top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SUPERSTAY 24H FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Here we go again...I just cannot stop with these foundation reviews.


I wanted to get this foundation for literally years. But for some reason, people in my country decided, that shade range starts at a medium pink and goes darker...but again, not dark enough. So we have a very odd selection of shades here. I've been praying for more shades for so long and last week, I was making my way down a Rossmann drugstore and I saw a suspiciously looking Maybelline display. There were too many bottles. I got excited, there's one light shade and I think two medium to tan shades, which I mean, isn't the greatest, but at least I can but this foundation now. So I took the new shade 02 Naked Ivory, which was actually light and neutral enough for my face, and I was happy to take home yet another foundation. That's why I wear foundation every day people, because I have so much of it.


Anyway, I got to trying it a couple days later, because of my recent Sephora purchases, but we'll get to the wear test later, first let's hear the juicy claims. It's a full coverage foundation, can last 24 hours of wear, lightweight, oil-free and doesn't clog pores. Sounds pretty good. I'm sure that Maybelline is not vegan or cruelty-free...shame. But I still wanted to try this foundation.


From the swatches, you can see that it is quite neutral and on the lighter side of my other foundations. My hand looks pretty tan in this picture but my hands tan a lot easier than the rest of my body and my face and neck are usually still pale as a paper in the summer.


For some reason, L'Oreal and Maybelline complexion products just don't seem to work for me. So I am giving Maybelline a last chance for the foundation redemption because I'm getting mad at my face for not accepting any of their foundations. Both Fit Me formulas were a disaster after I learned how foundation shouldn't look and last. L'Oreal usually has an awful shade selection in my country, and even when I put lightening drops into the Infallible 24 hour fresh wear foundation, I still hate it. I feels so heavy, doesn't last on me, the shade is just wrong in general, who's that orange? I am angry just writing about it.


Anyway, it's a redemption time, so let's see what we think so far. You can tell it's full coverage just from the swatch. It doesn't have any weird consistency issues, it's as thick as I would expect from a full glam dream and it doesn't smell of anything. Good.


It comes in a glass bottle with a pump, classical packaging, which I don't mind. You get 30ml, which again, standard. The price is slightly different from store to store but I got it on sale for 173 Crowns, if I'm not mistaken. I believe it's 199 Crowns regularly. You can see the product through the bottle, which is helpful, but there are not many swatches or shade descriptions online, so I was hesitating a little before buying it. It ended up well, but I couldn't find anything about this shade. Also, why would you name the shades different in different countries? How am I supposed to find anything about the shades? I don't like that, just keep the names the same, nobody cares.


There's not much more information about the foundation other than, it has been on the market for years now, I'm still doing a review because I want to, but I know that many people love this foundation, so I'm hoping to be one of them. Let's get to the wearing.

 

Wear test

My skin is not having the best time ever with these new foundations and some new skincare products. But let's try it anyway, I hope my skin will get used to everything soon. I started using new face washes, new makeup remover, new toner, new night cream...there's a lot. So if my skin looks like it's breaking out, it's probably true and probably not even fault of the foundation.


Day 1

The only picture I have is this one where I'm holding the foundation in a super stupid way. How do you even take a picture while holding something? Pure magic... Anyway, I went in with a good primer, that I love and trust and have used a half of in like 3 months which doesn't happen often. So if it's too drying, I can maybe save it. I applied two pumps at the back of my hand and went in with my makeup sponge. I like the finish of a good sponge. It feels a lot lighter than I expected and it looks really full coverage and really good on the skin. Even the shade is matching me pretty well. I didn't have any problem applying anything and also, it didn't ball up around my eyebrows. When I comb my brows, a cakey and in general foundations that don't suit me just ball up in my brows. This one didn't, that's good sign. It's quite matte, but I like the finish, it looks very flawless and glamorous. So let's see how it lasts.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • Maybelline SuperStay 24h Foundation, shade 02 Naked Ivory

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics The Magic Star Concealer, shade C3

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 2

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel, shade 020

  • Maxfactor brow gel

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Mini Breaker Pallete

  • H&M Sprecial FX Pallete

  • Essence Metal Shock Liquid Eyeshadow, shade 03 galaxy rocks

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Maybelline Snapscara, shade 01 Pitch Black

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner, shade 900 Deep Onyx

  • Juvia's Place Zulu pallete

  • Benefit Hula Bronzer

  • Essence Good Vibes Good Memories Blush Trio, shade 01 spring love

  • Catrice Galaxy in a Box Highlighting Pallete

  • Fenty Beauty Diamond Bomb, shade How Many Carats?!

