top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | BARE WITH ME DAILY MOISTURIZING PRIMER | REVIEW

I try my best to wear SPF all the time in any form I can get to. It's tricky to get good SPF that doesn't break you out, doesn't create a white cast, works well with other skincare and makeup on top...it's a whole SPF science. Primer form is one of my favorites so let's look at this NYX SPF primer.


The NYX Bare with Me Hemp Daily Moisturizing Primer High Protection SPF 30 is a primer protecting you from UVA/UVB rays while hydrating the skin with canabis sativa oil. It can be worn alone or under makeup. You get 75ml of product for 380 Crowns (I ordered at notino.cz).


The packaging is simple pink plastic bottle with a black lockable pump. I love that you get 75ml, that is actually a good amount of product that could last you for a while. The primer is white and very creamy. A little thicker than I expected but the texture does have that SPF feel to it. I don't usually like that but since this is also a soothing moisturizer I will look slightly past it.


The finish of it is a little dewy but it doesn't have any shimmer. It feels very hydrating. Once you apply it, it looks a little white but then it blends out into nothing so there's no visible white cast. I would say that's great if you want to wear it more as a standalone moisturizer without any makeup on top.


It looks pretty white on my hand there but once you really blend it out and massage it in, it doesn't look like anything.





 

Wear test


It's hard to wear test primers...and I say it everytime I wear test a primer. But I wanted to see if it's really moisturizing enough to get me through the day. My skin gets dry through the day and a good hydrating primer is my go-to almost every day even when I don't wear matte foundations.


I applied about 2-3 pumps with my hands. You always want to make sure that you apply enough SPF. It's a little thick but spreads out better than the oldschool SPF formulas. It gives me a bit of shine but nothing crazy and it feels very moisturizing and smooth on the skin. I let it sink in a little bit before I went in with my tinted moisturizer.


List of used base products

  • NYX Bare with Me Daily Moisturizing Primer High Protection SPF 30

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizer, shade Fair 2W

  • NYX Born To Glow Concealer, shade 06 Vanilla

  • Marc Jacobs Finish Line Perfecting Coconut Setting Powder, shade Invisible

  • Catrice Glow Illusion Loose Powder, shade Translucent Radiance

  • Macfactor Miracle Sheer Gel Bronzer, shade 005 Light Bronze

  • Maybelline Cheek Heat Sheer Gel-cream Blush, shade 30 Coral Ember

  • Revolution Bronzer Reloaded, shade Holiday Romance

  • Catrice More Then Glow Highlighter, shade 010 Ultimate Platinum Glaze


Wear time 11 hours

I was honestly quite impressed considering how many errands I had to run today. After the 11 hours my base was intacked, it wasn't separating and most importantly my face wasn't dried out. I hate it when I put on a hydrating primer in the morning and then it just disappears and you feel like Sahara all of a sudden.


It's really hard to judge a primer but I know how this tinted moisturizer works with different primers because it's literally my favorite tinted moisturizer and I feel like this primer has a great synergy with it. Some primers give up pretty much right after powder my face. This primer held through shopping, picking up lunch, more shopping, snowing...all kind of stuff.

 

Final thoughts

If you're looking for a good SPF which can also multitask as a primer I would say this one is a great choice. You get a great amount of product, it's very moisturizing, not too heavy feeling, it works really well with any makeup or just by itself.


It's a little pricey but honestly 75ml of good quality SPF moisturizer/primer is quite rare, usually you get way less product. I would also say that in the winter it might suit just about any skin type. In hotter months I think it could be a little too heavy on oily skin. If you have dry skin, your face will thank you because the canabis sativa oil in this really hydrates the skin all day long.


I keep reaching for this primer very often when I need a good dose of moisture plus the SPF protection in one fast product. I know that it won't let me down when I need to put makeup on top and if not it gives me that nice glow. For me this is a win product for sure.


Do you have any favorite SPF primers? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,553 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page