top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NYX | BARE WITH ME CONCEALER SERUM | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

At the start of every year NYX just delivers some newness that's irresistable. Their videos of this concealer have been all over my Instagram and even though I am not a big fan of concealers with pumps, I decided to give this one a shot because I love this range.


The NYX Bare with Me Concealer Serum truly took the internet by storm. It's a hydrating natural coverage concealer with medium coverage. It contains tremella mushroom, cica, and green tea and the formula is vegan and cruelty-free. It comes in 13 shades, I have the shade 02 Light. It retails for $11.


It comes in a plastic tube with a pump which is not my favorite concealer packaging to be honest but I'll get over it. It's quite mess free you just need another surface to pump it on before you use it which annoys me a little. The shade 02 Light has a nice neutral almost olive undertone so it suits me quite well and it's also quite a rare undertone to master for any brand. You get 9.6ml of products.


The consistency is quite runny and you can tell that it's hydrating by the texture. It's also very thin which I like so you get very thin even layer of product once you apply it. I really like the finish of it. It's not too dewy but it hydrates and it's not full coverage but it covers a lot. It also reflects the light in a very flattering way and almost looks highlighted but there are no special particles in the formula to do that. It should also have calming effects on the skin.






I like that it's marketed as an everyday concealer because of its medium coverage and hydrating finish. It is also recommended for normal to dry skin which is a skin category I'm in. Especially under my eyes my skin can get very dry and crusty through the day. That is why I've been using mostly hydrating concealers for past couple months because there's a huge difference in the weartime and the look of my skin at the end of the day when I use a hydrating product.




 

Wear test

I applied the concealer with a brush as I normally would. It has very lightweight texture and I always feel like I'm not applying enough. The coverage is very decent but what is the most deceiving thing about it is the finish. It's not a full matte coverage concealer but it really delivers incredible coverage and the light reflecting effect without any heaviness and it just feels like serum. It's truly bizarre to me. It covers a lot without looking heavy and it also looks very brightening without looking oily. So basically the undereyes are just gone in a second.


List of used products

  • Catrice Grip & Last Putty Primer

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Primer

  • Essence Pretty Natural Hydrating Foundation, shade 040 Neutral Vanilla

  • NYX Bare with Me Concealer Serum, shade 02 Light

  • Wibo Aqua Mist Powder

  • Rare Beauty Warm Wishes Effortless Bronzer Stick, shade Happy Sol

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush, shade Fuego Flush

  • Benefit Brow Microfilling Pen, shade Medium Brown

  • Catrice Super Glue Brow Styling Gel

  • Sigma Eyeshadow Base Primer, shade Ignite

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Pricked Palette

  • Maybelline Curl Bounce Mascara

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Marigold

  • Ilia Nightlite Bronzing Powder, shade Drawn In

  • Sephora Blush, shade So Euphoric!

  • Sleek Highlighting Palette, shade Solstice

  • Catrice Clean ID Glow Prime & Fix Spray

  • Trend It Up Collagen Lip Volume, shade 030

  • Sephora Lip Honeys Colorful Gloss Balm, shade 40 Orange Blossom

Wear time 14 hours

I wore the concealer for quite a while and this is not my first time using it. I like that my face still has that hydrated look and feel so there's no separation happening where my concealer is and even my undereyes look fine. Another thing I appreciate is the coverage. It has faded a little but there's still a decent amount of coverage under my eyes and on other more red areas of my face. There are some foundation patches missing on my face which is mostly because of the mask I wore through the day and because I touch my face all the time. But even then I don't see many problems with the finish of the concealer or its texture.

 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this concealer quite often and I fully agree with the claim that it's hydrating, medium coverage and a great everyday product. The nice skincare ingredients are just a good bonus but overall I think the concept of a concealer serum has a good point and works well at least for my very dehydrated and sometimes dry skin.


The price is a little steep for the drugstore but you really need just a tiny bit so if you go one pump at a time then it'll last you a very long time. The application is a little fussy and I would appreciate if it came in the classical concealer packaging with a wand but I'm not that mad at it. It blends really well, the coverage is nice medium and I love the finish it has. That brightening effect just really gets me and I like the way it brightens up my undereyes and other areas of my face without looking like a layer of putty. It also keeps the skin hydrated through the day which is great.


Overall, I would recommend it if you think you could benefit from a hydrating concealer like this. I think the formula, finish and everything about the product itself is very well done. There are other alternatives to this type of hydrating concealer but I think there are very little concealers with skincare benefits. So if that's something that interests you then I would go for this one. Otherwise there are great hydrating concealers from Catrice, Essence, Maybelline, Rimmel and other brands you can check out which are slightly cheaper.


Have you tried the new NYX collection? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

5,753 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page