  • Rimmer #insta Fix and Go Setting Spray

  • NYX Lip Lingerie Daring Night


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 11 hours

What a tough day. I underestimated the weather and wore a long sleeve body suit with thick jeans and a denim jacket...I was a little hot in the 25 Degrees. However, it was a good test for the foundation. I really like the way this looks. I liked it so much when I got home, I decided to go for a run and for a work out to see how it holds. I am pretty impressed. It's a matte foundation, so it was looking a little dry overall, but it looked so smooth and almost flawless (minus the places I managed to mess up when I removed my dark lip at work) that I just needed to give it a little tougher time than just going to work, sweating all day, walking around the city and going back home.

My skin is still not the best, my lower chin area and my jawline seem to breaking out the worst and I am not sure why. Maybe those are the places where I blend my makeup the worst and touch it the most? I don't know, but I am doing my best to cure that. This was a very good makeup day for me, I need more of those.

 

Day 1.5

I decided after a long time of thinking and planning, that I will wear this foundation to a wedding I was invited to. I applied slightly less product and primed with two very hydrating and not slippery primers and it was even better. It wasn't cakey, it looked very flawless and full coverage even when I used less product. It really lasted for ages, 13 hours to be exact and after hours of eating, dancing, drinking and laughing, it looked pretty damn good.


I have a picture from the wedding and from when I did my makeup before we went there. My skin was terrible the whole weekend, I don't know why but it's being very problematic and unpredictable these days. I think, it's the weather constantly changing and me incorporating some new stuff into my routine...however, I hope you can see, that there's not of these problems visible in the picture. I didn't see a mirror many times that night, but when I did I liked what I saw.


Some of used products

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Revolution Hydrate and Prime Primer

  • Maybelline SuperStay 24h Foundation, shade 02 Naked Ivory

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics The Magic Star Concealer, shade C3

  • Fenty Beauty Match Stix Matte Skinstick, shade Amber

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Essence Good Vibes Good Memories Blush Trio, shade 01 spring love

  • Lottie London Shimmer Squad, shade Good Girl


My eye makeup wasn't that important, I used the Morphe 39S Such a Gem Artistry Pallete and I did a little half-cut-crease with bunch of glitter and purple tones. Quite extra, I know, but I really loved the look. I feel like combining the primers and making sure that my whole face is really hydrated was the ultimate key to success. I don't have a picture from the end of the night because I didn't think that I was actually doing a wear test. But trust me, that you don't want to see a picture of me after a milion of Aperols and long night of dancing


Sorry for the quality of these photos, but I really didn't think I'll be sharing these and I didn't have my ringlight with me. But the face looks pretty god right? Also, did you ever notice that hotels in Slovakia have the worst lights ever? I literally had to make a stand for my phone to blast flashlight straight to my face because I couldn't see anything.

 

Day 2

Today is the "let's get weird with it" test day. I got carried away a little bit with this look but I do like it a lot. I also tried mixing my liquid booster into the foundation, because that has been doing wonders for me in terms of matte foundations. I also did a blue lip, because why not.

The booster acutally helped a lot, it looks less cakey already and applied a little bit better (but I still blame my awful sponge) and it looks a little less matte and a little more skin-like. I love the color of my booster, it's like a nice glittery tan in a bottle. I was obsessed from the first time I saw it. And it does work very well as a mixing medium for my foundations. I first thought, that I will use it as a highlighter, but it's too oily for that. It's quite pricey for me but I think it's worth it, because I'm using more products than I would without it and I like them.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • Gabriella Salvete Pore Minimizer Skin Primer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Maybelline SuperStay 24h Foundation, shade 002 Naked Ivory

  • NYX Away We Glow Liquid Booster, shade Glazed Donuts

  • L'Oreal Age Perfect Radiant Concealer, shade 01 Light

  • NYX Can't Stop Won't Stop Concealer, shade 1.5 Fair

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • H&M Superfine Brow Liner, shade Chocolate

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Semi-permanent Brow Mascara, shade 03 Brunette

  • Benefit Highbrow

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Morphe 25L Pallete

  • H&M Special FX Eye Colour Pallete

  • Flormar Satin Touch Eyeshadow Stick, shade Cashmere Dress

  • NYX Glitter Goals Eyeliner, shade Diamond Dust

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • NYX Worth The Hype Mascara, shade Black

