top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MUA MAKEUP ACADEMY | BLUSHED LIQUID CREAM BLUSH | REVIEW

I am just out of control...I buy every cream blush that comes into my attention and I am enjoying every single one of them so much. This time I was on vacation and a drugstore in Croatia was full of surprises. One of the brands they had was MUA.


MUA Makeup Academy is not available in Czechia by any means but you can get it on BeautyBay now which is nice. I wanted to buy the Blushed Liquid Cream Blushes for a while now but they never had the shades I wanted and here we were in the most random drugstore ever where I saw both of the shades I wanted...and so I bought them. Each one was around 60KN if I'm correct and they had two shades in the store. In total they come in 6 shades. I picked up Tiger Lily and Misty Rose.


Tiger Lily packs more of a punch and it's a burnt orange/deep peach kind of shade. The type I would go for on a daily basis just a little more vibrant. Misty Rose is more on the pink side but it's still a warm pink. It's a little lighter but not looking powdery or grey.


On the MUA website it just says the same thing as on the product packaging. It's a lightweight buildable formula and it's best blended with a finger. It can be also used on the lips.


The blusher comes in a little tube, where you get 10ml of product and the color is indicated by a little stripe on the packaging but I wouldn't say it's very accurate. I would recommend looking up swatches before buying these. I really like the packaging because it's small and sleek but be careful because the product likes to come out of the bottle a little to fast and you'll end up with way more product than you need.


The consistency of the blushes is more like a cream/gel and it's very lightweight. When you blend it out it doesn't go patchy or weird and it has a sheen to it. Usually liquid blushes tend to go quite dewy so I'm not surprised by that. But even on your hand you can tell that this formula is buildable and can be layered because it doesn't act odd and the pigment keeps building up evenly.


I have to be a little more careful with Tiger Lily because it's a little deep for me so a little goes a long way and I really need just a tiny bit to get that tangerine glowy blushy look. But both shades apply the same and layer the same so I would assume that the consistency in this formula it alright.


I applied this blush with my sponge, stippling brush and my fingers as well. I really like using tiny stippling brushes for cream blush because they create such a nice and even finish. The sponge wasn't working great because the product is very liquidy so the sponge pretty much soaked it up and left just a little bit of tint. If you like that effect you can try it with a sponge and it's very foolproof but also doesn't deposit much pigment. Finger application is usually not my favorite since it's just messy and I don't like making more mess in the morning than I have to. Also the results werent' as nice.


I used the same amount on the photo where I show all three applications and with sponge you can see that you're not really getting the most out of your product. With finger you are getting the most by far but it's messy and honestly a little patchy. The stippling brush won by far for me. The finish is smooth and even and when you use a small stippling brush you can really focus just on certain areas. And I also like the finish the most by far.


I wore this blush multiple times by now and it does play well with powder as well. It's not dewy to the point where it becomes a cakey mess once you powder it. It looks very nice and healty on bare skin and with no powder but that's usually not my vibe. With powder it looks great as well but powder always takes off a little bit of the pigment but that's a usual thing with creams. I tried applying these over powder (I know I shouldn't but I always try anyway) and they work pretty fine. If you go very light with a small amount of product and press it in without any swiping, you'll be just fine. Sometimes I like adding a little more cream blush when I'm finishing my face to add a little glow and more color that's been hidden by the powder. So nice to know I can do that with these.


Longevity of these is very impressive as well. They fade out a little bit but I think because of their very thin formula they grip quite well to the base and don't slide away through the day. If you're wearing these on bare skin or with light base without much powder you could probably reapply them as well.


Here you can see Misty Rose on the left and Tiger Lily on the right. Both are just blended over my bare skin and you cannot really tell much difference in the photos because my light is just washing me out and it also looks a whole lot different on skin with makeup. But at least you get the idea of how these looks and you can see that they are quite sheer but still pigmented enough to be seen. The Tiger Lily shade is giving me majot sunburnt cute vibes.

 

Final thoughts

If you like cream blush or want to try cream blush then go for these for sure. They are very affordable and I would say they they are really nice. Some of my favorite cream blushes at the moment for sure.


They are cheap, there are nice shades, they blend well, wear well, are very small, look great and you can apply them in many ways and all of them can work well. The quality of these really impressed me and I am really happy I picked up both shades because these are going to be my summer travelling staple products for sure. It's just so perfect for summer and I really think that if you're scared of it just go for the sponge and it won't let you fail.


Are you also on the cream blush vibe? I'm so here for it! Let me know in the comments if you have any cream blush favorites and thanks for reading!

2,152 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page