I decided to blend it with a buffing brush. I powdered my whole face, just like I always do and the base looks very smooth and flawless. Every powder product applied well on top, I went a little ham with the blush because I forgot how pigmented it is, but it's fine. The foundation feels very lightweight and I almost cannot feel it on the skin.


Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Revlon Photoready Candid Foundation, shade 120 Buff

  • Revlon Photoready Candid Concealer, shade 015 Light

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Lottie London Arch Rival Volumising Eyebrow Powder, shade Medium

  • NYX Control Freak Eyebrow Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics x Shane Dawson Conspiracy Pallete

  • Rude Cosmetics City of Flashing Lights Highly Pigmented Retractable Liner, shade Always On

  • Magnetic Liner and Lashes from Amazon

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • NYX 3 steps to sculpt Pallete

  • H&M Pure Radiance Powder Blush, shade Brown Sugar

  • Physician's Formula Mineral Glow Pearls, shade Translucent

  • Revolution PRO Supreme Hold Finishing Spray

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Hey Cardamomma!

  • NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick, shade Hey Cardamomma!


End of the wear test
End of the wear test

Wear time 11.5 hours

This was quite a long day, I did manage to do a quick 30 minute workout, worked up a little sweat and had a whole lot of work to do. My face looks almost perfect. There's a little foundation missing on my chin and on my nose as usual, but it's not budging between my eyebrows, is looks very flawless, not oily or dry at all and still feels amazing. In the photo, I'm a little worn out and I look tired, but IRL the foundation looked flawless. I could go on and wear this for 5 more hours and I think it would still look absolutelly great.


Everything on top of it still looks great, products sit well on top and don't go patchy over time. The concealer is also looking good under the eyes. Since I powdered it, it looks a little dry, but that's because I have quite textured undereyes. Usually every concealer that's not purely hydrating looks quite dry on me. But the blue hue under my eyes is not peaking through more that it did in the morning and it still is quite smooth and not separating.

 

Final thoughts

I honestly think this is one of the most beautiful foundation I ever wore. The coverage is beautiful, not too heavy, it feels lightweight on the skin, it lasts eternity and it works well with anything you put in top. The only con of this foundation is the amount you get and I'm not a big fan of the packaging, but I can get over that, because the foundation is just stunning. It's my go-to foundation for a all-night events and times when I really want to look flawless. The natural finish is to nice, I believe this foundation could suit any skin type.


The concealer it really nice as well, however, I'm not a big fan of the doefoot. It's not a deal breaker, the formula is great and even the 015 Light shade looks good on me and cover darkness under my eyes very well. I just wish I could get another shade, which is more of a request for the eshop I ordered from.


I recommend both of these and I really enjoy wearing them and I actually got a few compliments on my skin when I wore these, which doesn't happen very often. So if you feel like looking flawless and giving your skin a foundation without any bad ingredients, go get it. I really like it.


Have you tried these products? If so, let me know what are your thoughts on them and thanks for reading!

434 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page