top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | BARE WITH ME | WEAR TEST

Hello there, as I promised in my other post about this new NYX collection, I will be doing a full wear test of everything that I grabber. More about that and more information about the actual products are again, in this post.


Now let's get down to the real bussiness! I hate when people do wear test on a foundation and in a video they just put in on once. Or even in a blog post, they do one day. To be honest if I judged my foundations based on one day of wearing I would probably love all of them the same. There are just things that don't happen sometimes and proper testing requires a little bit of work. This is the only reason I do this, because I haven't found many useful reviews and wear tests like this when I needed them. So let's get to it.

Just a heads-up, I have more normal to combo skin. I get I little oily in my forehead, my chin and sometimes around my nose. The bigger problem for me is that I touch my face quite a lot during the day and I constantly have stuffy nose so blowing my nose almost every day just goes in the review as well.

I am sorry in advance for the quality of my pictures, I don't have a very good camera so I at least try to compensate with ringlight usage sometimes. However we science here, real testing and real experience and I am not here to take pretty product pictures, I am here to find out the real deal with the products so...there are plenty pretty pictures somewhere else probably. Also I get tired at the end of the day and I look like crap, but well...Let's go!

 

Day 1

On the first day I wanted to do as classical routine to me as possible to check out, if the products act well as a part of my normal routine. I won't be getting deep into my prep/skincare routine because that is the same everyday and it does not effect my makeup durability in any way.

Here's a full list of products used on my face:

  • NYX Bare with Me Hydrating Jelly Primer

  • NYX Bare with Me Tinted Skin Veil, shade: Vanilla Nude

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade: Peach

  • NYX Can't Stop Won't Stop Concealer, shade: Fair

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade: True Translucent

  • Catrice Brow Colorist, shade: 030

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Revolution I am Pretty Strong Eyeshadow Pallete

  • NYX Midnight Chaos Dual-ended Eyeliner, shade: Black / Mysticalism

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner, shade: black

  • NYX Worth the Hype Mascara

  • NYX 3 Steps to Sculps, shade: light

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade: Bronzer

  • Lottie London Blush Crush, shade: Drake

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

The primer jelly went on really nice. It feels a little cooling and refreshing and leaves the skin a little tacky while feeling very hydrating. A pretty good sensation to me.

The tinted skin veil comes out of the tube a little thicker than I expected but it blended seamlessly and felt like nothing on the skin. The finish is satin and very skin-like. The coverage is light as expected but can build up in targeted areas nicely.

It did play well with my favourite powder and all the other powder products went on top without any problems. The only problem I had was with the concealer. It is quite a thick one and at the end of the day I felt like it's dragging my undereyes a little bit lower than when I use it with my other foundations.

I don't really have anything to say about the multitasking spray. It felt and smelled nice.


Nearing the end of day 1
Nearing the end of day 1

Wear time: 12 hours

End of the day thoughts

  • slightly separated between my brows and on my chin

  • separating foundation not very visible thanks to light coverage

  • my bronzer, contour, blush...did not started patching AT ALL (happens a lot with other foundations)

  • area around my blemish looks a little dry







 

Day 2

Everything went fine the first day so I thought, that we may give our products a go with some more "difficult" products. So I went and grabbed my cream products. I have foundations which don't play well with cream contour and cream blush, so I decided to put this one to the test. Also I wanted to go with a concealer which is less thick.

Full list of used products:


  • NYX Bare with Me Hydrating Jelly Primer

  • NYX Bare with Me Tinted Skin Veil, shade: Vanilla Nude

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade: Peach

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade: 05

  • Fenty Beauty Match Stix Matte Skinstick, shade: Amber

  • Essence Good Vibes Good Memories Liquid Blush and Highlighter, shade: bloom day by day

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade: True Translucent

  • Bershka #closethegap Brow Pencil, shade: Mocha

  • Catrice Brow Colorist, shade: 030

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • I <3 Revolution That's What I call 80's Eyeshadow Pallete

  • NYX Glitter Goals Cream Quadrio Pallete, shade: Glacier

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster Eyeliner, shade: Total Black

  • NYX Worth the Hype Mascara

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade: Sparkle Green

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade: Bronzer

  • Bershka #mermaidness Liquid Highlighter, shade: siren crew

  • Revolution SophxRevolution Highlighter Pallete

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick, shade: Deceased

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

First of all...the blush is WILD. I've never used a cream blush before and damn...that really shows up.

