top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SUPERSTAY 24H SKIN TINT | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Updated: Aug 25, 2023

The upcoming summer has brought us a new batch of freshly released skin tints and lightweight foundations. Is this one from Maybelline going to be worth it?

The Maybelline SuperStay 24H Skin Tint is a part of the SuperStay family of


products that are known to be very longwearing and heavy duty. This new skin tint contains vitamin C and it should give you a bright skin-like finish. It's supposed to be a weightless foundation that is resistant to sweat, fading and humidity. It's suitable for all skin types and it is available in 18 shades. I have the shade 03. It retails for around $17.99.







It comes in a glass serum bottle with a dropper and you get 30ml of product. The coverage is supposed to be light to medium and I think I agree. It does a great job at evening out my skin but doesn't cover too much and looks very natural. The finish really stands out with this foundation. I didn't understand the term "bright finish" first, but now I know what they mean. It is like your skin but better and healthier and glowier but without any "artificial" glow. It's just skin. I don't think I've ever had a product with such a formula.


The shade range is not really impressive and even though it is supposed to be a lighter coverage foundation it isn't sheer enough to stretch one shade across many skin undertones or depths. I feel like there were a couple shades that fit me pretty well, I accidentally bought one that didn't fit the best and it's still fine. That kinda tells you that there are too many shades on the pale side of the spectrum.


 

Wear test

I picked very basic primers to see how the tint applies to the skin without any strong gripping or slippery base underneath. The application was very smooth with a skin-like finish and even on my nose and forehead where I usually have problems with foundation sticking it went on just fine. Overall it looked beautiful straight after application. Today I didn't test any cream products on it but I did in the past and they did work fine. I powdered my whole face because I'm pretty sure I'll get sweaty outside and the face is looking nice and smooth. The finish is very nice, not too luminous of dewy and definitely feels like it's going to stay.


List of used products

  • Catrice The Perfector Poreless Blur Primer

  • Essence Hello Good Stuff Glow Serum Primer

  • Maybelline SuperStay 24H Skin Tint, 03

  • Essence Multitasker Concealer, 15 Natural Nude

  • No7 Airbrush Away Finishing Powder, Translucent

  • Revlon Colorstay Anti-pollution Candid Setting Powder, Translucent

  • Made by Mitchell BLURSH Pressed, Cheeky

  • Made by Mitchell BLURSH Pressed, 90s Nude

  • Trend It Up Silky Baked Highlighter, 010

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, Caramel Brown

  • Benefit Fluff Up Brow Wax

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Amplifying Eye Primer

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Psychadelic Circus Eyeshadow Palette

  • Kash Beauty Eyeshadow Topper, Gold Dust

  • Revolution x Clueless Eyeliner

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, Extra Frosting

  • Tarte Tartelette Tubing Mascara

  • Morphe Continuous Settnig Mist

  • Maybelline Green Edition Balmy Lip Blush, 008 Desert


Wear time 9.5 hours

I applied the foundation just after lunch to go out, run some errands and do a little shopping before I head to a nice dinner. It was pretty hot outside, the bus rides can get a little sweaty and so can shopping sprees. But the foundation really lasted through endless outfit switching, messy dinner, runny nose from alergies and sweaty public transport. I am pretty impressed. It's not my first time wearing this skin tint so I am not THAT surprised but the name SuperStay definitely has a reason.




 

Final thoughts

To be honest, when I first heard that Maybelline is launching a skin tint with vitamin C I was a little sceptical. My skin usually doesn't get along very well with products that contain vitamin C but this is a whole different story. The finish of this product is beautiful, it blends like a dream and the finish is so even and natural without being too dewy and luminous. I am in love. The longevity is very impressive as well and everytime I wore this skin tint I was impressed.


I feel like the SuperStay products are getting better and better and this skin tint is going to be my go-to for this summer. It's super lightweight, wears well and applies like a dream with the most beautiful finish. Really this is all I need in a summer foundation. For the price you are getting one of the best (if not THE best) skin tints in the drugstore.


Do you have any new favorite foundations for this holiday season? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page