  • NYX 3 Steps to Sculpt, shade 01 Fair

  • Benefit Hula Bronzer

  • Essence Good Vibed Good Memories Blush Trio, shade 01 spring love

  • RL de Young Loose Shimmer Highlighter, shade Lavender

  • Lottie London Shimmer Squad, shade Good Girl

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick, shade Diamond

  • Essence Get Your Glitter On! Lip Topper, shade 01 silver glam

  • Rimmel #insta Fix and Go Setting Spray


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 10 hours

My face looks pretty good, I always look super tired in these pictures, because I simply am. But my foundation still looks in place, everything looks fine. It looks a little heavy, because my sponge is garbage at the moment, but I bought a new one today, so hopefully, there will be better amount of product on my face next time.


No matter how bad my sponge is, I am really enjoying this foundation. It doesn't budge or act weird when I mix it with my booster, it looks great and stays in place. I think I'll go exercise with it one day as well, to see how it lasts through some sweat and summer weather. I did a little touchup in the middle of my workday as I usually do. I just put a bit of powder in areas that are more sheer and uneven and spray it with my calming face mist from Body Shop.

 

Day 3

I've been enjoying cream products quite a lot lately. We're doing full cream / liquid base today as I usually do on the third day of testing. So far, I'm really a fan of this foundation but I'm still finding different primers and ways to make it less dry. I also have a new foundation brush, so I will try using that for my application and hopefully it will look less heavy than with my sponge.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Catrice Light Correcting Serum Primer, shade 010 Candlelight

  • Revolution Hydrate and Prime Primer

  • Maybelline SuperStay 24h Foundation, shade 02 Naked Ivory

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 Light Neutral

  • L'Oreal Age Perfect Radiant Concealer, shade 010 Light

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Revolution Ultra Cream Contour Pallete

  • Fenty Beauty Match Stix Matte Skinstick, shade Amber

  • Maybelline Dream Matte Blush, shade coy coral

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow, shade 2

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Benefit High Brow

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Revolution x Soph Eyeshadow Pallete, shades Cookie Dough, Sweet and Sour, Chocolate Orange, Dreams

  • Fenty Beauty Moroccan Spice Eyeshadow Pallete, shade Casablanca

  • Lottie London AM to PM Eyeliner Pencil, shade Mocha

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Gold

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Maybelline Snapscara, shade 01 Pitch Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed, shade C-POP

  • Sephora Lip Stain, shade Pink Latte

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


It applied very well with a brush, but I still went over it with a sponge to soak up product a little bit. It all looks very in place and nice, except from around my nose which is quite separating and looking dry. Maybe I didn't put enough primer there? Who knows. Anyway, the cream products went on well, but the blush was a little too matte and it started moving my foundation a little bit. You can see it from very up close, but it's nothing too bad. Other than that, it looks very flawless and doesn't feel too heavy.


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 10 hours

I am currently headed to pool and I don't feel like torturing my skin with makeup, so I will take it off and go for a swim. I also love the steam cabin and that's just not makeup friendly at all.


Ten hours is not a bad time stamp, but I wasn't really happy with the results today. The cream base stood the ground pretty well, nothing moved and the blush patch didn't get worse.


I was looking very dry, to the point of things getting separating. I am always confused, if it's the fact that I'm getting oily or that I am too dry and it's usually the second reason. Foundation just cracks when I'm too dry. I liked the look of the Catrice Primer Serum, but it didn't hydrate my skin at all and I even mixed it with a hydrating primer. I should've mixed in the booster. Well, maybe next time. Overall, it didn't look terrible but I wasn't feeling my prettiest after 10 hours. I can look better than that for sure.

 

Final thoughts

I really like the longlasting power this foundation has and also the coverage, feel, finish..I like a lot about it. I don't like that it's looking really dry on me, when I don't try extra hard and my skin is not exactly dry. If you have oily skin, you probably will love this, if you have dry skin, you will need to hydrate a LOT.


Besides the issues with dryness, it feels amazing and lasts all day pretty well. I would say it's one of the best foundation I've tested and with a little extra work, it will be great looking all day long everytime I wear it. I just need a little boost from my liquid booster. Still, it's probably one of you safest bets on full coverage foundation in drugstore and it's totally worth the price, in my opinion. It's probably one of my favorite foundations at the moment, daamn I even like it more than my Can't Stop Won't Stop from NYX. In the field of matte full coverage foundations, it's probably one of the best that I own, considering the price / performance.


Have you tried this foundation and did you like it? Let me know in the comments down below and thank you for reading!


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page