Anyway, everything applied very nicely. Even the cream contour blended fine and did not break apart any of my foundation. And the cream highlighter on top of foundation and powder applied well. I usually apply liquid highlighter by classical domed highlighter brush and my hand with the cream/liquid acts like a pallete. And it works just fine for me. I know that people say "don't apply creams over powders". Well...sometimes you do and it works, so whatever.

A little tip with the blush. It's very shimmery so just really go HAM and put on a lot because if you put on a sheer layer you will end up with just gold glitter on your face and no blushness.


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time: 9 hours

End of the day thoughts

  • I did not blow my nose as often so it held up way better around my nose

  • the lighter concealer was a good call, my undereyes looked better than yesterday

  • it doesn't look cakey when set with a sponge

  • all the creams looked nice at the end of the day

  • I really like the base, I feel like it gives the tinted veil a nice layer to sit on






 

Day 3

Today I did not even plan on going outside or anything but I did at the end so I decided to give our products a third and final go in this pretty rainy Sunday. I had to be very quick so the overall look is a little too simple and a little too sloppy for me but well...what can you do when you have 15 minutes to dress up and do the face.

List of products:

  • NYX Bare with Me Hydrating Jelly Primer

  • NYX Bare with Me Tinted Skin Veil, shade: Vanilla Nude

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade: Peach

  • Catrice Liquid Camouflage Concealer, shade: 005

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade: True Translucent

  • Catrice Brow Colorist, shade: 030

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Catrice Mono Eyeshadow, shade: On the Taupe of Mount Everest

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster Eyeliner, shade: Total Black

  • NYX Worth the Hype Mascara

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade: Bronzer

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade: Nude Silk

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Highlighter, shade: Hu$tla Baby

  • Lottie London Slay All Day Liquid Lipstick, shade: Work It

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


Few hours into day 3
Few hours into day 3

Looking at the list now...some people will think I am a little crazy with the amount of products anyway.

However I was still kinda sick, that's why I look a little deadly. Also it's because of the lack of eyeshadow and my skintone in general. I am basiclly a white walker.













Couple hours before end of day 3
Couple hours before end of day 3

Wear time: 10 hours

End of day thoughts

  • I am still wearing this look as I write this and I don't feel the need to rip off my face

  • it survived rain and wind and crazy weather

  • I still look decent and feel hydrated

  • I had the look on about 4 more hours at home and it did not change drastically

  • even when I sweat the face seems to hold up well







 

Overall thoughts...

I would say that I really enjoyed these three days of light coverage. The primer is probably my new "I don't know how I want to prime today" primer and I really enjoyed the texture and how it felt like it actually does something on my face.


The tinted skin veil is probably gonna be one of my everyday foundations or one of these you throw on when you don't have much time or don't really feel like doing makeup. I really enjoy having this kind of product in my collection.


The spray is absolutelly not a must for anybody, I like the smell of it and it did feel just like any other of my setting sprays so I am at least happy with the amount of product you get for the price.


So I feel like all the products are a good buy but are absolutelly not necessary. If you're looking for a tacky, hydrating primer which is going to last you a decade, this is your guy. If you like a BB cream kinda vibe and you want something light for every day or you're starting with makeup and don't want to go full on mask...this is the type of foundation product you could use. It won't probably last a ton, I wouldn't take this to a concert but I feel like it could withstand a good summer heat. However I feel like your skin needs to be quite "good" because the skin veil probably won't cover blemishes and scarring very well.

I also feel like it could suit many skintypes. I read quite a few reviews from people with oily skin that were positive. On my skin which is more normal to combo it worked really nice and since it's very hydrating I feel like this would be perfect for people with dry skin.


Overall I am very happy with the collection and I would absolutelly recommend it if you feel like trying it out.

Shout out to NYX employees at NYX boutique Chodov for helping me out and explaining the products, I really appreciate it.

Hope you had a good read and let me know if you own any of these and how you feel about them!

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page