top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | THE MARSHMELLOW PRIMER | REVIEW

Another day, another viral makeup product on TikTok and this time we're looking at a pink primer.


The NYX The Marshmellow Primer is one of their newest primer launches as they launched a couple new primers recently. This one has been the most hyped up one for sure. It's supposed to be a 10 in 1 multitasking smoothing primer with marshmellow root extract. It's a whipped texture that dries transparent so it's suitable for all skin tones. It's also vegan and cruelty-free. I bought it from Douglas for 344 Crowns on sale, usually it's around 459 Crowns and you can also get it in Rossmann drugstore.


The primer comes in a pink plastic bottle with a thin pump and you get 30ml of product. The formula is very whipped and feels quite lightweight. As you dispense the product it has a light pink tint to it but it does blend out clear. It smells very nice, it reminds me of some candy I used to eat as a kid, not marshmellows at all though. The scent isn't too strong but it's there.


The 10 in 1 this primer claims to do are smoothing, blurring, softening, extending makeup wear, hydrating, soothing, evening tone, minimizing texture, adding a soft focus finish and keeping the makeup fresh. It's also silicone-free. The claims seem to be a little repetitive but overall it sounds like a nice all-in-one primer formula that might suit my needs. NYX primers are pretty on point from what I've tried so I'm excited to give it a shot.






 

Wear test

I decided to wear my favorite BB cream to see how it reacts with the primer and to see if its weartime changes. It's one of my favorites so I know very well how it performs on its own and with different primers. I also decided to use a couple cream products.


The primer went on just fine, I used about 4-5 pumps because it's a thick whipped texture so the pumps don't contain a lot of product and also my face is large. The primer has an interesting texture where it feels very moisturizing and smoothing and almost "filling" at the same time. I usually know texture like this from matte primers but this one gives me some hydration for sure. It sinked into my skin really well and everything applied on top of it just fine.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • NYX The Marshmellow Primer

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydro BB Cream, shade 010 Light

  • Essence Stay Natural+ Concealer, shade 30 ashy nude

  • Essence Brighten Up! Banana Powder

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Powder, shade Rose

  • NYX #nofilter Finishing Powder, shade Porcelain

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow, shade 1

  • Benefit Gimme Brow!, shade 1

  • Benefit 24hour Brow Setter

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original

  • Rude Cosmetics Roaring 20's Reckless Palette

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Liner, shade Black

  • Rival Loves Me Never Seen Before Mascara, shade Black

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Amethyst Hour

  • Fair Lashes Glue Liner

  • Kiss Lashes in style Little Black Dress

  • Revolution Bronzer Reloaded, shade Holiday Romance

  • Catrice More Than Glow Highlighter, shade 010 Ultimate Platinum Glaze

  • I Heart Revolution Green Tea Fixing Spray

  • Sephora Glossed, shade 20 witty

Wear time 9 hours

Overall I would say my complexion looks quite nice. It's a little disrupted which is just my own fault because I've had runny nose all day. When I skip the center of my face, everywhere else the base looks pretty smooth and nice without any separation or dryness. I would say the primer did help to hydrate my skin a bit. I was outside in -10 degrees Celsius for quite some time and my skin doesn't feel as dry as it normally would. I feel like my face would normally be a little more dry and separated for sure. The first impression of this primer is pretty good.


 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this primer for a couple weeks and I do enjoy using it but I found out that when it's really dry outside it doesn't keep up with my skin and my foundation starts to separate really fast. But we're talking -20°C which is not excatly a usual temperature for me.


Other than that I like the feeling of the primer on my skin as it's not too slippery and it does still feel like a moisurizer. I prefer it more with natural finish and matte foundations. Majority of my tinted moisturizers and dewy foundations don't last well on this primer for some reason. I think it would be really nice for normal and oily/combo skin because it doesn't make you shiny and oily but it still hydrates. For dry skin I'm not too sure becuase I have only localy dry skin but I don't think it's quite hydrating enough if you have very dehydrated skin. To be honest, this primer is confusing me a little bit.


This product is very hyped up and that's also why I wanted to try it. NYX does some amazing primers and this one is up there with my favorites but I still prefer the Honey Dew Me Up Primer for sure. That one is more lightweight and more moisturizing. I also prefer the slidy light texture over this whipped formula. For some reason my skin doesn't always agree with a whipped primer/foundation.


That being said it's a nice product and I use it quite often these days but not when I need a lot of hydration or when I really want my makeup to stay on for 10+ hours. This primer just doesn't do it for me in those cases. When I need something quick and smoothing to wear on its own/under concealer or when I don't really need to worry abour wear time, this primer is a great option. I still have a little mixed feelings about it but I don't think it's a bad primer at all. It just needs the right usecase and for my skin type right now...that's a little tricky to find.


Have you tried the Marshmellow primer? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,506 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page