top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SUPERSTAY MATTE LIP INK | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Is a matte liquid lipstick still a thing? It used to be back in the day and I wore nothing else. Maybelline liquid lipsticks were some of my favorite, because I didn't have to worry about them giving up on me. They lasted through some crazy event and some crazy meals, so let me tell you about these.


The Maybelline SuperStay Matte Lip Inks are a spin on the matte liquid lip trend from Maybelline and I've been using them since they came out. They come in many shades, they've been around for a while and there are still new shade releasing once in a while. This lipstick claims to stay on for 16 hours. It should be highly pigmented, with matte finish, shouldn't dry out your lips. Those are the claims. Now let me tell you, I've been wearing these since they came out and there are some flaws in those claims.


These lipsticks are extremely pigmented, very vibrant, you can paint the whole mouth with one dip. But they will dry your lips out like crazy after this many hours of wear. They also feel quite heavy in texture, you can feel them on your lips for sure. Also, they have insane lasting power as I'll test later in this post. They go on a little sticky, which can be annoying and I know many people don't like them because of that. You just have to lick your lips once it's dry and you're fine. They won't be sticky anymore.


I really like the packaging on these, because you can kind of see the color you're buying. It applies to majority of those except for the purples, I've always had problems with these. They are just always too warm, too not like the bottle. I alwo really love the applicator. It has a little hole in the middle, so it can store more product and as you apply it, there's always enough. And I can really paint my whole lips with one dip.


I have many shades of this lipstick, because I've always been attracted to a new one because of how well they wear. You can eat and drink with them, you don't really have to reapply and they will last forever. But once you want to take them off, there's a little problem. You won't take these off with almost anything. Maybelline even released a special remover just for this specific lipstick. I prefer using a balm, any a little greasy lip balm will do, but it will probably make a little bit of a mess.


Let me share some tips I've learned over the years. Don't wear this lipstick when you have very dry lips, it just won't look great and you'll hate it in a couple hours. Wear it when your lips are in a good condition and when you really, really need the color to stay and not move and not go anywhere. Also don't wear them when you suspect you'll take off your lip color. Because you won't be able to and if you manage to take it off, you'll probably smear it in places where you don't want to. If you want to take it off, always have a slippery lip balm and paper towels somewhere near. This lipstick, it's a keeper, it won't let you down.


 

Wear test

Today I am wearing the shade Artist, which is one of my favorite pinks. I started wearing it around 9am. It's a little sticky upon application, you can lick it to get rid of that feeling or just eat something and it will go away. So far, it's very vibrant a beautiful.


You can see, that there's no bleeding around the edges and no patching at all. This is the reference picture from when I applied it, so we can compare it further on during the check-ins.









3 hours in

I just had my lunch. It wasn't too greasy to I wasn't really putting the lipstick to the test but still I wasn't worrying about it. It's still looking very vibrant and smooth. However, I'm getting a little bleeding at the corner of my mouth and I'm getting the "butthole lip" as well. You know, when the inner rim of your lips just loses all the product. So we're falling appart a tiny bit but if you don't pay close attention, it looks great.








10 hours in

Sorry, I couldn't get a better picture at my kitchen, but you can tell that the lip color is still there. It's a little faded but it's still looking good. We'll see how it goes after dinner.













12.5 hours in

I'm going to end this here, because I got some new face masks in the mail and I really want to put them on. I had my dinner, awful lot of water and I'm biting on my lips quite a lot, so they went through a test for sure. My lips don't look the best though. It didn't start bleeding anywhere else and the part that was bleeding faded. So I wouldn't be worried about the color getting out of lines too much. The worst looking is the inner rim of my lip, where you can clearly see that it's gone. Expecially when I'm talking. If I had to do a touchup, I would probably just run the lipstick around the inner portion and that's is. My lips don't feel absolutelly dried out, but they need some moisture after this many hours of wearing a matte liquid lip.

 

Final thoughts

To be fair, I knew already what my thoughts are when I started writing this post. This lipstick is one of my favorite lipsticks when I need something that's really going to last. I've worn it to concerts, parties, all day events and it never let me down.


It's not for everyday wear unless your lips really can handle it. It's gonna be drying more and more if you wear it day after day. But once in a while, I don't think it damages my lips too much, but they are naturally pretty dry, so I gotta be careful. I really love the shades Maybelline makes of this lipstick and I even own a grey one, which is just amazing.


I would say it's one of the best, if not the very best, liquid lipstick in the drugstore when it comes to pigmentation and wear time. It's not the most comfortable, but that's the price you gotta pay for vibrant beautiful lips that last whole day. The texture is not for everybody, but for me it's just necessary product in my lipstick collection.


Do you have any favorite longwearing lipsticks? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

954 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page