top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MILK | FLEX FOUNDATION STICK | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

If you say that there is a new best foundation in the world on the market, I might not go and buy it immidiatelly. But when you say that it's the best foundation years after its release?! I'll get it at some point.


The Milk Makeup Flex Foundation Stick was a big hit when it came out and still is even after all that time. It's a medium coverage stick foundation with a natural finish that covers, calms, and flexes without creasing or caking. It's basically supposed to look like skin. It is vegan, clean, cruelty-free, paraben-free, alcohol-free, gluten-free, sulfate-free, phthalates-free, talc-free, and soy-free. It comes in 36 shades and has a very good shade range. I have the shade Shell. It retails for $36.


The foundation comes in a very sleek white tube and you twist the bottom to get the product. It is quite creamy and compared to other stick foundations I've tried it doesn't feel very heavy or greasy which I appreciate. The shade Shell is a pretty decent match and it was pretty hard to get the right shade for me because I was buying it online. Shell is supposed to be light shade with golden undertones but I would say it's a little more neutral peachy...at least to my eye. But it fits pretty well.


One layer of this foundation promises medium coverage but you can build it up and it shouldn't cake or crease. They say it has "elastic formula" which should be suitable pretty much for any skin type. The soothing ingredients in it, such as chamomile and blue lotus, make it a good pick for dry and sensitive skin.


To be honest I was expecting quite a lot from this foundation based on the reviews. It is well loved by a variety of skintones and types so I was curious. It does feel quite heavy right upon application but once you blend it out it kind of sets and you barely feel it at all. I prefer applying it with a brush because sponge just makes you work a little more and it's not as fast. That's really what I love the most about stick foundations - the speed.

 

Wear test

I applied the foundation with a brush because that's how I prefer to apply stick foundations. It's not too creamy but it's quite easy to blend and it is quite seamless. The match is OK and the texture is really nice and very skin-like. It's not too dewy which I like and it's also something I've seen with a lot of stick foundations. It's not too matte so it doesn't feel dry on the skin. Everything applied really well on top.

Also, can you please tell me HOW THE HECK did I forget to apply my mascara? I just totally spaced out and just didn't have it the whole day. What is wrong with me?


List of used products

  • Essence Prime+ Studio Poreless Putty Primer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up! Primer

  • Milk Makeup Flex Foundation Stick, shade Shell

  • Maybelline Super Stay Active Wear 30H Concealer, shade 10

  • Wibo Aqua Mist Powder

  • e.l.f. Putty Bronzer, shade Honey Drip

  • Glowish Soft Radiance Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Light

  • KVD Vegan Beauty Everlasting Blush, shade Honeysuckle

  • Colourpop Super Shock Highlighter, shade Flexitarian

  • Nudestix Brow Boost + Set Gel XL

  • Nars Tinted Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • ABH Norvina Mini Pro Pigment Palette Vol. 3

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadow, shade Koosh

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • ...I forgot mascara

  • Catrice Clean ID Glow Prime & Fix Spray

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydra Volume Lip Plumper, shade 020 Volume Nude

Wear time 15 hours

I wasn't even sure if I want to post the after pic on this wear test. But I think it represents an extreme day very well. It was very unplanned and it was a rough day. Of course the foundation's coverage faded a little overall, that's to be expected. There are some imperfections and spots on my skin that are way more visible in the after-picture for sure. But I like that it didn't start getting dry and it also wasn't separating. Those are good signs for my dry skin because it means that the foundation is not too matte for me and it makes my skin retain enough moisture through the day.


There were a couple patches missing here and there because during those 15 hours I ate, drank and touched my face quite a lot but there's nothing too bad. Overall, I feel like this is quite an impressive performance and I wouldn't normally wear any foundation for that long to be fair.

I was checking it through the day and I didn't really come across any problems or inconsistency in the texture. I am very happy with this foundation.

Also, I am sorry that you have to see this photo altogether. But it's for research!

 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this foundation for months now and it quite quickly became my go-to when I need a very longwearing foundation that's not going to let me down. I find that it works pretty well with majority of my primers and it doesn't dry out my face which is a big plus when I want to wear it for an extended period of time.


The price is pretty steep and you have to justify if it's worth it for you but I would say that this formula really sticks out as one of the most unique and best wearing ones in my collection so to me it's worth it. Finding a foundation that's going to be my staple and a very reliable companion for long days is always worth it to me.


That being said I do think that all the claims Milk does are correct, it is nice for sensitive skin (I wore it when my skin was really purging and breaking out) and it's also nicely hydrating and kind of adapts to your skin for a certain period of time. It really wears well and settles into the skin in a very flattering and natural way. The finish is so good you can barely see that there's any foundation on your face.


Next great bonus is the stick form because it quickly became my favorite foundation on the road as well. I just cannot say anything bad about is besides the pricetag.


Have you tried this foundation? Let me know what you think and thanks for reading!

1,053 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page