top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | ON THE RISE LASH BOOSTER MASCARA | REVIEW

At this point of collecting makeup I get interested in any product I haven't heard of or haven't used. Lash primers were a big thing multiple times in the past and NYX came out with their own spin on the good ol' lash primer.


The NYX On The Rise Lash Booster Mascara is supposed to intensify length and volume of your lashes. It's infused with castor oil for conditioning and it has grey-black color to increase intensity of any mascara or your natural lashes. You can wear it on its own or with any mascara you want. It retails for 299 Crowns on douglas.cz where I got it and you get 10ml of product.


The packaging is very simple, it's just a baby pink tube of mascara with a black lid. The wand has bristles but it doesn't have the same shape as the NYX On The Rise Mascara. This one has the same thickness from all sides. The product itself it quite clumpy and thick and you cannot really see the wand well.


Side by side comparison

First I wanted to see a difference compared to my natural lashes. I applied just the booster on one side to see the difference and the lashes were longer and more voluminous for sure. They also started to clump together really fast. I did one coat and then went lightly over it (just like when you apply mascara) and the clumps were forming almost instantly. I am not really into that look because I have a lot of lashes so I would prefer separating them a bit more.


I added one of my trusty mascaras that works for me well but has a very sublte effect and just lifts my lashes a bit as you can see on the right side at two last pictures. With the booster there was obviously a difference because the booster is basically a mascara. However the lashes were looking pretty long and thick. They felt a little heavy but that didn't really surprise me because the booster didn't promise to be lightweight formula or anything like that and it also contains castor oil which is a pretty heavy oil.

 

Wear test

I decided to do a little wear test with this lash booster and a mascara that I know well so I can compare the wear time / behaviour of it. I started with applying the booster and mascara after I did my setting spray to avoid any possible smudging early. I applied about 1 coat of the On The Rise Lash Booster which made my lashes a bit longer but also a lot clumpier than they usually are. I applied it on the bottom as well and let it dry down for a bit. Then I went in with the L'Oreal Air Volume Mega Mascara which does give me volume but doesn't really give me length or curl much. It went on fine and my lashes were longer than usual but the clumpy look is throwing me off a little bit to be honest.


List of used product

  • NYX On The Rise Lash Booster

  • L'Oreal Air Volume Mega Mascara, shade Black

Wear time 10.5 hours

I don't have bad experiences with the mascara by itself so I was happy to see that there was no flaking or transfering through the day. The lashes were slightly annoying because as they were coated in product they started falling into my eyes after about 5 hours but that happens quite often to me because I have too many lashes and they just get heavy. Other than that I feel like the length and the volume held up and my lashes look the same as they did in the morning. I am not the biggest fan of the clumpy look but at least it lasted really well.


In the left picture, there's me at the start of the day and in the right picture you can see the lashes after 10.5 hours. I would say they held up really well.

 

Final thoughts

I've used this product many, many times now and I am honestly not the biggest fan. I like the idea of a lash primer but this is just too much in my opinion. It's very clumpy and wet and it's hard to put on without any additional mess. It dries down quite crusty and it's difficult for me sometimes to apply another mascara on top. I quite like the effect is gives me but to be honest I cannot achieve the same result every application. It's quite unpredictable and not that easy to work with.


To me if feels like an extra step that doesn't reward you that much and so if you have a great mascara I would say you do not need this product. It only going to make it more clumpy. If you have fine lashes or very sparse lashes maybe it will be a nice product for you but if you have dense lashes it won't do that much for you and it will only clump them together in hopes of a slightly better volume and length. The longevity of the product is fine, it doesn't flake or smudge through the day...I just feel like it's very unnecessary.


Have you tried any nice lash primers? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

386 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page