top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RARE BEAUTY | SOFT PINCH LIQUID BLUSH | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

One thing I like to do on a holiday is shopping and one thing that usually happens in the summer are new makeup launches. Rare Beauty finally launched in Europe and since there are no displays in Sephora here in Czechia, I had to take advantage of my vacation on Mallorca and explore there.


The Rare Beauty Soft Pinch Liquid Blush is one of many products I bought from Rare Beauty. It's a liquid blush that's supposed to be weightless, longlasting, buildable and blendable for that nice healthy flush of color. It comes in 2 different finishes and 8 shades in total. I have the shade Bliss which has a matte finish. It retails for $20 and it's cruelty-free, vegan, paraben-free and suitable for sensitive skin.


It comes in the same packaging as their concealer so you get a nice big doefoot to apply the product. The bottle is frosted glass or plastic, I cannot really tell and the lid is gold. You get 7.5 ml of product. The formula contains white water lily, lotus and gardenia to nourish and calm the skin. But it also contains a huge dose of pigmentation. This blush is incredibly pigmented. You really need just a dot and even that might be too much. I went with the shade Bliss because it was the lightest and it seemed the most "workable" to me.


I appreciate the shade range because there are many beautiful and vibrant colors that are going to work on any skintone. That means that the pigmentation just has to be extremly high and when you work with these as a pale skin owner, you have to be very cautious of where and how much you put down.


The formula is matte but it's not a totally flat matte. It dries quite fast but it still gives you nice time to work. I do enjoy that it dries down fully and doesn't transfer at all. It's a little tricky to apply to be honest and it took me a several tries. and fails to see how it works the best. Since it's heavily pigmented it's very easy to go overboard with it. I usually like to put it on the back of my hand or on a palette and work a tiny bit into my small stippling brush. Then I tap some off and then go in. It's good to take it slow and little by little rather than dotting it on your face and then being desperate for some makeup wipes. (Just kidding, we don't use these here.)


I feel like a lot of people give these blushes bad reviews just because they don't apply them correctly or don't apply the right amount. I've seen it in many review videos and on Instagram and sometimes you just have to try a little to get the full benefit of the product.

 

Wear test

Liquid blushes tend to fade quite quickly to that is the main focus of the wear test. We are looking for any patchiness or fading through the day. I applied the liquid blush on top of unset foundation with my small stippling brush and it looks very natural just like a flush of color.


List of used products

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • Fenty Beauty Eaze Drop Blurring Skin Tint, shade 2

  • Catrice True Skin High Cover Concealer, shade 002 Neutral Ivory

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Luminous Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Rare Beauty Soft Pinch Liqudi Blush, shade Bliss

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Matte & Glow Bronzer, shade 10 Cocoa-cool

  • H&M Illuminating Lustre Powder, shade Delicate Pearl

  • NYX Lift & Snatch! Brow Tint Pen, shade Ash Brown

  • s.he Lash & Brow Styler Gel

  • NYX Ultimate Shadow & Liner Primer, shade Light

  • NYX Sex Education Magic Maker Palette

  • Rival Loves Me Happiness Liquid Eyeshadow, shade Happy Mood

  • Essence Longlasting Eye Pencil, shade 33 Snow Queen

  • Rare Beauty Perfect Strokes Matte Liquid Eyeliner

  • Essence Bye Bye Panda Eyes! Mascara

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Helsinki

  • Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb, shade Ruby Milk

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

Wear time 8 hours

I just hate how liquid blushes and blushes in general photograph. It is impossible to take a picture of your blush without going overboard with it. But I tried and in person the blush looks a tiny bit faded but still very much there. It's a very natural color so its presence kind of softens as you wear it because it starts to look more and more just like you naturally flushing. But it's still there and I love the way it looks.


There's no patchiness happening, everything looks nice and smooth. The formula is great at staying on and looking really blurred. It does kind of reminds me of the Made By Mitchell BLURSH formula where it's also very blurring and smooth and dries matte. It also applies really well on top of powder. It's just a magical blush formula, both of them are.

 

Final thoughts

The Rare Beauty Soft Pinch blush has been one of my faves all summer. I travelled with it pretty much everywhere and the formula is just on point. I find it incredibly easy to work with and blend. It applies really well on top of powder and creams and even the price seems quite reasonable since you really use only a very small amount.


It's nice peachy pink shade that it very flattering on my skintone for sure. I am a little sad that there aren't more brown-toned or mauve blushes as well. But there are some nice bright colors so I guess you cannot have everything.


I would recommend this shade in particular because it's in the matte formula, it's very blurring and easy to work with and it's not too in your face of a shade. So it looks very natural and it's just very good beginner blush in my opinion.


Have you tried any Rare Beauty blushes? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

670 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page