top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | SKY HIGH MASCARA | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

This year we're starting strong with the drugstore launches and Maybelline didn't take long in 2021 to bring us a new mascara. That's one of the products they just know how to make, so I am beyond excited to test it out.


The Maybelline Lash Sensational Sky High Mascara is the newest mascara from their range. It comes in the shade 01 Very Black and I believe so far they only have one shade. It's a lengthening and volumizing mascara so it should really give you everything. It has a skinny and very flexible brush and grips the lashes at the root and lengthens them. It also contains bamboo fibers which strengthen the lashes. It's supposed to be longlasting and smudge-proof. It's also suitable for sensitive eyes. It's not at the drugstores yet but it will probably retail for around 200 Crowns.


The packaging is quite cool and new. I like that it's not the usual Lash Sensational chubby tube because there are just hard to store for me. I also really like that when you close the mascara the lid clicks so you really know that it's secured and it's not going to dry out.


The brush is very flexible, I was quite surprised because first it looked like the usual stiff plastic brush. It's very bendy and the plastic bristles don't look too long so maybe this one will not irritate my eyes. I am usually not a great fan of the plastic mascara wands but this one gives me a bit of hope.

I was sent this mascara from Maybelline for testing purposes but all my opinions are true and real and I am not paid to write this, I am just expressing my opinions and experiences with this new product.






 

Side by side comparison

I like to do the side by side comparisons with different amounts of coats to see how the mascara builds up on my lashes. I have quite long lashes but they are really thick. They grow in 4-5 rows and it's really annoying sometimes as it's hard to find a mascara that holds all the lashes up at least a little bit. They tend to get heavy through the day and fall down.

From the left you can see the difference between 1, 2 and 3 coats of the Sky High Mascara. One coat is cute but not enough. As usual, I prefer the 2 coats because it gives me great volume and length as well. The third coat brought some spider lashes which I don't enjoy so I would stick with the 2. But you can see it layers quite nicely and my lashes are looking pretty good. I like how they're separated and coated but not weighted down too much. I really like the effect of this mascara.

 

Wear test

I am actually going to the office today so the wear test is gonna be proper. The mascara went on fine and I am really surprised how easy it is to apply. I was worried about the spikey brush but it didn't stab my eye which is great and it was also pretty easy to work with. I am truly impressed.


The formula is really lightweight and it's not too wet, which is something that I usually find with newly opened mascaras. Sometimes they just get everywhere but this one didn't make a single mark on my lids. I was able to apply it in my inner corners just fine as well. So far I really like the application and the formula. Also it's very dark black so I am happy about the shade too.


Wear time 15 hours

Well...this one went through a test. It was raining the whole day and I had a bunch of errands to run. It was rough. At the end of the day though there is not smudging, no transfer, no fallout and the length and curl still holds. I cannot remember a time when I applied a mascara in the morning and my lashes didn't start falling down after 5 hours. It's just a miracle. My lashes usually start getting stuck together in my outer corners because they are very heavy there are they clump together with the bottom ones and it really bugs me. Not today! I am very impressed with this mascara. I am not the greatest fan of the Lash Sensational mascaras because they are very heavy for me and they weigth my lashes down but this one is completely different.


When removing the mascara I did have a hard time. The lashes get very stiff through the day and even with my cleansing balm that removes everything waterproof and such, I didn't have much luck. I had to rub my eyes quite a lot with the balm to actually manage to remove it. It doesn't have to be a negative but it holds a little too well for my liking. After 15 hours I would expect the mascara to loosen up a little bit.


The next day I wore the mascara for 11 hours and I feel like with that look you can see the lashes even better so here's my before and after 11 hours of wear. The mascara performed exactly the same, it was very longwearing, no transfer or smudging. I had a tough time removing it again but to me it's probably worth it.

 

Final thoughts

I am very, very impressed. The mascara is going to be quite affordable which is a great plus but its performance really got me. I have a lot of issues with mascaras as I described earlier so I don't get too excited about mascaras because they usually let me down. This one didn't and it's just amazing.


After hours and hours of wear and rain...no smudging, no transfer, holds the lashes up and running, doesn't feel heavy, doesn't start to crumble. The formula is very lightweight, the brush doesn't stab my eyes and grips the lashes well but not too firmly. It's easy to apply and even on my ridiculous amount of lashes it works so well. I think we have a new favorite over here. I am truly blown away. I would say this is a great competition to the L'Oreal Lash Paradise which is also in my top 3 for sure. I don't get along with many Maybelline mascaras but they really did this one right. It's quite a difficult one to remove but if you don't mind that then put it on your "mascaras to try" list.


Do you have any new favorite mascara finds? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

507 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page