top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | PERFECTOR 4-IN-1 GLOW | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Multi-purpose glowy makeup products have been here for a minute now and they are not stopping. Finally after the longest time, we have Maybelline's contribution to this sector of products.


The Maybelline Perfector 4-in-1 Glow is supposed to be a primer, concealer, highlighter, and BB cream all in one product. It promises light coverage and a glowy finish together with easy application. It comes in 8 shades, I have the shade Light. It retails for $12.99.


The packaging is the good ol' huge Age Rewind concealer sponge with a twist as we love (or hate) it. It is very convinient and easy to apply just as the concealers with this mechanism tend to be. How hygienic it is I am not sure but as long as you don't share it with anyone I think it's not the end of the world. You get 20ml of products which is not even that much.

I have the third lightest shade and honestly it's way darker than I thought it was going to be. That being said, the range doesn't go deep enought and calling shades "adaptable" doesn't really mean anything. The product has low coverage so you can get away with using a slightly off shade just like me but I would love to see a wider variety of undertone which is what matters the most in the light coverage department.


It does remind me more of a foundation than any other product that has been mentioned in the possible uses and I tend to use it as a skin tint the most. It is quite lightweight and thin in texture so applying it all over the face doesn't feel like too much. The coverage is very light though and it is not very buildable so you just have to count with that. I cannot use mine as a higlighter because it's a little too dark for that. For a concealer it surely doesn't have enought coverage and for a primer...sure, but I prefer hydrating sticky primers these days so maybe just to add some glow under my foundation.


The formula does contains tiny specs of glitter. I didn't see them at first and thought it's just one of those miraculously glowy products without any glitters but no. I must say they are very tiny so they are undetectable on the skin. Noone's going to come up to you and ask you why you have glitters on your face. But it's not just a glowy product, it has a little help from tiny glitters.


It is similar to other products of this type that I have but it is less heavy than the e.l.f. one and less glowy and highlighter-like than the Charlotte Tilbury one. So it falls somewhere in the middle and I probably like it the most out of the three named. Mostly because I can actually wear it as a skin tint and look glowy and effortless in a very short time. The glowy look is kinda growing on me.

 

Wear test

I usually use this product as a skin tint and I feel like its properties are best shown that way. So I used it instead of my foundation today as a very light coverage skin tint to keep things casual. It applies very easily with the built-in sponge and it blends very easily as well. I usually do 3-4 swipes across my face and then buff the product out with a foundation brush. The application was quick and the results was very glowy and even. Of course I then went on and applied my usual face products including some creams to see how the base reacts to them. It was completely fine and I didn't see any parts of the base being lifted or patchy. Same with the powder, it worked well with the foundation.


List of used products

  • Catrice The Perfector Poreless Blur Primer

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Glow Serum Primer

  • Maybelline Perfector 4-in-1 Glow, shade 01 Light

  • Il Makiage F*ck I'm Flawless Multi-use Perfecting Concealer, shade 3.75

  • Colourpop #nofilter Finishing Powder, shade Fair

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Luminous Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • NYX Sweet Cheeks Soft Cheek Tint, shade Nude'tude

  • XX Revolution Bronze Skin Cream Bronzer, shade Inspire

  • Huda Beauty #bombbrows Full 'n Fluffy, shade 5 Medium Brown

  • Nars Tinted Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, shade Light

  • Rival Loves Me Multi-tasking Palette

  • Sephora Colorful Contour Eye Pencil 12HR Wear, shade Sangria

  • Colourpop Creme Gel Colour, shade Joy Ride

  • KVD Vegan Beauty Dazzlestick, shade Hail Surge

  • Tarte Tartelette Mascara

  • Marc Jacobs Beauty O!mega Bronze, shade Tan-tastic!

  • Sephora 5 Multi-use Color Wand, shade Bliss

  • Sephora 5 Multi-use Color Want, shade Happiness

  • NYX Plump Finish Setting Spray

  • Fenty Beauty Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick, shade Thicc

  • Nimya Spill The Juice Lip Gloss, shade Pinky Promise


Wear time 8 hours

This wear test wasn't as long as usual but I still feel like it represents well how the products performs. I am pretty confident in my opinion because I've been using this skin tint for months now. The base is a little faded and my skin redness is peeking through which is fine and since this is a very light coverage products I am not surprised. There are no patches missing and the base is still intacked. You can still see a lot of the blush and other cheek products I applied earlier. Overall, I don't think this products is good for very long days, it's going to look a little worn out in about 10-12 hours but for a regular 6-8 hour day where you just want a little something and don't need to have a full glam on. It's perfectly fine and I love the glowy look that persisted through the day.

 

Final thoughts

I've been using this product as a skin tint for a very long time. I don't tend to use it as anything else mostly because it's too dark to be a highlighter for me and I already double prime so I don't feel the need to add another product under my foundation. As a skin tint, it is very light coverage but very glowy and plays well with other products with I really appreciate so it is easy to use as a light base with no products skipped. The longevity is fine as well as the finish because even though it is glowy it doesn't feel heavy of sticky on the skin. To me, it's the perfect everyday tint I use very often when I run errands, go shopping or oversleep so I gotta be quick in the morning.


The price is quite fair even though you don't get full 30ml of product but I believe that many people will be able to find different uses for this very product. Many people will also want to heat that it is a dupe for the Charlotte Tilbury Hollywood Flawless Filter and let me tell you...it's not. This is a totally different products. The texture, finish and intensity of these products is way off. This one is one of my favorite tints, the Charlotte Tilbury one is truly a base enhancer closer to a highlighter than anything else (at least in my opinion). But I wouldn't even try to compare them.


This type of product is getting very popular and I feel like this is probably the best affordable one I've tried. I would definitely recommend it but I must say that it is VERY light coverage and also VERY glowy.


Do you have any new skin tints you love? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


154 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page