top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | THE COLOSSAL LONGWEAR MASCARA | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Maybelline keeps coming out with new mascaras and revamped mascaras and at this point I don't know which ones are even new. I got this supposedly new mascara for testing my Maybelline to give my opinions on it so here we are to test it out.


The Maybelline Colossal Longwear Mascara promises up to 36H wear time and it claims to be flake-proof, water-proof and smudge-resistant. It retails for around 150 Crowns and you get 10ml of product.


The packaging is pretty chubby and it's the same one as many of their other mascaras have. The brush has natural bristles and it's quite thick but sparse at the same time. According to the descriptions I found it's supposed to give you mostly volume, the resistance and long weartime.


As you can see in the picture the brush is quite big. The formula seems to be lightweight but also very black which I'm a big fan of.







 

First impressions

I have a lot of lashes that are kinda long and very hard to lift. There are not many mascaras that I swear by and usually I end up with my lashes pointing to the ground in a couple hours no matter what I use and how much I curl them. That makes testing mascaras kind of difficult but at least I can really tell a difference when I see one.


The brush is quite thick and it's not easy to get the inner corner lashes coated with it. However, the distribution of product is very even and since the brush is quite sparse, you're not piling on loads of product as you would with a very dense brush. I quite like that. It lets you go in very thin light coats.


I usually achieve the most volume when I wiggle the brush near my lash roots which is very difficult with this brush as it's very large and it has long bristles. It become a rather painful experience when you try to wiggle it too close to your eye. It does give me slight lift and it doesn't really weight down my lashes since the formula is very thin.

 

Wear test

The application was quite easy and I didn't stab my eye which is a great success. The mascara is a tiny bit dryed out which is great because now it doesn't leave marks everywhere and it's easier to work with. I managed to get some nice volume and lift out of it so I'm quite happy with how my lashes look. I worked in thin coats, I feel like I ended up doing 2-3. The mascara builds very easily and doesn't get clumpy fast which I really like.


Wear time 8.5 hours

I am quite happy with this mascara. The whole day it stayed put and there's no flaking or transfer anywhere. I did quite an intense cardio workout so I was expecting some smudges somewhere. My lashes came down a bit through the day but that is normal, nothing can keep them lifted because they are so heavy and stacked on each other. But I really appreciate the lasting power without any mess and that it still felt lightweight until I removed it. It wasn't hard to remove either, which I'm quite impressed with because it's a waterproof mascara and those are usually a big pain to remove in general. I like only a couple Maybelline mascaras but I think that this one is joining the gang.

On the before - after pictures you can see that the effect is not super visible but it's there and it lasted through the 8.5 hours for sure.

 

Final thoughts

Is this the best mascara I've ever tried? Probably not, but is it one I would recommend? Absolutelly yes. If you want some volume, separation and very lightweight formula, this is your perfect mascara. It doesn't do much in terms of curling or length of the lashes but it's nice, easy to work with, waterproof and it doesn't smudge or transfer through the day.


For me it's hard to find a mascara that makes a difference and this one was at least able to separate my thousand lashes which is quite a rare occurence. The wear time on it is also very nice and I am very happy with the formula. I just wish the bristles on the brush were a little shorter so it's easier to get the inner corners.


Have you tried any new mascaras you fell in love with? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!




344 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page