top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SUPER STAY ACTIVE WEAR CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Maybelline is an established concealer leader in the drugstore as we all know thanks to the Age Rewind concealer. But how about the newest addition to their range?


The Maybelline Super Stay Active Wear 30H Concealer was pretty much expected since the Super Stay foundation got a little revamped as well. This concealer promises up to 30 hours of wear, full coverage and matte finish that looks like skin. It's supposed to be transfer resistant and lightweight without creasing or feeling cakey. It comes in 16 shades, I have the shade 10. It retails for roughly $12.


The packaging is pretty neat with a lot of seethrough spaces so you can see the shade inside really well. It's also a little bulky but I like it. The wand is something new too. It's very thin and bendy so you can be very precise with it and it doesn't deposit too much product. That being said I feel like it deposits almost no product and I have to keep dipping the wand back in all the time to distribute the concealer all over my face.


It is very thin in texture and it also blends really well. I didn't have any problem with blending it into any of my foundations. Setting it also doesn't cause any problems as it works pretty well with any powder I own.

 

Wear test

I applied the concealer as usual under my eyes in the outer and inner corners, on my chin, nose and forehead in small amount. I blended it out with a brush because that's how I've been doing it for years now and I was actually pretty happy with it. It is high medium coverage for sure and you can see in the before picture that it covered my undereyes and everything else really well. It's very thin in texture which I really like and it's also not fully matte (at least it doesn't feel like it). I was pretty happy with it upon application.


List of used products

  • Essence Prime+ Studio Poreless Putty Primer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up! Primer

  • Milk Makeup Flex Foundation Stick, shade Shell

  • Maybelline Super Stay Active Wear 30H Concealer, shade 10

  • Wibo Aqua Mist Powder

  • e.l.f. Putty Bronzer, shade Honey Drip

  • Glowish Soft Radiance Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Light

  • KVD Vegan Beauty Everlasting Blush, shade Honeysuckle

  • Colourpop Super Shock Highlighter, shade Flexitarian

  • Nudestix Brow Boost + Set Gel XL

  • Nars Tinted Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • ABH Norvina Mini Pro Pigment Palette Vol. 3

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadow, shade Koosh

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • ...I forgot mascara

  • Catrice Clean ID Glow Prime & Fix Spray

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydra Volume Lip Plumper, shade 020 Volume Nude

Wear time 15 hours

This was insanely long day and you can clearly see that the coverage under my eyes is not as good and it doesn't look as flawless...well after 15 hours I wouldn't expect it to look that way anyway. The concealer says 30 hours of weartime but quite frankly I don't think that's a realistic expectation anyway. The concealer didn't fade THAT MUCH and it's still intact which I appreciate. I do have very dry undereyes so I am also pretty happy with the fact that it didn't start separating or flaking. On the rest of the face it is quite hard to identify it altogether but I don't think there's anything negative to be said about the complextion that would be curtesy of the concealer. It performed quite well and I don't have anything bad to say so far. Maybe just that there's more fading around my blemishes and spots but that's usually the case with any concealer.

 

Final thoughts

I've been using this concealer for quite a long time because I couldn't make up my mind about it. I think it's a little expensive for a regular drugstore concealer but there's something about the texture of it that makes me feel like the price is worth it.


There is something inovative about the super thin but still very pigmented formula that I really like. It's very easy to work with and it doesn't feel like anything on the skin. The coverage is very decent high-medium and it looks very natural when you wear it on its own. Even though it's supposed to be matte I don't find it too drying on my undereyes which is quite surprising to me. I am also very happy with the blendability of this concealer as it really just sinks into the skin and meshes perfectly with any foundation.


I struggle a little bit with the wand because it is annoying to keep dipping into the product 6 times when you want to apply your concealer but it's still a very good product. I would recommend it to anyone because I really feel like dryer skin types won't have problems with it being too matte or too dry.


Have you tried any new great concealers? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,631 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page