top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | PLUMP RIGHT BACK PLUMPING SERUM + PRIMER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Gripping primers have been around for a minute and they are getting more and more popular with each released one. Is this one from NYX with electrolytes the one you should get? Let's check it out.


The NYX Plump Right Back Plumping Serum + Primer is a lightweight makeup base that extends makeup wear while hydrating and plumping your skin. It's supposed to be gripping, hold makeup in place all day and make you look fresh and glowy. It's vegan, cruelty-free and contains many interesting ingredients such as electrolytes, hyaluronic acid, vitamin E, B5, magnesium and potassium. It's supposed to be suitable for every skin type. It retails for $17.


It comes in a pretty cool neon yellow packaging with a pump, it's the same bottle that can be seen at different NYX primers. The texture is like a thick gel and it's clear. It's easier to spread than other gripping primers I've tried (I'm looking at you e.l.f.). It feels nice and hydrating on the skin but also quite sticky. My skin is rather dry and I like to wear primers that hydrate for a long time so my makeup stays looking good for longer. Even thought it is sticky once you spread it and let it set, it doesn't feel heavy or uncomfortable. It's a very nice texture with a gripping finish. I haven't seen many primers like this.


I am not sure about the benefits of electrolytes in makeup or skincare but the whole campaign around this electrolyte heavy launch has been pretty cute and I was honestly just curious because NYX makes very good primers. The price is not the lowest and primers are some of their more pricey products but they are usually worth it.

 

Wear test

The primer is supposed to smooth out the skin and prep it for extended makeup wear. Right upon application I can tell that it's a gripping primer because it's very sticky. I am not sure if I would wear this on its own. It's not too thick and it doesn't feel heavy on the skin which is a plus. My face also feels quite hydrated so my hopes are quite high up. The primer gets a little difficult to spread if you don't apply enough or if you let it dry so you have to work fast and know how much to use.


List of used products

  • Catrice Clean ID Pore Perfecting Primer

  • NYX Plump Right Back Plumping Serum + Primer

  • Essence Hydro Hero 24H Hydrating Tinted Cream, shade 05 Natural Ivory

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 10 light ivory

  • Kiko Milano Mood Boost Perfecting Powder

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Powder Luminous, shade Translucent

  • L.YS Higher Standard Satin Matte Cream Blush, shade Kindness

  • L.YS No Limits Matte Bronzer, shade Motivate (Light)

  • Essence Glowing Golds Vitamin C Baked Highlighter

  • Kiko Milano Wonder Woman Power Last Duo Define & Fix Brows, shade 01

  • Sigma Eyeshadow Base Primer, shade Ignite

  • Revolution x Soph Mini Spice Palette

  • Colourpop x Raw Beauty Kristi BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Woodsy

  • Rival Loves Me Happiness Liquid Eyeshadow, shade 01 Good Vibes

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner, shade Black + Rich Brown

  • Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

  • Catrice Clean ID Glow Prime & Fix Spray

  • Fenty Beauty Slip Shine Sheer Shiny Lipstick, shade 05 Glazed

Wear time 9 hours

This wear test was not the best example of the performance of this primer, however, it did help the skin tint wear way better than it does with other primers. The bottom half of my face doesn't look very good mostly because of my constant face touching and mask wearing. BUT! The top half of my face looks very good and still very much hydrated and not budging which usually comes down to a good primer for me. Without this primer this skin tint looks way worse, so I would confirm that it does prolong makeup wear and I cannot wait to test it out with more foundations.

 

Final thoughts

Since I started writing this post and purchased this primer I managed to use it up. It became my number one primer, my tride and true that never lets me down and it worked with every single foundation I tried. Its texture is really incredible as it does provide the tacky finish of a gripping primer but hydrates enough to make my dry face happy.


Another great plus is the quite thin texture that spreads evenly across the face and creates a smooth even canvas. Some gripping primers make patches with more product and don't distribute evenly because of the gripping texture but this one works like a charm.


There's really not much to say, the empty bottle in the pictures speaks for itself. This right here is the best primer I've even used in terms of hydrating gripping primers and I stand by it. I will probably repurchase it and I cannot recommend it enough. I am not sure about different skin types but my dry and normal skin patches were both very happy with it. I assume that the hydration, no oiliness and good grip could be good for oily skin as well but I cannot be sure as I don't have oily skin at the moment. What I do know though, is that this is my new ride or die primer.

743 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page