top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MILK MAKEUP | SUNSHINE SKIN TINT SPF 30 | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Tinted moisturizers, tinted SPFs and light coverage foundations have been my favorite for over a year now. It's mostly because of the time I spend on homeoffice these days and I just cannot be bothered to put on a full face but they are also very convinient and sometimes provide some extra protection.


The Milk Makeup Sunshine Skin Tint SPF 30 is a great example of that because it's a clean, silicone-free skin tint with the benefit of SPF 30. It contains natural oils which help to hydrate the skin and provide you with a dewy finish. It has light coverage and comes in 14 shades, I have the shade Light which is the second lightest. It retails for $42 and you get 16ml of product.


Now the price/amount of product ratio is pretty bad and this is rather a pricey product. I've been interested in it mostly because I heard many people talk about it as their favorite skin tint type of product and I just got really excited when I saw it on the Sephora website.


It comes in click-pen like packaging with a roller-ball on the end so you just click it a couple times, draw it on your face, blend it out and it's done. It's a very easy to use product and so far I didn't get it much dirty either. It's a lot thicker than you would expect but it contains a lot of oils and the SPF so it's not THAT surprising.


It blends really well with both brushes and sponges and it leaves a dewy finish but not the sticky/sweaty kind. The coverage it actually better than I expected, it's light for sure but it evens out the skintone just enough and still gives you enough coverage to finish the look in a more glam fashion.


The shade match is not the best, the shade range lacks different undertones and the shade Light kind of leans a little orange on me. But I'm pretty sure that Fair would be too light so there's not much to do with the shades. Let's say it has enough coverage that it could use a couple more shades with various undertones.








 

Wear test

I decided to wear it with a bunch of cream products and just a light dusting of powder. From my experience it works well with any powder and doesn't start to break appart. I expected it to act a little different because of all the oils in the formula but it actually works really well with all my powders and cream products. I applied it with my Corazona foundation brush and used just some simple everyday primers that work well with anything.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • Rival Loves Me Blur Primer Drops

  • Milk Makeup Sunshine Skin Tint SPF 30, shade Light

  • Fenty Beauty Bright Fix Eye Brightener, shade 04 Crepe

  • Zoeva Finishing Powder, shade Outstanding

  • Essence Skin Lovin' Sensitive Mineral Powder, shade 01 Translucent

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiato

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sheer Gel Blush, shade 004 Glowing Sunrise

  • Catrice Sungasm Luminizing Bronzer, shade C01 Golden Ecstasy

  • Essence Glowing Golds Vitamin C Baked Highlighter, shade 01 Golden Days Ahead

  • Catrice Volume & Lift Brow Mascara, shade 020

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Anti-aging

  • e.l.f. Bite Size Eyeshadow, shade Truffles

  • NYX Prismatic Shadows, shade Fireball

  • Hourglass Scattered Light Glitter Eyeshadow, shade Reflect

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner, shade Black + Rich Brown

  • Maybelline Sky High Mascara, shade 01 Very Black

  • Makeup Obsession x Tiffany So Kohl Kohl Eyeliner, shade Sunset

  • Catrice Shake Fix Glow Spray

  • Trend It Up Plump & Shine Lipgloss

Wear time 12 hours

I wasn't up to much today because I got my vaccine yesterday and my arm just doesn't want to live anymore and it hurts like hell. However, I still wanted to do a wear test because I still have stuff to do and meetings to talk through. The base is holding up so well and I'm in love with the fact that I don't have any dryness on my face. There's no separation or weird patches and the whole face looks and feels very smooth, skin-like and hydrated. The only place where I see some budging is where the glasses touch my nose but that is almost always the case and it's not visible when I put my glasses on.


I am quite surprised that at no point the foundation started to feel too oily. It has oils in the formula so I would almost expect it to go super oily on the through the day but it didn't It meshed really well with my skin and it's looking just flawless. I feel like I could go hours more if I needed.

 

Final thoughts

In terms of finish, weartime, blendability and everything around it, I absolutelly love this skin tint. The SPF is a great bonus, the coverage is light but good enough to really give you a nice glam look if you need to and the finish is glowy but not oily even though there's oil in the formula.


It's really easy to work with and the formula has amazing wear time, I really didn't expect that to be honest. It's the perfect product for the summer and if you don't powder it down, you can use it as your tinted SPF and reapply as you should with SPF through the day.


I don't mind the packaging, I think it looks a little funny and it doesn't give you much benefit but there's something to the quick click-roll-go that this product can do for you. Overall, I really like it and I would recommend it if you have dry to normal skin. I am not sure how the formula works on oily skin because I feel like it might be a little too thick and hydrating.


The one downside is the price and the amount of product you get. I do feel like the roller ball makes me use less product but still 16ml is not a lot and I'm not sure how long it would last me. Milk is not exactly an affodrable brand so it's not THAT expensive but still, product like this probably isn't for everyone. I've been looking for a product like this for ages and I am very happy with it so for me, it's worth the money for sure. The finish + protection + longevity are worth it, in my opinion.


Have you tried any great Milk Makeup products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

614 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page