top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

RARE BEAUTY | LIQUID TOUCH WEIGHTLESS FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

I actually bought this foundation in early June but I didn't have enough time to write down a full post about it since then so here we go.


The Rare Beauty Liquid Touch Weightless Foundation was quite popular once it launched in the US. Now we finally have Rare Beauty in Europe and we can see what it's all about. The foundation is a lightweight serum foundation formula with buildable medium coverage for breathable wear. It comes in 48 shades, I have the shade 130N which is my perfect match. So we can see that the shade range is pretty great. It retails for $29. It's cruelty-free, vegan, noncomedogenic and paraben-free. It's also suitable for sensitive skin.


It comes in a plastic bottle with a large doefoot. I am not exactly against this type of applicator and it makes it fast to use. It should even out the skin tone and blur pores as well. A little goes a long way and the Rare Beauty website says that one dot of the foundation should be enough to cover your whole face.


It contains lotus, gardenia and white water lilly to soothe and calm the skin. It also contains sunflower seed oil and to be honest the formula is a little on the oily side even if you shake it really well. Which is something you're supposed to do anyway. It is supposed to be formulated for normal to combination skin but I find it quite enough hydrating even on my oily skin.


With the foundation there was also a launch of the concealer which I own but also a foundation and concealer brushes. The foundation brush it just amazing and it's probably my current favorite brush in my collection so use. It's also perfect for concealer because of its shape so I am very happy with it. Just thought I'd mention it if you think about getting it.






 

Wear test

I wore this foundation about 10 times for sure and I am pretty settled on my opinion about it but let's give it a good ol' wear test anyway. I applied it with a brush after dotting it on my face. It applies nicely and not streaky but it is quite a dewy formula. It is almost like a tinted serum. It's very lightweight and hydrating. The coverage is light to medium for me but it depends on how much you apply. I find it hard to build in layers because it gets a little too slippery so if I need more coverage I start off with more product and don't try to pile it on in layers.


List of used products

  • Catrice Clean ID Pore Perfecting Primer

  • L'Oreal Infallible Magic Essence Drops

  • Rare Beauty Liquid Touch Weightless Foundation, shade 130N

  • Rare Beauty Liquid Touch Brightening Concealer, shade 130N

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Wand Contour, shade Light Medium

  • Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Setting Powder, shade 1

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Lime Crime Bushy Brow Precision Pen, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Fenty Beauty Brow MVP Sculpting Brow Wax Pencil & Styler

  • s.he Lash & Brow Styler Gel

  • Catrice Waterproof Eyeshadow Primer Mattifying

  • Pat McGrath Venus in Fleurs Luxe Quad: Voyeuristic Vixen

  • Melt Cosmetics Millenial Pinx Palette

  • MacQueen New York Waterproof Pen Eyeliner, shade no. 3 brown black

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 910 Bold Brown

  • Rare Beauty Perfect Strokes Mascara

  • Ilia Nightlite Bronzing Powder, shade Drawn In

  • Pat McGrath Skin Fetish: Divine Blush, shade Nude Venus

  • Lottie London Shimmer Squad Highlighter, shade the bff

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist


Wear time 13 hours

The first photo was taken in my office after one hour of travelling to work in a mask. It wasn't the best but it was holding up really well. It was very hot today and I kept putting my mask on and off the whole day so the makeup suffered...as you can imagine. One great advantage of this foundation is that it keeps my face hydrated. Like REALLY hydrated. Laura Mercier setting powder is one of the most drying powders I've ever used and I still look hydrated even not after hours and hours of wear. My face usually doesn't react to makeup like that. Another great thing about it is that it still looks like skin and it doesn't have the look of a mask. It's very natural and skin-like in terms of texture and finish as well. It does separate during the day, mostly because of the mask but also when you touch your face too much. The separation isn't too bad, it could be fixed with a touch up probably but I don't do these.

The second photo doesn't look the best but it does not feel gross or heavy at all. My skin is still hydrated, still feels very lightweight even though it's been through a whole lot and I could do a couple more hours in this makeup if needed. But yeah...I touch up would be good here.

 

Final thoughts

I've been using this foundation for months at this point and I have quite mixed feelings about it. I really like the texture and the finish and the amount of coverage it has is just enough for me. I don't mind the applicator and I really like the packaging and the shade range. Even the price is doable to me for a high-end foundation. It's very lightweight and if you have dry to normal skin and you like a more natural light coverage finish, this will last you a lifetime.

I probably wouldn't recommend this foundation if you have oily skin because it does go on quite oily and if truly keeps the face moisturized even under powder so that may not be a desired effect for you. I really appreciate it personally because my face really gets dry and crusty through the day.

The longevity of it is not the best but it can get you through solid 5-7 hours of wear. I wouldn't pick it as my "going out" foundation because it doesn't handle sweating and oils that well. But as my everyday foundation with light-medium coverage and incredibly beautiful natural finish that will keep me hydrated...it's perfect.


Have you tried anything from Rare Beauty? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,436 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page