top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NARS | NATURAL RADIANT LONGWEAR FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

And what did you get at the Sephora sale? I honestly cannot resist a high-end hyped up foundation on sale. I never owned anything from Nars but I've heard to much good about this foundation that I really wanted to try it out.


The Nars Natural Radiant Longwear Foundation is not new at all but it's been used by so many people for so many years that you may already know it. According to Nars website, this foundation is a lightweight foundation which provides 16 hour non-fading wear with medium to full buildable natural coverage. It comes in 34 shades, which is quite good and the shade I have is 2.5L Yukon. Now let me tell ya, it's not really a great match but it was on sale at Sephora for 799 Crowns which is not a bad price. Also it looked like a decent match in the store, which is usually a lie but whatever. I got it and here we are. Usually it costs 1290 Crowns.


According to the website is really sounds like a very revolutionary product. It's infused with several fruit extracts to smooth and nourish the skin and it should be really longlasting, they really stand behind that one. They also claim that it looks better hour by hour. That's a weird claim to say.


This shade has a very peachy-warm undertone so it's not really what I would go for if I had to pick. However it doesn't look that bad and I might be able to make it work with another foundation in the mix that's too light for me and a little more neutral-yellow. For the testing I wore it on its own though.


I tried application with both sponge and a brush and I must say that this foundation looks beautiful. A little comes quite a long way and it really has a very natural radiant finish. It's not dewy and sticky which is what I usually expect from the word radiant. Or glittery, I usually get very heavy or glittery or just sticky and tacky foundations. This is really not the case.


The coverage is really nice, it's quite high and it looks very skinlike if you don't overapply. It's easy to go overboard with it and it looks quite heavy with powder on top if you apply too much. But if you keep it slow and apply little by little, it looks great in my opinion.

 

Wear test

I went in with my sponge to apply the foundation as I normally would and I used my holly grail primer combo underneath. The coverage is better than I expected, but the shade match is not great. However, the finish is nice and natural, doesn't feel too heavy but looks pretty mask-like. I'm used to wearing very lightweight products these days so this one is a little out of my comfort zone. However, it looks really flawless.


The only issue I had was with creams on top, my Fenty cream bronzer almost didn't show up and it looked realy greytoned and weird. I tried a blush but it started removing the foundation immidiatelly so I decided to stop there and use a powder blush. This probably isn't the greatest base for creamy products.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Nars Natural Radiant Longwear Foundation, shade L2.5 Yukon

  • Revlon Candid Concealer, shade 015 Light

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiato

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Hourglass Ambient Powder, shade Diffused Light

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop So Jaded Pallete

  • Revolution Mascara Revolution, shade Black

  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil, shade Stash

  • Milani Silky Matte Bronzing Powder, shade Sun Light

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop Pressed Powder Blush, shade Lunar Has It

  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed, shade C-POP

  • Barry M All Night Long Makeup Setting Spray

  • Huda Beauty Lip Contour, shade Flirt

  • Maybelline Vivid Hot Lacquer, shade 62 Charmer


Wear time 10.5 hours

I managed to sneak in a little workout and it's been really hot here lately so my skin wasn't in the most calm conditions today. I really like the finish of this foundation. I am not looking overly dewy or too cakey. There are parts of my face which tend to go cakey really fast like my nose and the space between my eyebrows but they are looking pretty fine. In fact, if I applied less product it would probably look even better. The finish stayed the same as well as the lightweight feeling. I don't feel as powdered anymore, which is to be expected but my face also doesn't feel sticky at all and still maintains the light breathable feeling. The foundation hasn't oxidized, if anything I feel like it looks better now for some reason. And everything I applied on top of it looks great and didn't go patchy. I am more impressed than I thought I will be. You can see a couple flaws like around my nose where I just rubbed the foundation off because of my stuffy nose but from a distance, it looks flawless.

 

Final thoughts

Overall, I feel like I wasn't expecting that much from this foundation. It's a really pricey one too so I wouldn't even normally buy it in the first place. A great advantage of this foundation is the longevity and the finish. It lasts really well even when you sweat and work out and just are in a hot climate. It will last. I am in love with the natural finish, the radiant property of the foundation truly makes your skin look like a skin and it's no glittery shimmery bull*hit like we've seen in many foundations on the market. I also really like that it's lightweight and it has really good high medium to full coverage. Still though, it looks like perfect skin and not a mask.


One downside is the price for me, because it's quite pricey foundation. I also think it's easy to go overboard with it. A little goes a very long way so start small and build it up if you need to. If you overdo it and go too heavy, it will look cakey and it will budge a bit. Other than that though, I think it's a great foundation.


My final recommendation is, if it's in your budget and you want a beaufitul natural finish high coverage foundation, I am happy to report that this is a really good one. But I could still recommend different ones that are more affordable that do the same job and have similar lasting power as well. So if you're feeling boujee, you can go ahead and invest in this beauty.


Have you tried this foundation? Let me know your thoughts, it really surprised me how much I like it. Thanks for reading!

342 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page