top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | TATTOO LINER GEL PENCIL | REVIEW

I received this eyeliner from Maybelline for testing such a long time ago, but I thought there's not really a point in doing a review of one eyeliner, right? Well, now that I've been using is for a while, I think it deserves a spotlight.


I'm talking about the newest Maybelline liner, which is the Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil. It's a sharpenable pencil, which is supposed to be their most longwearing eyeliner yet. It's supposed to be intensely pigmented, waterproof, gliding on effortlessly and lasting for 36 hours. It also shouldn't smudge or fade at all.


There are multiple different shades, I've received a black one for the testing and purchased two other shades myself. However, it comes in 9 shades according to Maybelline website. You get 1.3g of product, but it's a pencil, so I don't think this information is much usefull. Also, it retails for 139 Crowns on notino.cz, the price may differ in the drugstore or on different e-shops, but it's a very affordable eye pencil.


It's a sharpenable gel liner, so it's not one of the twist-up ones. Some people dislike it because they actually have to sharpen it, but I don't mind. I own so many pencils I have sharpen that one more doesn't really make a difference in my collection. The pencil has always the same color as the product and it has a cap to protect the tip. The cap sits on very tightly, so I wouldn't be worried about it sliding down in a makeup bag and making a mess, it feels very secure.


I have three shades, the one I received is the black one called 900 Deep Onyx, then I bought 961 Sparkling Silver and 910 Bold Brown. The black and brown are matte and the silver one is a metallic formula. If Maybelline expanded the color range of these, I would absolutelly love this formula in a more fun colors and maybe more finishes.


I have been using black eyeliner since I was about 13 years old. It was probably one of my all time first makeup items in general. So trust me, I know a good liner when I see one. First of all, the pigmentation of these is insane. They just glide on, full pigment, no budging or skipping, just lovely. You can draw literally anywhere with these. They work great on the lower lashline, you can tightline with them, you can do whatever creative drawing you want and it will work well since you barely have to put any pressure on these.


The longevity of these liners is very impressive. I have pretty watery eyes, so hardly anything lasts on my waterline. This black eyeliner doesn't last as long as I'd like, I can still see it after about 10 hours of wearing makeup though, and that's something not every eye pencil can do. If you wear them on a less watery and risky place, they will last a very long time. Pretty much until you decide to take them off.

 

Wear test

It's just an eye pencil, but doing a waterline wear test seems like a good idea to me, because my eyes water all the time and it gets annoying. I have tested multiple times, that this pencil lasts well on me, but well, I wanted to get a proof other than just my word.


Today I used the 910 Bold Brown in my waterline and after 9.5 hours, it's still there. The pigment is not full all over the waterline, but there are still places with the liner which is with my watery eyes almost impossible with most pencils. I'm not sure how well you can see, but the pigmentation is still there, right at the waterline. You can see at the photo, that there's still pigment right at my eye, which is the gel pencil. The longevity of the pencil at my lashline is great, it doesn't wear off at all.

 

The looks

I know I usually do this just with eyeshadows, but I really feel like showing off these liners more in an eyelook context. Therefore, I decided to create a look with each of these to show you the pigmentation and how they look actually applied on the eyes.


910 Bold Brown

I did this look some time ago for a Haus Laboratories Glam Attack Metallic Creme eyeshadow and I just fell in love with it. I don't really do graphic liners often, but this look is just to fascinating to me, I love how it turned out.


I literally just drew on the outline of the shape and started blending. This took me about 5 minutes to do to he honest. I first blended it out a little bit with a pencil brush. Then I took very similar dark brown shadow and kinda set the pencil in place. Then I took a little blending brush and blended the outer edges of the shape. The inner portion mistakes vere covered by the liquid eyeshadow, which I applied with a small flat brush. It's a very precise look to do and it can look muddy real fast, but I really like how it looks.


900 Deep Onyx + 961 Sparkling Silver

I use the black pencil the most out of all three I have, because it's just the perfect longwearing black, which I love to use on my lower lashline. Today I mixed in a little bit of the silver one as well, because it was matching my look very well, but all the black which is smoked out on the lower lashline is the Maybelline pencil in Deep Onyx. The inner corner potrion is Sparkling Silver.


If you ever want to increase weartime of any pencil, just set it with eyeshadow. It increases the weartime a lot, especially on the lid and on the bottom lashline. But be careful not to get eyeshadow in your eyes.



I also used 900 Deep Onyx a lot when creating this look. This is a litte more creative than I usually go, but it really lasted a very long time on my face. I used it on my lip and all the black wires. It literally lasted through my dinner and hours of drinking through the night. What a shame I didn't take a picture before I washed it off, but it really lasted well. I didn't expect it to last through a meal.




 

Final thoughts

These eye pencils absolutelly deserve a spotlight and they are some of my favorite from the drugstore. You can tell I love an eye pencil when I own multiple shades. I really hope they expand the shade in the future for some really fun colors, because the lasting power of these is insane and the pigmentation is great as well.


Overall, if you have watery eyes like me and you're looking for something longwearing and really pigmented, I think this is your best bet. I'll say it, it's the best in the drugstore I've ever tried. The price is great and it's so worth it. I've spent to much money on eyeliners that didn't last an hour, so let me save you some money. Just go buy this one.


The black one is the best black I own and I was really surprised by how much I like the brown one as well. It's not as harsh, so if you want something to enhance your eyes, line them just a bit and you don't want that black line, I would say go for it.


What are your thoughts on these? Do you like them as much as me? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


4,350 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page