top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SUPER STAY ACTIVE WEAR 30H FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Maybelline's Super Stay foundation has been a staple for many, many years and now they're coming out with its new version! I was a big fan of the original Super Stay especially when I had very oily skin and I loved full coverage. It was my jam but let's see how this one compares.


The Maybelline Super Stay Active Wear 30H Foundation is a lightweight, breathable foundation with full coverage that is sweat-proof, transfer-proof and water-proof. It has natural matte finish and oil-free formula that transforms the face, doesn't clog pores and it dermatologically tested and it's suitable for all skin types. It comes in 20 shades and retails for 239 Crowns. You can find it in most drugstores.


I have the shade 06 Fresh Beige and it looks a little dark to be the lightest shade so I'm not actually sure which shade in the stores is the lightest but it has a neutral-warm undertone and it fits me quite well even in winter. It comes in the same packaging as the original Super Stay foundation, it just has slightly different designs on it but it's still a glass bottle with a pump and you get 30ml inside.


In the stores this foundation is replacing the original so I assume it's a new reformulated version that is going to replace it for good. The original Super Stay is a great foundation, it's very full coverage and it really lasts well especially if you have oily skin. For me it was a great foundation until my skin got really dry and now I don't tend to wear matte foundations as much. But I'm willing to give this one a shot as it's a new formula. The old formula was quite thick and heavy. You got that mask feeling after applying it so let's see if Maybelline stepped up their formulation game.



 

Wear test

I applied the foundation with my IT Cosmetics Love is the Foundation brush and it went on really well. It looked a little funny on my nose at first but it settled once I added some powder on top. The foundation is full coverage for sure and I didn't even fully use up two pumps. It feels a lot more lightweight than the original formula.


I used a cream bronzer and cream blush to see if there's any separation or if the products have any problems with each other but everything went on fine. I wanted to give the foundation a fair shot so I used a moisturizing primer and a powder that's not very matte.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Primer

  • Maybelline Super Stay Active Wear 30H Foundation, shade 06 Fresh Beige

  • Maybelline Instant Anti-age Eraser Multi-use Concealer, shade 00 Ivory

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Honest Beauty Creme Cheek Blush, shade Peony Pink

  • Zoeva Finishing Powder, shade Outstanding

  • Maybelline Tattoo Brow 36H Pigment Pencil, shade Medium Brown

  • XX Revolution Brow FiXX, shade Clear

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original

  • Rude Cosmetics Roaring 20's Reckless Palette

  • H&M Colour Essence Eye Pencil, shade Grand Cru

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner, shade Black

  • L'Oreal Telescopic False Lash Mascara, shade Magnetic Black

  • Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Physicians Formula Butter Blush, shade Silk Nude

  • Physicians Formula Mineral Glow Pearls, shade Translucent

  • Rival Loves Me Pastel Breeze Cucumber Setting Spray

  • Huda Beauty Lip Contour, shade Venus

  • Trend It Up Radiant Lights Lip Topper, shade 030

Wear time 10 hours

As much as I'd like to wear this foundation for 30 hours...I just simply won't. But after 10 hours which included a snowstorm, workout and a lot of work and cooking, I can tell you what are the impressions. I really like this foundation a lot more than the original. There's just very minor separation around my nose where I wore my mask and the foundation is gone from under my glasses which is completely normal. Other than that, nothing I can say a bad word about. It's not budging between my brows or around my mouth, it's not separating and looking overly dry and it even looks fine on my very dry cheeks. Maybe the little sweaty kickbox workout helped because I feel like the texture meshed a little better with my skin once it warmed up. I really like how flawless my face looks. Even the cream products still look great, the blush didn't disappear and no product is looking odd. I am very impressed even though I knew this foundation will be a keeper, I didn't think it was going to be a keeper for my dry skin.

 

Final thoughts

In my opinion the new Super Stay 30H Foundation outperforms the original in many ways. It's still affordable which is a plus, same good packaging but the formula is a winner. It's way more lightweight than the original, it lasts just as well and maybe even better. It didn't start budging anywhere on my face and there was no separation happening. My cheeks separated very often due to dryness when I wear matte foundations and this one just did nothing. It sat perfectly fine on my face for the whole day and went through a workout and not just once. I really like this foundation.


I am surprised myself because I liked the previous one but I wasn't a great fan but this one steals the spotlight, the new formula is great and a lot better. You can barely feel it on your skin and it looks just flawless. It also plays well with creams and powder and it wear so, so, so well. I am very happy I bought the new Super Stay foundation to check it out myself.


That being said, I believe that a hydrating primer is all you need to pull this foundation off if you have dry skin. For people with oily skin this is probably going to be the same hit as the original was. It's matte but not a flat drying matte, to me it looks quite skin-like and natural but still very glam and full coverage. I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for a full coverage, longlasting and affordable foundation. I think this one steals the drugstore.


Have you tried the new Super Stay foundation? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

5,761 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page