top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MORPHE x JEFFREE STAR ICONIC NUDES LIP COLLECTION | REVIEW

If you're a fan of Jeffree Star, like myself, you probably heard about his Morphe colab. I am a little late to the party here to be honest, but lip bundles tend to have a small number of in-depth reviews so I wanted to try something new and get into these lip products.


The whole collection included pallete, another lip bundle, setting mist and probably other items, but I picked up just this one, because I don't tend to wear reds that often and the other bundle was mostly in red tones.


So, the Morphe x Jeffree Star Iconic Nudes Lip Collection contains 5 products. The whole thought process between these lip collections is combining Jeffree's own liquid lipstick shades with Morphe glosses. So you get two Velour Liquid Lipsticks in shades Mannequin and Leo, two Lip Glosses in Star Crown and First Impressions and a Lip Topper in Slurp. The liquid lipsticks are 2.7ml each, glosses 3ml each and the topper is 3ml as well. That means that they are mini-sized products and not full sized. I personally don't really have a problem with that, because I hardly ever go through my lip products anyway. The whole collection retails for $25. In my opinion the price is quite fair considering you get 5 products and it's an influencer colab, which tend to be more expensive.


The packaging on these is very pretty and very Jeffree. The tubes are transparent plastic, round in case of the liquid lipsticks, bin the case of the glosses and topper. They all have nice pink top with little white stars all around. The liquid lipsticks round and the glosses and topper in a square shape with cut-of top. It's a really cool look, you'll see in the pictures. I would also say that the liquid lipsticks have the same doefoot as Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipsticks. They have a little dent in them to fit the lip well. The glosses and topper have a flat doefoot.


I like the overall look of these, but the glosses and the topper have really sharp edges and I keep cutting my hand on them. But they do look really pretty. Also, I came across a little lie over on Morphe's website. All the products say 2ml on the bottom. What is that supposed to mean? I know it's not that much of a difference, but it's pretty much a third of the gloss!


Let's talk shades now. On the swatches you can see that the glosses are really high shine. I've never owned a Morphe Lip Gloss before, so I can't compare them to the usual Morphe formula. The liquid lipsticks seem very similar to Jeffree's regular formula from what I can tell.


Shade description

Slurp - champagne / golden topper with gloss consistency (doesn't dry down)

First Impressions - clear gloss

Star Crown - pale peach nude gloss

Mannequin - cool toned pinky nude

Leo - very warm deeper brown


The consistency of the lipstick is great, I know Jeffree's lipsticks and they are very opaque, dry down, don't transfer and last a very good amount of time. They are quite food-proof but not fully in my opinion.


The gloss formula is a little odd. The topper has the exact same formula, which I didn't really expect, since I own many toppers that dry down to a powdery glitter finish. But it's fine. They are a little sticky and very thick. If you try to do just a thin coat, they don't look very shiny or flattering. I recommend going in full and just doing the whole super glossy thick lip. Then, they fill in cracks in your lips and look very high shine and beautiful. Don't spare these too much, they look a lot better in a greater amount.


Speaking of the shades, I love the liquid lipsticks shades, cool toned nude is what I usually go for in terms of nude lipsticks and the warm brown is just beautiful. The glosses could use a little more imagination in my opinion. I really like the topper but the clear gloss is a little boring for my taste. It's very versatile, but I could've used like a rich peach or something like that. And the peachy nude, well it brings back concealer lips memories. It's very, very pale. I am white as a paper and it still looks too light on me. It's good for the dark outline, light center look. But other than that, it's too opaque to just layer on anything in my opinion. I still wear it but it takes a little time to figure out how to pull it off.


Lip swatches

I've never really done lip swatches and it's pretty hard to be honest. Here you go, so you have some real world representation of all these lip products. The official swatches are really beautiful and well photographed, but I don't have that kind of gear so mine look more like they do in the real world. Also excuse my lack of face makeup, but I thought since we're here for the lips...I just couldn't be bothered. My lips are very pigmented as you can see with the clear gloss, so you can see how everything applies over very pigmented natural lip color.


Slurp

To be fair this one is very metallic and glittery, so the camera doesn't really catch it.


First Impressions


Star Crown


Mannequin


Leo

 

Final thoughts

It's a very pretty collection and if you're into these colors and formulas or if you're just Jeffree's fan, this might be a good purchase for you. I would say the price is quite right and I honestly mostly bought it for the liquid lipsticks, which are both shades that are often sold out and even when they're in stock, they are pretty expensive.


I hope I gave you a good representation of how the products look in general. I enjoy and wear all of them. I would say they are all very nice and even the glosses are fine once you get used to the thickness. I don't tend to layer my lip product very much, so I usually wear all of these on their own. But certainly you could get some interesting combos with a dark lipliner involved.


I would recommend this if you want some selection in you lip collection and maybe if you're looking for a couple everyday liquid lipsticks and a couple glosses. This is actually a great wearable bunch of products.


What do you think about this whole colab? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page