top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

PASTELS BY BEAUTY BAY PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

Beauty Bay has launch many products including skincare, beauty tools and all kinds of makeup. Their eyeshadow pallete are quite a hit and this is a new trendy addition to their range.


The Pastels Pallete by Beauty Bay is a relativelly new eyeshadow pallete launch from Beauty Bay. It came out just in time when the pastels were all the hype. It retails for 12 Euros and it was gone almost instantly after the launch. It contains 8 matte pastel shades and the pallete also has a mirror. The shadows are actually pressed pigments. Seems like a good deal so far. The pallete is vegan and also cruelty-free.








The shades descriptions on the website are:

  • Cloud Free – A sky blue

  • Euphoria – A lilac purple

  • Daze – A turquoise green

  • First Light – A yellow

  • Golden Hour – An orange

  • Serenity – A lime green

  • Lovesick – A pink toned purple

  • Day Dream – A lavender purple

I would say that the description is very accurate. It's just a little tricky to tell how the shades looks on the lid because it has to be darker in the pan in order to even show up. The pigmentation on these is really nice. They feel a little bit chalky but there's not much fallout and overall they are quite soft and easy to work with. Some of them are better in texture than others but that's usually the case.


Pastel shades are really hard to make because you need enough payout for the shadow to show up but you need to keep it very soft and muted. It must be a tricky process to create such pallete.


It's really something different when you use these. I am used to very pigmented and quite dark and vibrant shades so I wasn't sure what to think at first. The more I used it the more I realized that this pallete is different and I wanted pastels and I'm getting pastels but I'm just not used to the effect. But in fact I am getting exactly what I wanted without even realizing it.


That's probably the biggest drawback of this pallete. Your own brain's perception of "usual" eyeshadows. If you know what you're getting and you truly want the pastel wash of color you will be nicely surprised. Don't get me wrong, the shades are still very pigmented and go on very smooth and with even application. I would recommend using a base with these because they pop a lot more on a sticky base. Over anything sticky they still go on very nicely and smoothly. But it's not the usual payoff you get with eyeshadows.

 

Look 1

I started with Cloud Free all over the lid and also all over my crease. I felt like something's missing so I started messing with some water-activated liners and added dashed neon orange and white lined in my crease. To that I added a black wing and baby blue matte gel liner to my lower lashline.


Look 2

All looks with this pallete are probably going to be pretty simple and this one is no exception. I felt in a mood for something pink so here's a pink look.


I started with a very pale eyeshadow primer. I took Lovesick on a blending crease brush and blende it well...all over the crease. On the lid I took just a Colourpop Supershock in Bloomer with my finger. On the bottom I put paster pink liner in my waterline and buffed it out with more Lovesick.


Look 3

In this look I wanted Daze to be the main star. I placed it all over the lid and into the crease and added a black wing with little bits of white graphic liner.


Look 4

Once again, a very simple look. I took First Light on a blending brush and placed it all over the first half of my eye. The second half got taken over by Golden Hour blended slightly into a wing. I added a dark brown baby winged liner and brown mascara and added some pastel orange gel liner into my waterline.


Look 5

I got some gems in the mail so I really had to give them a shot. And I thought that Daydream might be the perfect shade for some abstract diamond art. I blended Daydream everywhere, the lid and the crease. I buffed a dark grey shimmery liquid shadow near the lashed to kind of simulate a liner and I started placing the gems. I did just one eye because I took me ages but I really like those.

 

Final thoughts

If you're looking for a pastel pallete, look no more. This one is amazing, very affordable and performs great. I've had it for a while now and I am surprised by how much I've used it compared to my other palletes. It's becoming a go-to when I need something super quick.


If you're into monochromatic moments or just like a good muted wash of color, this is going to be the pallete for you. In a way it really pushes me into being more creative as it doesn't give me punches of color that can take over the whole look and it's great for experimenting with a different type of looks.


Overall, I don't think there's enough palletes on the market and the pastels make a comeback every once in a while so it's a nice pallete to have in your collection. It's convinient, easy to use, good quality and it doesn't break the bank.


Have you tried any eyeshadow palletes from By BeautyBay? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page