top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | TATTOO BROW 36HR PIGMENT BROW PENCIL | REVIEW

I've been all about them fluffy brow lately but Maybelline is slightly skipping on that trend with their new pencil so I decided to try it out.


The Maybelline Tattoo Brow 36HR Pigment Brow Pencil is a waterproof, easy-to-use highly pigmented eyebrow pencil. It comes in 6 shades and retails for around $9. I have the shade Medium Brown and I received it from Maybelline for the purpose of testing so here I am to share my opinions.


The pencil comes with a long and thick spooley which I quite like. You get 0.73g of product. The pencil is very creamy a reminds me more of a pomade. It's supposed to be very longlasting and non-fading super pigmented formula. The pencil is sharpenable which is a little problematic because it's so creamy and soft.



I quite like the shade Medium Brown, it's a little darker than my eyebrows but the undertone matches just fine. The pencil is super soft so you just slightly glide it over the brow and the pigments is there in full power. It's a little unfortunate for me because I am not all about the super defined and filled in blocky brows. But if you prefer filled in brows with more

pigmentation, this could be great for you. The tip of the pencil it quite thick so it's not great for creating hair-like strokes. But it's very good for creating the bottom brow line and blending it upwards or filling in the whole eyebrow.












 

Wear test

The pencil is very creamy but with a very light hand it applied well. You really don't need to push on it at all. It's a little darker than my eyebrows so it's quite obvious when I make a mistake with it but it looks quite fine and once you're fast enough you even have time to correct and blend out any mistakes.


List of used brow products

  • Maybelline Tattoo Brow 36 HR Pigment Brow Pencil, shade Medium Brown

  • XX Revolution Brow FiXX, shade Clear

Wear time 10 hours

My brows look exactly how they did in the morning. The gel is fading out a little bit and the hairs start to fall out of place but overall the pigment is still there. I feel like the pencil didn't move at all and the color doesn't seem to fade either. The formula is pretty longlasting and I like that it doesn't fade or change color which is sometimes problem after wearing a full face of makeup for hours and hours.

Here's the before (left) and after (right) picture of me with the eyebrow products. I managed to create quite a natural brow with the pencil and as you can see, it didn't fade or move a bit.

 

Final thoughts

I would say that this brow pencil is really nice quality product but it's just not for me personally. Eyebrow are a very specific thing for me and I change the way I do them all the time and this type of product is not for me right now.


That being said, I think it's a really nice product that has amazing pigmentation and staying power. I would say that it reminds me a lot of a brow pomade so if you like to use those and create more pigmented and structured eyebrows then this might be a great product for you. You can use it to fill in the whole brow or to do the bottom outline and then draw some hairs upwards. Drawing individual hairs with this product gets a little tricky because it's very pigmented and glidy but it can be done with a very light hand. One thing that bothers me is that the formula is very glidy and smooth so the pencil will probably run out quite fast and you'll have to sharpen it more ofte because creamy formulas tend to act that way. However a little goes a long way which maybe counteracts this problem.


Have you tried the new Maybelline brow products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

2,971 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page